We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hoxton, Shoreditch to your Saves list
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel) (East End / East London)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get The Best!
Ranked #78 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
“Will definitely go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I was at the Hoxton for a 2 night stay earlier this week (Sunday/Monday) whilst attending a course in the Old Street area. I really liked the hotel, which has a cool, urban vibe - but without the prententious attitude you can often find in similar places. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was plenty big enough with a comfy double bed, good-size desk (unfortunately I had to work a bit in the evenings but nice that this was possible!) and lovely bathroom.

What I especially loved were all the 'extras': free WIFI, 1 hour of free landline calls per day, free light breakfast, a decent-sized fridge stocked (and replenished) with fresh milk and bottled water, free newspapers... where else do get all that? They are small things which make a massive difference and are highly appreciated.

I ate in the bar one evening and had room service the next, both fine although not a massive menu. The bar/lounge area is very inviting, the only small comment I would make is that low lighting and loud music for eating on a Sunday evening are perhaps not what everyone wants. Dining alone there were no small tables in the restaurant area (though I was offered one end of a larger table!) so I ended up perching on the end of an armchair in the lounge and eating over a very low table - fine for drinks maybe but not so comfortable for dining.

Anyway, overall a big thumbs up and I’ll definitely be back. Please keep up the good work, Hoxton!

Room Tip: Whilst I didn't find noise a problem, my 2nd floor room overlooked the terrace/ restaurant area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,293
    1,017
    134
    39
    26
See reviews for
356
1,694
250
526
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Knowing the hotel already, when I booked my 5-days stay I asked for a quiet room on a high floor. I wasn't really expecting to get one but it was worth a try.

Upon arrival late at night, not only I was immediately given a room on the top floor, but it was also facing south with a great view and it was larger than average.

I was delighted!

I was also pleasantly surprised to find a working tv in the room (two years ago you had to pay extra for it).

1 hour of free telephone is still valid and is a treat.

This time I also tried room service (fairly good) and the ironing room (very good). Breakfast at the Grill still a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Willow Street get less traffic/bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I just got back from a three night stay at the Hoxton Hotel. I must say that I had very high expectations after reading all the raving reviews here on TA, and it sure didn't dissappoint!

I have stayed in many London-hotels over the years and this is BY FAR the best deal I've ever had. Forget the dated British style with old squeaky furniture, rock hard beds and carpets in the bathroom - this is fantastic! Cool, stylish bathroom with great shower and wonderful free toiletries; great room with super comfy bed, desk and lounge chair - oh, and of course the fridge and safe in the wardrobe.

The room was dark during the night, and quiet! I'm an extremely light sleeper and had asked for a room on one of the top floors as I didn't want to be disturbed by the noise from the bar. I got a room on the top floor (6th) and couldn't almost hear a thing! However, my friend had a room on the third floor and didn't hear anything either. A wonderful sleep, and a great awakening to the breakfast bag hanging outside! Thick (almost like greek) yoghurt, granola and som sort of fruit in the bottom; a banana and some freshly squeezed orange juice with lots of pulp (which I love!)

It's already been said about this hotel, but it really is an amazing experience considering how cheap it is. Staff is friendly and helpful, the bar is buzzing (I don't think I've ever seen that many hip and gorgeous people in the same place before!), great location, great places to eat nearby (try Princess of Shoreditch, The Yard and The Breakfast Club - all three were super tasty!!!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

There are not many hotels in London I return to but this hotel is different. This is my second visit and I would use this hotel over and over again. They have found a niche and what they do they do very well. Downstairs their grill is a top notch resturant with amazing service and reasonable prices. It has a certain buzz to it and on Friday and Saturday night seem like the place to meet friends and have a drink. Don't be put off by this though as a hotel guest you never feel put out or inconvenienced by this and as soon as the lift door shuts you can't hear a thing. Other evenings it is a chilled laid back smart place to sit and socialise with two roaring fires on the go. The rooms are well thought out and the beds are big and comfortable & the bathrooms are georgous and very stylish. Extra provisions are also thought of with milk and 2 bottles of water provided daily in your own fridge. The area is very interesting with lots to see and do as its very near brick lane and spitlefields (poppies Fish and chips are also a must!) and if you want to travel further afield old street tube is less than 5min walk.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed in the hotel on and off for the past 4 years. Great service, food and bar scene, never fails to hit the spot.
Reminiscent to many of the smaller trendy NY hotels in terms of look and feel. The Hoxton has a nice “Cool Britannia”
edge to it.

Steaks are a must in the grill. The bar is very good and spills over to the main lounge area most evenings I have stayed.

The rooms are small and of a similar size to many “business hotels” in London, but very clean and practical.
Recommend it to anyone staying in the city that’s prefers a “bit of life”.

Room Tip: Try the "bunk room" on the 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just to keep it short: The Hoxton is modern, but payable. Located close to Liverpool Street Station and Moorgate Station, you can get easily to all major attractions in London. A small breakfast is included and can be brought up to the room (Banana, Orange Juice, Yoghurt) or you can have a normal breakfast downstairs for an extra charge. A restaurant is in the hotel, but havent used it. The rooms are clean and equipped with all you need. Even the bathroom is for British conditions very clean. The room size is smaller than usual, but why would you spend so much time in the hotel anyways. The people at reception are all nice, friendly and professional.

Only back point is parking. There are a few spaces at the back of the hotel and everything around has to be paid for which isnt cheap. Best to come with public transport to Liverpool Station (Bus directly from London Stansted Airport) and walk 10min.

I would go again and again.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view over London!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stay here as often as we can; although we are mid 50s the energy of the hotel is infectious and the staff always great. Super shower; great little extras and best value in London. Nearby City beverage has great wines to take away; hotel breakfast is great but also try ALBION: just over 5 mins on foot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in London
#51 Romantic Hotel in London
#65 Luxury Hotel in London
#71 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hoxton, Shoreditch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.