We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early wake up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoxton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hoxton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hoxton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (City of London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 1,073 hotels in London
1 review
“Early wake up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Lovely lively vibrant hotel. Rooms small so not worth full price but we had deal at £99 a night for double room. Food was really superb in grill. Reception staff friendly, warm and helpful. Something I have not found at other hotels. My only criticism is noise. We were in London as my young daughter is having ongoing medical treatment at Guys Hospital and we have to travel a long way and stay overnight regularly so I requested a quiet room so we can rest. The hotel obliged and put us in a room at the back of hotel. Outlook terrible but I did not care about that. What I did care about was the noise from 5 a.m onwards of the laundry van and other deliveries etc at the back so we were shattered the next day. Such a shame and all guests must surely on complain about this.

Room Tip: Don't sleep in the back of hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,164
    948
    121
    37
    22
See reviews for
333
1611
238
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in the Hox for one night to go to a gig in Shoreditch... the hotel was buzzing but not noisy, with the bar and grill serving wonderful food! The room was very clean and modern, the bathroom was lovely, complete with Pear's soap! the little breakfast left in the morning was great to set us up for the day. The hotel is close to many cool bars, restaurants and venues, and is about an 8-10 minute walk from Liverpool St Station, so we went from 'Stansted to bed' in under an hour! Great value, lovely staff, and the late check out (max 4pm) was handy if you don't want to carry your luggage around all day. Defo recomend, would go back without a doubt! Also, cheap as chips for almost-central London!

Room Tip: Book a few months in advance for cheaper rates, and look out for the £1 room sale they run now and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our third stay at the Hoxton. The rooms are chic, modern and very comfortable. Friendly staff! Love the atmosphere and the neighbourhood! We will definitely stay here again, this is our favourite London hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The combination of price, location and cool factor are surely unbeatable not only for in London but anywhere? I will be back when I'm next in London and I actually can't wait to need to come again. So much in the area the cocktail bars are fantastic, the rooms are cooly furnished and the cushions (Rock, Paper, Scissors) are amazing and I might end up buying some online at some point!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here on a Friday for one night in one of the new rooms, and the whole experience was truly amazing. I checked in on my own (before my boyfriend and me went back after a concert) and my first impressions of the room were that it was very cosy - not too small, and not massive either. As it was a new room the whole design was completely different to all the other rooms which gave it that wow factor for us! The huge bed had a headboard designed like a corner unit and 2 blankets to keep you nice and warm at night!

Aside from the bed, the best part of the room has to be the shower, it had a overhead rainfall shower which was really nice, definitely one of the best features! The breakfast delivered to your door was also a nice touch, however we ordered room service which was a little bit on the pricey side, but not bad.

The noise levels were not bad at all, upon arrival there were lots of people downstairs in the bar area but this did not affect any of the night, once we were in our room I couldn't hear much outdoor noise.

After booking this hotel and seeing a few negative reviews, I was quite apprehensive, but my experience in this hotel was an unforgettable one, the service was great, my only complaints were that the phone in the room allowed us to make calls but not to hear reception when they rang us up to ask what time we were checking out, and it was hard to turn off or raise the temperature on the air-con, but again, this didn't affect the night too much!

I would definitely come back to this hotel and look forward to doing so in the future!

Room Tip: Get a room on one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

the Hoxton is a clean & trendy hotel, just two stations away from Saint Pancras train station (ideal when you arrive from Paris). The lobby is very welcoming, wifi is free and it's really nice to have a drink facing the fire place and the staff very professional. At nigh, the lobby is crowded! Rooms are quiet but small...and you face windows from office buildings right in front of you, where plenty of people are working...unless you like people to see you in your room! the same breakfast every morning is also not ideal...and there is no fitness center...Overall a nice experience for the price but I will continue to look for something even better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyGriffin, Director of Operations at Hoxton Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hi Franck1977,

We are all delighted you liked our location, team and clean rooms! We wanted to let you know that in addition to the free lite breakfast gab delivered to your room, there are some delicious breakfast choices on the menu in the Hoxton Grill, including full English for £10.
We have an agreement with a great local gym, Market Sports, of £7 per visit for guests of the Hox. We think that’s much better than a couple of tread mills in a room like some other hotels offer!

With thanks, and hoping to meet you in person,

Timothy and the Hox Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

All around a nice stay. Location seems to be very good, staff is friendly and atmosphere hip. Rooms on the smaller side, but everything needed is there. Will go for it next time again. Restaurant is good too, and good nightlife if around over the weekend. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoxton Hotel

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in London
#48 Romantic Hotel in London
#49 Luxury Hotel in London
#51 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoxton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East London establishment, the Hoxton Hotel combines destination sleeping, drinking and dining. With 208 stylish rooms, a restaurant serving up classic American run in partnership with the Soho House group, courtyard garden and The Apartment meetings and events space, it¹s pretty easy to see why the Hox rocks... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hoxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoxton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.