We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoxton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hoxton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hoxton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (City of London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 1,071 hotels in London
Johannesburg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quirky cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

What an experience. No frills, quirky hotel that doesn't take itself too seriously and yet you have a top-class experience with the little extras that you wish you could have at other hotels.

Loved the bar-fridge stocked with water and milk. Yes milk! The breakfast bag is an excellent idea - stocked with yoghurt, orange juice and a banana. The breakfast in the restaurant was also speedy and tasty.

Loved the stay. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,091
    915
    119
    34
    23
See reviews for
324
1558
226
457
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

For my money, this is by far one of the best hotels I've stayed in London. They've really thought everything through and tried to provide the best in all of their amenities. From the super comfy bed sheets to the really well priced, high quality food downstairs, to the technical support for laptops, wifi, etc., it really is well put-together.

Also, the rainfall showers in the bathrooms are tremendous!

Only downside is that the rooms are all relatively small. Also - if you're put off by the young feel and hipster vibe, then I would not recommend it.

Really good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We loved it at The Hoxton in the east end of London. Friendly and professional staff, stylish, clean and comfortable rooms (standard room for 2), free wifi and light breakfast delivered to your door and a cool bar/restaurant adjacent to the lobby which we unfortunately didn't try out since it was fully booked every night (next time...). Will definitely consider staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richterswil, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

thank you for being very friendly and helpful, we feel home in hoxton hotel, service was perfect. Also a very nice touch was the breakfast in a bag to go. Also reception, bar and restaurant offer a warm atmosphere, hope we'll be back sometimes at hoxton hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while in London for the marathon and the Hoxton team could not have been more helpful. From allocating us a quiet bedroom, advising on traffic free running routes, serving us pre-race porridge at the crack of dawn (before the kitchen opened) to chilling our post race bubbly the Hoxton team were awesome.

We will most definitely be back to stay on our next London trip.

Room Tip: Simply ask the team - they will tell you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Hoxton was a great hotel for our recent stay in London. The rooms were very nice, updated, and had a cozy feel. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was good. You also can't beat the items they provide, water, milk, and a free breakfast. The hotel bar was always busy, which is a sign of how great it is. The lobby and bar had such a great feel to just relax or while waiting for other members of your party. Drinks and snacks were available at the front desk at very reasonable rates. Getting around London from the hotel is easy because the Tube is a short walk. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I really enjoyed the Hoxton and the unique experience it provides its guests. I came here for business and was 1) well received 2) found the rooms clean and comfortable 3) had very good food and 4) had very good service. The bar and restaurant offer a great atmosphere and experience to unwind or have a meeting. I would recommend this place and happily return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoxton Hotel

Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
Hoxton Hotel London, England
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London , East End / East London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in London
#46 Luxury Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoxton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East London establishment, the Hoxton Hotel combines destination sleeping, drinking and dining. With 208 stylish rooms, a restaurant serving up classic American run in partnership with the Soho House group, courtyard garden and The Apartment meetings and events space, it¹s pretty easy to see why the Hox rocks... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Hoxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoxton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.