We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hoxton, Shoreditch to your Saves list
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel) (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

While visiting London, I wanted to stay in an area away from the big attractions. Somewhere with some flavor and a low key vibe but still deliver on customer service. I couldn't have picked a better location or hotel to stay. If I am lucky enough to visit London again in the future, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.
Easily accessible from the Old Street tube station, it was a welcome refuge at the end of the day after a long day of touring. Front desk staff always pleasant, helpful with tips on local food/drink. No long waits for check in or out. Each morning, light breakfast was provided..banana, yogurt parfait, OJ. Coffee/tea in room. Fridge stocked with bottled water each day, at no extra cost. Free wi-fi. Restaurant downstairs packed every night. We tried to eat there our first night but they were full so we ordered room service (same menu). Food was very good.
Front desk stocked small helpful items we needed (shaving cream, sewing kit) so we didn't need to run out wasting time to find them.
No iron in room, but they have a separate room on top floor with a few ironing boards already set up with irons so was super easy to iron clothes the night before and hang up ready clothes in room.
Only criticism I had was that the AC did not work all that well. It was set to a particular temp and never really got that cool..because we were staying in a room overlooking the courtyard, opening the window in the evening let in loud conversation and music along with the cooler air. We didn't see a need to complain about it. It wasn't oppressively hot, just would've liked to have opened the windows in the evening:-) If noise is an issue for you, I would ask for a room that is not facing the courtyard area as this is definitely a hopping spot.
Loved the trendy, artsy vibe throughout the halls and in the lobby.
Price was a steal considering everything this hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Wowza - you are making us blush! Thank you for the lovely feedback, we're pleased you found exactly what you were looking for at the Hox. You might be happy to hear that we are working on the AC too - just in case London gets that hot again next year...you never know!

Come back around again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,262
    1,006
    133
    39
    25
See reviews for
350
1,674
247
517
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Great vibe from this location... Right from the pavement outside to your room... It's all achingly cool. Room comfort excellent.. Nice touch with retro pears soap in bathrooms and great pillows. Public areas are a little buzzy and difficult to have a quiet meal here ... that said hotel staff were excellent and very helpful.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Oh there are some serious vibes in this hotel we can tell you! Pleased you enjoyed your stay and the staff were helpful. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel just gets it right. Cool decor but comfortable, with friendly staff and without the pretensions and overcharged "extras" that most hotels insist on offering. A great lobby to meet others and relax in. Free wi-fi, healthy breakfast in a bag and water in the fridge. It provides everything you want and skips the things which irritate. Well located, close to the City but with interesting places to eat and drink all around. My new favourite place to stay in London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, you have the Hoxton nailed - perhaps you could work in our sales team?! ;-) We're always pleased to hear it when we make peoples favourite place to stay in London - do come back again...SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at the Hoxton multiple times (I happen to work for a company that has an office across the street). The hotel has a wonderful boutique feel, the rooms are well appointed and feel luxurious in a modern yet rustic way, and while some of the rooms can be on the small side, the lively lobby atmosphere is so much fun that why would you want to waste time in the hotel room anyway? There are lots of great little touches that really make the experience, from the "Breakfast Pixies" that deliver yogurt parfaits, bananas, and juice in the morning, to the little touches around the room (rock, paper, scissors pillows???) its definitely going to become my London 'home away from home'!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We'd love to be your London 'home away from home'! Thank you for the kind comments, we hope you won at rock, paper and scissors and pleased you enjoyed the breakfast Hox Nosh bags. Come home soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here the night before attending a concert in Hyde Park - staff really helpful, letting us drop our bag off in the morning before heading to the concert even though it was far too early to check in. Loved our room, great decor and some really thoughtful and unusual touches. So much better than being in a in personal same old same old chain. Would definitely look to stay here again when we are next in London.

Room Tip: The room we had on the second floor had recently been refurbed and was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Some very kind words, thank you! Lovely to hear our staff were able to help you out and we hope you enjoyed your concert. See you guys soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The best part of our experience at the Hoxton was the friendly service. The roaring fire in the lobby on a dreadfully cold and rainy morning and the clean, simple, modern rooms were a bonus. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are exactly the same throughout the hotel so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
FANTASTIC news that you will be back again, that log fire is definitely a bonus with our English weather. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stay at the Hoxton frequently, its a special place for us. We love it's vibe, it's location & proximity to great bars & restaurants. We were fortunate enough to be given one of the new Concept Rooms on the 6th Floor this time round & this made it extra special, I do hope they move the rest of the rooms quickly to these new looks. My only downside is that it has become very expensive on a Saturday night & doesn't offer value for money & is out pricing itself, Shoreditch House is cheaper for a Friday & Saturday. Pity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
You will be happy to hear that the rooms are all having a refurb and will be done by the end of 2013. We're glad to be your special place and in terms of pricing we would suggest booking in advance as our pricing structure means the further in advance you book the cheaper the room rates are. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#66 Luxury Hotel in London
#81 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook and Booking.com so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hoxton, Shoreditch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.