We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid - dishonored reservation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Normandie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Normandie Hotel to your Saves list
Normandie Hotel
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   96 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #421 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid - dishonored reservation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had 2 three-day reservations (double room) separated by two days travel. In light of negative reviews, we emailed owner and got assurance that room would be mold-free and in good repair. First room was clean, but cramped by extra bunk bed. On return, we learned that room 9, assigned to us, had been double booked to a larger party. They sent us to a basement twin room in Hotel Pacific that had mold growing out of the wall and was uninhabitable.

We had to pay $300 extra for last minute room at another hotel. Don't trust this unscrupulous hotel owner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    16
    19
    51
See reviews for
22
33
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Grandma and grandpa with grandson arrived Normandie Hotel for a one week stay in London, late June 2013. Reservation since early May followed up by E: mail to ensure combination room or two rooms closed together. At arrival we found the rooms assigned to us were no. 1 in the basement and no. 14 on the top. No. 1 was not in condition to be used at all. No. 14 had 2 beds. After some arguing we got room no. 9 with an extra bed. But the room was dirty, the shower-head had not been cleaned for years. The lamp over the bed was hanging from the electrical wire (very dangerous). In the wardrobe a couple of mousetraps were placed, for safety according to the receptionist. The ventilation system was not existing, the only way was to open the window for some air and for free we got the heavy traffic noise from Sussex Gardens. For old people this is not satisfactory at all. We need to sleep to be able to do some sight-seeing during the days.
After two terrible nights we managed to find another hotel. I suppose we never will see any refund for the 4 days we paid in advance but not used.
TMy.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed one night in a twin room, room was very small but adequate and warm on a very cold night. The bathroom ould do with an update but is clean and functional, the breakfast was first class as was the parking both included in the price and only 5 minutes from Marble Arch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review and am very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Turned up at the hotel full of concerns as to what some other people had written about it. First impressions not great as the receptionist could not work the terminal for our credit card. However once we had lugged our suitcase up the 57 stairs to room 14 to drop off our baggage we started to relax. The hotel is pretty cheap for London, the price reflects the facilities, but if you like us were looking for a decent shower, edible breakfast and an adequate bed then this place will do you fine. Location is first class, dozens of restaurants, pubs and shops nearby and Edgware Road tube station is about 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, prebook a downstairs room, this place has no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I picked this hotel because of its location--and that is really the only good thing about it. The rooms are rather run down and over filled with furniture, beds are uncomfortable and everything seems flimsy and half-done (I can only imagine how bad it was before the renovation). I was traveling with a friend, so we booked a room with two twin beds, when we got there they put us in a room with a double (apparently an "upgrade") and I took the twin bed--which wasn't really a bed at all, it was one of those metal rolling cot type of things that most hotels will offer if you are putting an extra CHILD in the room. Needless to say it was uncomfortable, but after requesting the staff change our sheets and (scruffy) towels 3 times my friend and I traded beds and I found out the double bed was just as bad. We were in London for about a week and stayed here due to convenience, but i would definitely not go back. Poor quality across the board.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Hotel

Address: 96 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #421 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandie Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandie Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.