We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hipster hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoxton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hoxton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hoxton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (City of London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 1,073 hotels in London
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hipster hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hoxton for 3 nights in January 2013. The service was great and the decor very stylish. The free light breakfast and water is a great touch. Would stay here again if we're back in London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,161
    946
    121
    37
    22
See reviews for
332
1609
238
475
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The two nights I had at the Hoxton were lovely. On the 5th floor the free wifi worked well, though loud laughter still burst through occasionally from the courtyard restaurant below. But it did not keep me from sleeping.

The rooms are smallish but as a solo traveller this was no issue. The décor was hip with a dash of retro. Especially pleasant was the ensuite - the smoky brown tiles with orange band halfway up the wall made for a most soothing ambience, and the rainwater shower was bliss. Such a pity there was no bath as I would happily have soaked an age in that room. The Pears soap was a lovely touch! And, the bed was as comfortable as promised.

The minimal literature was a boon, and what was there was to the point. Coffee and tea were quality, the near-empty mini-fridge, with only complimentary mineral water, and milk a touch of homely civility. The hour of free phone calls was yet another homely touch.

My only gripe - the cleaner took the spare key card from the wall socket while I was out. AT check-in they give you a second one so that you can keep the air-con going for a cozy (or cool) return. Oh well - not a disaster.

Room Tip: There is a lively and loud lobby so ask for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here overnight while on business in London. Greatly impressed by the attention to detail shown here-they really have thought about the small things which taken together make for an excellent stay. Things like the mini guide to Shoreditch in the room, the breakfast bag included in the price and delivered to the room door, good coffee with milk and also bottled water in the room at no extra charge, a cash machine and mini shop in the lobby and a bathroom with an excellent monsoon shower. The hotel is designed to a high hip and trendy standard. This works really well in the lobby which is a wide but comfortable space with an open fire and comfy chairs. The bar is here and is a fine place to have a drink (I have reviewed the restaurant separately). I have also used the meeting rooms at the back before and these are among the best I have used in a hotel. However, upstairs, the design themes work slightly less well for my taste. The corridors have a mocked up metal bulkhead effect and my room was quite dark and spartan with a view out only to the internal atrium and no space in which to relax other than on the bed. I just felt more conscious than usual that I was in one of many identical rooms stacked on top of each other with a feel like a very smart, clean and comfortable jail. That said, my night was comfortable and the place impeccably clean. The location is good for the City, 10 minutes walk from the top end of Bishopsgate and given that and the overall attention to detail I will stay here again for sure. I am not sure that I would stay here for more than a night or two though given they way I felt about the room.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the outside world
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is simply the best hotel for a really great price. My absolute favourite stay in London. The service is excellent and the rooms are spotless. A really convenient and comfortable stay with really nice touches, good ethos.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here midweek in early January for a night out in London. It was wonderful - great room, lovely and clean, really nice bathroom, breakfast bags a great idea. In short tremendous attention to detail. The views from the room (5th floor at the back) over towards the Shard were also great. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the lobby, bar and restaurant area downstairs is fantastic. We will definitely look forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: 5th floor facing towards the Shard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very cool hotel, very hip, trendy. My hubby & I were away on a break from the kids. Loved the lobby/foyer area & would have loved to get an armchair by the fireplace in the evening to chill out with a glass of wine. But fri & sat nights - not possible - very busy spot. Would recommend for people looking for good night life/party scene. Having said that we couldn't hear any noise/music in our room on the 4th floor. Staff were lovely. Nice touches - free light brekkie, guardian paper....10 mins from Spitalfields markets and a few cool pubs near by. i'd come back again for sure

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Have stayed here 4 or 5 times now. Excellent value and a really well thought out hotel. Rooms are small, but very well designed. The room rate includes loads of useful extras that many hotels don't even think about or charge for such as fresh milk, bottled water, free wifi (easy to use, no codes etc.). The staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Stylish and busy bar & grill on the ground floor as well as lots of good places to eat nearby. Just a short walk to Old Street tube station, making it a good place to stop over even if you don't plan to stay in the east end.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoxton Hotel

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in London
#48 Luxury Hotel in London
#48 Business Hotel in London
#49 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoxton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East London establishment, the Hoxton Hotel combines destination sleeping, drinking and dining. With 208 stylish rooms, a restaurant serving up classic American run in partnership with the Soho House group, courtyard garden and The Apartment meetings and events space, it¹s pretty easy to see why the Hox rocks... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hoxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoxton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.