We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great price for london” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hoxton, Shoreditch to your Saves list
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel) (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 1,065 Hotels in London
uk
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“great price for london”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

stayed at this hotel for one night on way through london payed £59 for the room about 2 months in advance. im giving this hotel 5 stars not because its the most luxurious hotel ive ever stayed in but because of the amazing value for £, the rooms are of a good 4 star standard and you get a free pret breakfast in the price delivered to your room! also free water and fresh milk is free in your room. there is free wi fi Internet throughout the hotel and free computers in the lobby, i have stayed in hotels of a smiler standard in london but payed twice the price. i would highly recommend this place!!

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,259
    1,004
    133
    38
    25
See reviews for
350
1,672
247
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

The Hoxton is doing it right. I stayed here over the weekend and it was everything I hoped it would be. It seemed to cater to old and young alike. I am a single 27 year old and it was suited for me. You get all the stuff you would expect at a much more expensive hotel and more. One of the things I enjoyed most was the way they told you about normal hotel things. For example, the standard sign in the bathroom that asks you to re-use your towels to save the environment. Take a look at their website, I'm pretty sure there's a picture on there of this sign. They also provide a handy fold out with restaurants, bars, clubs, etc. within walking distance. Free internet, safe, hair dryer, pencil/pad, shampoo, etc. Plus, the shower was great!

The furniture, fixtures and entire hotel is modern. The decorations are tasteful and fun to look at and use. The room was fitted with a desk, a TV a comfy bed and a lounge-type chair/sofa. Each floor had a different lighting scheme, so even when you're slightly woozy coming home from the bar, you could tell if you're on the right floor. Speaking of which, there were no internal noise issues for me. There was some noise outside in the street, but the hotel can hardly be held accountable for that.

It seemed to be a meeting place for 20-somethings in the Hoxton area to meet, have a few beers, then head out onto the town. I didn't eat here, but it seemed as I sat at the bar that people were enjoying the food.

The breakfast was perfect for me in that it's something I should eat, but never do. It's a banana, yogurt and OJ. It's delivered to your door every AM at a time specified by you. You get two free 500ml bottles of water a day plus milk, coffee, and tea.

Anyway, I've rambled enough. I can't think of any cons to go with all these pros I've mentioned. The noise I experienced was in no way the hotel's or another guest's fault. Just some people working in the street under my window. This is a perfect place to stay that's affordable and an easy trip to all the sites in the city (about 2 blocks from Old Street tube station).

I hope this helped with your decision on where to stay in London!

  • Liked — Location, price, cleanliness and overall atmosphere
  • Disliked — Just some noise on the street under my window one morning.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

The best hotel I've stayed in in London where prices are normally exploitatively hideous and rooms tiny and noisy.

The pluses: spotlessy clean, friendly & helpful staff, great reasonably priced food in the Grille if you want a bigger breakfast (served until a wonderfully 'late' midday at the weekend,) plus lunch or dinner, good links to central London, 2 free bottles of chilled water and milk in the room (along with kettle, tea and coffee), free safe in the room, free newspapers, free internet access, comfortable bed with cosy duvet and squishy pillows, huge windows letting in loads of light etc etc etc.

Also provided in the room is a pocket size fold-out leaflet with local map and loads of impartial recommendations about stuff to do, places to go, bars, restuarants, clubs, galleries, all within a one mile radius.

The negatives: can't actually think of any!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

We had a fantastic stay at the hoxton hotel. We stayed here for two nights mid-week to celebrate our anniversary.

The location is a little off the main tramlines, but is only a five minute walk from the Old Street Tube station. The Old Street tube station is on the main northern line and is easily accessed so wasnt really a problem.

the check-in girls were lovely. Asked if we had any preference for front or back views, or if we had any preference for a high or low floor etc We were then directed to a fifth floor room which was stunning. Really gorgeous bed and the pillows were to die for. The shower was big enough for two people although there was no bathtub.

The phone rates are cheap. We called Ireland for over eight minutes and it cost us 21 pence. bottles of budweiser were £1.25 each and a tube of pringles was £0.71. The hotel restuarant is fab and the people are lovely.

We probably wouldnt come back here again though, mainly becase we would like to be in the centre of all the action...however the hoxton was fantastic and we loved the general ambience!

stay here...you wont regret it.

  • Liked — The room - fantastic bed.
  • Disliked — The ocation and price.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

I was lucky enough to get one of their £1 rooms but would have been just as happy paying the standard rate. Lovely modern hotel with friendly helpful staff. Rooms were lovely with everything you needed. The pillows and duvets were divine. The bathroom was lovely with a large walk in shower. Would definately recommend it.

  • Liked — new, clean and funky
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
folsom, ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

This place is really cool and modern with free internt - but.....it will cost ya $25 in a cab to get to the action.....there were a few nights that we stayed out until the tube had closed down so the cabs added up. But we got a great deal on the room so we thought it was worth it - and the free breakfast is really yummy! Highly recommend - just know that you are outside of the toursity areas.....

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

This one-off hotel has a great concept, which makes a refreshing change from the big branded hotels and pokes fun at them too. The hotel has an honest approach to their costs (50p for a bottle of water, 3p per minute for a phone call, free Internet) and has a great branding concept, making you feel comfortable and at ease. It is funky and has a cool vibe, it is just the location that lets it down, being a little off the beaten track.

  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Luxury Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hoxton, Shoreditch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.