We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoxton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hoxton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hoxton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (City of London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 1,075 hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Believe the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I'm writing this review from my room (509).
Everything I read before about this hotel is true.
Perfect location, 5 min walk to old st tube station and 10 min to liverpool st station. Great location to discover london.
The hotel itself has a special cachet. Great staff, very friendly. Rooms are perfect, not too small, not too big. The beds are awesome and the shower is heaven.
Try to book early: I booked 2 months before coming i paid 79?/night.
Will definetly comeback here as I love the neighborhood.
5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,145
    941
    121
    37
    22
See reviews for
330
1600
237
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Hoxton for 3 nights between Christmas and new year, our 6 or 7th stay there, and after a lot of traveling around it was truly a respite. The Hoxton has held up well in the few years it's been open. Service is still great and there is always plenty of staff. Local calls and calls to NY are free, wifi free and easy to get on to. Food is tasty and not a rip off. The bedrooms are all you need for a few days, but without much wardrobe space for 2 people it can get a bit squashed. I love that there is plenty of tea and coffee in the room, fresh milk and free bottled water every day. We don't have much to complain about; the lighting in the rooms is bad - too-bright strip lighting outside the bathroom is blinding. The shower is not well designed so your bathroom floor is destined to be wet. Our room was smelling a bit less than fresh this time, I think the place needs a good airing. Apparently there is a new 6th floor so I'm hoping we can book a room there next time. There will definitely be a next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here.

Bedroom was quite big, with a bed and a chaise and really nicely decorated.

Enjoyed having a fridge in the room - stop at the supermarket and you can keep everything chilled! Although you do get free bottled water which is nice and fresh milk which is a really nice touch. The coffee in the room was fab as well.

Enjoyed the free breakfast as well, and it was great to be able to just leave the bag outside your door and specify what time you wanted it!

Lovely bathroom and toiletries.

The only negatives I found - the batteries were dead in the remote for the TV and the receptionist wasn't very friendly when I checked in, having presumed I'd stayed before (I hadn't) and didn't explain anything/where we were etc.

I did enjoy my stay though and it was good value for a hotel not too far from the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Loved the location, the atmosphere of the hotel and very friendly, helpful staff.
Rooms are compact with everything you need for a comfy stay(including fresh milk).
We always stay here when visiting London and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: rooms ata end of corridor - not overlooking the courtyard tend to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stay there on business regularly. Great value in central London (north end of the financial district). If you have business in the Broadgate/Moorgate/Liverpool St Station area, this is within walking distance. For those who don't want to walk, Old Street Station (Northern Line) is right there. Plenty of cabs on Great Eastern St.
Everything is quite convenient - free wifi, free breakfast (yoghurt, banana, OJ), snack sales at cost at reception (the half bottle Pinot Noir for GBP 5.50 is pretty decent...). No gym onside. Very lively barscene - which is a double-edged sword - depending on what room you get it can be a bit noisy.
Room is spacious enough - for London standards.
Staff is young, hip, pan-European and super-friendly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was less than a third of the price of the Andaz in Liverpool St. but only five minutes away in a cab, or 10 minute walk. The hotel has a unique design; no bland, run of the mill big brand here. The staff are really people focused and informal. The rooms are smallish, but it is central London, but were really clean and quiet. The bar is full of cool Shoreditch types and has a real buzz. Great for people watching. The only thing that lets it down are the price of the drinks. The Hoxton Grill is also really good. Worth paying for breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Just spent two nights at The Hoxton with my wife. It's the second time we have stayed there, and the second time we came away feeling its a good place to stay, but not perfect. About a month before my stay I requested a quiet room, and I made sure the receptionist knew this when checking in. We were given a room overlooking the central outdoor garden area, which looked lovely.....but it soon becomes annoying when you are trying to sleep and all you can hear is people talking/shouting in the garden area late at night. So much for asking for a quiet room:(

The rooms themselves are a bit clinical, and the beds not that comfy (but that's personal taste). Again, my biggest gripe was noise (bad ac/heater!)

The other areas of the hotel are superb, especially the dining area.

It's a cool place, and maybe if I had managed to sleep well I would be singing its praises more! It's always disheartening to leave a stay in a hotel feeling less rested than when you went in!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyGriffin, General Manager at Hoxton Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi Batooee,

Thanks so much for letting us know about your recent stay at the Hox. We are pleased to hear you singing our praises, however was sorry the shine was taken off your stay by a less than perfect night's sleep. Sleep is what we do - we spend a lot of time making sure our beds are super comfy and our guests can sleep like Beauty at the Hox. We'd love to show you we can do better. Please drop me a line at timothy@thehox.com when you are next planning to stay and we'll ensure you sleep like a baby.

With thanks,
Timothy and the Hox Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoxton Hotel

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in London
#48 Romantic Hotel in London
#50 Luxury Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoxton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East London establishment, the Hoxton Hotel combines destination sleeping, drinking and dining. With 208 stylish rooms, a restaurant serving up classic American run in partnership with the Soho House group, courtyard garden and The Apartment meetings and events space, it¹s pretty easy to see why the Hox rocks... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hoxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoxton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.