We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning Customer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hoxton, Shoreditch to your Saves list
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel) (Shoreditch)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Get the Best!
Ranked #109 of 1,058 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bologna
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Returning Customer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Knowing the hotel already, when I booked my 5-days stay I asked for a quiet room on a high floor. I wasn't really expecting to get one but it was worth a try.

Upon arrival late at night, not only I was immediately given a room on the top floor, but it was also facing south with a great view and it was larger than average.

I was delighted!

I was also pleasantly surprised to find a working tv in the room (two years ago you had to pay extra for it).

1 hour of free telephone is still valid and is a treat.

This time I also tried room service (fairly good) and the ironing room (very good). Breakfast at the Grill still a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Willow Street get less traffic/bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garnant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I just got back from a three night stay at the Hoxton Hotel. I must say that I had very high expectations after reading all the raving reviews here on TA, and it sure didn't dissappoint!

I have stayed in many London-hotels over the years and this is BY FAR the best deal I've ever had. Forget the dated British style with old squeaky furniture, rock hard beds and carpets in the bathroom - this is fantastic! Cool, stylish bathroom with great shower and wonderful free toiletries; great room with super comfy bed, desk and lounge chair - oh, and of course the fridge and safe in the wardrobe.

The room was dark during the night, and quiet! I'm an extremely light sleeper and had asked for a room on one of the top floors as I didn't want to be disturbed by the noise from the bar. I got a room on the top floor (6th) and couldn't almost hear a thing! However, my friend had a room on the third floor and didn't hear anything either. A wonderful sleep, and a great awakening to the breakfast bag hanging outside! Thick (almost like greek) yoghurt, granola and som sort of fruit in the bottom; a banana and some freshly squeezed orange juice with lots of pulp (which I love!)

It's already been said about this hotel, but it really is an amazing experience considering how cheap it is. Staff is friendly and helpful, the bar is buzzing (I don't think I've ever seen that many hip and gorgeous people in the same place before!), great location, great places to eat nearby (try Princess of Shoreditch, The Yard and The Breakfast Club - all three were super tasty!!!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamamolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

There are not many hotels in London I return to but this hotel is different. This is my second visit and I would use this hotel over and over again. They have found a niche and what they do they do very well. Downstairs their grill is a top notch resturant with amazing service and reasonable prices. It has a certain buzz to it and on Friday and Saturday night seem like the place to meet friends and have a drink. Don't be put off by this though as a hotel guest you never feel put out or inconvenienced by this and as soon as the lift door shuts you can't hear a thing. Other evenings it is a chilled laid back smart place to sit and socialise with two roaring fires on the go. The rooms are well thought out and the beds are big and comfortable & the bathrooms are georgous and very stylish. Extra provisions are also thought of with milk and 2 bottles of water provided daily in your own fridge. The area is very interesting with lots to see and do as its very near brick lane and spitlefields (poppies Fish and chips are also a must!) and if you want to travel further afield old street tube is less than 5min walk.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millerannmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed in the hotel on and off for the past 4 years. Great service, food and bar scene, never fails to hit the spot.
Reminiscent to many of the smaller trendy NY hotels in terms of look and feel. The Hoxton has a nice “Cool Britannia”
edge to it.

Steaks are a must in the grill. The bar is very good and spills over to the main lounge area most evenings I have stayed.

The rooms are small and of a similar size to many “business hotels” in London, but very clean and practical.
Recommend it to anyone staying in the city that’s prefers a “bit of life”.

Room Tip: Try the "bunk room" on the 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just to keep it short: The Hoxton is modern, but payable. Located close to Liverpool Street Station and Moorgate Station, you can get easily to all major attractions in London. A small breakfast is included and can be brought up to the room (Banana, Orange Juice, Yoghurt) or you can have a normal breakfast downstairs for an extra charge. A restaurant is in the hotel, but havent used it. The rooms are clean and equipped with all you need. Even the bathroom is for British conditions very clean. The room size is smaller than usual, but why would you spend so much time in the hotel anyways. The people at reception are all nice, friendly and professional.

Only back point is parking. There are a few spaces at the back of the hotel and everything around has to be paid for which isnt cheap. Best to come with public transport to Liverpool Station (Bus directly from London Stansted Airport) and walk 10min.

I would go again and again.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view over London!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stay here as often as we can; although we are mid 50s the energy of the hotel is infectious and the staff always great. Super shower; great little extras and best value in London. Nearby City beverage has great wines to take away; hotel breakfast is great but also try ALBION: just over 5 mins on foot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

this is my second time in London and second time at the Hoxton. it is the best choice.. friendly staff, cool lounge bar, clean and modern room and 5 min walk from Old street tube. all at good price for London !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#51 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#377 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#66 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,605 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#101 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing