We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, good location -- a nice place to stay and a good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandalay Picton House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mandalay Picton House Hotel to your Saves list
Mandalay Picton House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   122 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 541 London B&B and Inns
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hosts, good location -- a nice place to stay and a good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Mandalay Picton house. The owner and his family were so friendly and helpful to us while we stayed there and they added to our experience in London.

Good: Great staff, clean place to stay, great value. Good location relative to Tube stops, especially the Heathrow Express to Paddington train. The breakfast was very enjoyable and included cereal, fresh made eggs, tea, juice, cookies, and toast. Wonderful! Everything was clean and we felt comfortable in our room.

Average: the room we had was a bit tight and, like many European hotels with bathrooms added to rooms after the fact, the bathroom was small.

Overall we recommend this as a good, clean, and friendly place to stay while in London. We will use it again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    72
    23
    14
    7
See reviews for
55
52
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was a pleasant stay. The hotel was convenient with walking distance to tube (5 mins) and stores nearby. Was surprised that this hotel served halal food which makes it easier for us to eat.

Had stayed in a rather large room to accommodate the 5 of us (3 small kids) but the room was still cozy and clean. Loved that the rooms were warm when outside it was freezing. TV and toilets worked fine without any problems.

However, the best thing about the hotel are the people and them being very accommodative to our needs. They also managed to book us a taxi from the hotel to Heathrow at a good price and were very accommodating in terms of directions to eat and go to certain places. They also packed us breakfast as we had to check out early in the morning. Noticed that some of the people there spoke other languages as well (not mistaken French and Japanese).

Negative side of it was maybe the breakfast as wasn't as good as expected but that was me alone as none of the others raised it up. Wifi signal in the room was also quite poor. However, overall a very good stay indeed..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great location, great staff, very reasonable rates (plus a reduction for only having 3 in a quad room). Rooms are clean and serviceable. Only one complaint, the fire alarm went off at 6.50 am!! Finally, although it's adequate and surprising that its included considering the low rates, I would recommend going out for breakfast!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I and my 9 year old son have had the pleasure to visit this hotel five times since may 2011. Allways the stay has been relaxing, and with perfect, but respecful services. It is situated just between to underground stations, closest is Paddington st. The personal is very service minded, and allways in a good mood. The rooms are just somewhere to sleep. But it is allways clean, and fresh. In the end, I have to meantion the calm and quite moment och breakfast. People from Sweden, Norway and elsewhere who share their experiencies from yesterday, and perhaps what will happen today. I will say.. go there!!! You will not be disappointed! Väl mött på Picton Mandalay hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in London for three nights and just needed a room to sleep. This one was just 5 minutes' walk from Paddington station, so it was handy as we took the train from Heathrow (although there are plenty of other hotels in the area as well).

The service was very friendly and anytime we needed something we were immediately attended. The bathroom was very small, otherwise the room was ok. Breakfast was enough to start the day - nothing special but nothing to complain either.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

if you are looking for luxury, don't go here. But if you want a safe and very cheap place to stay, go! The hotel is small and the opposite of fancy, but the owners are extremely helpful and nice. The room I had was very small but also very clean, which is not always true of London hotels.
The bathroom was tiny and not very comfortable, but again - clean.
The full English breakfast was included in the room price.
This hotel is perfect is you are in London to stay out - and not in. It is real value for money, and the location only two minutes walk from Paddington is perfect, especially if you are flying in and out from Heathrow.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter in July 2010 for 3 nights. I had decided on it through reading the reviews here on tripadvisor for budget hotels in London. It is close to Paddington station, about a 5 min walk. And just around the corner from a great little Italian cafe which served great coffee. And a 5 min walk to a great Indian restaurant, called Noorjahan 2.
The staff at Mandalay Picton were all really friendly, helpful and polite, they serve a good size breakfast in the mornings too. The room catered for our needs with twin beds and an ensuite bathroom. I remember reading some reviews about the ensuites being small. Well, this one had room for a basin, a toilet and a shower. And room to stand and dry yourself. What more does a person need? The shower worked really well, I didn't feel cramped at all in it, or in the bathroom. The room was really quiet also. I always take decent earplugs with me when I travel, but I had no need to use them here.
It was also no trouble to leave our bags with them after checkout, as we had a late flight out.
I'd stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#251 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,505 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#563 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
East End / East London
Kadimah Hotel
Kadimah Hotel
#228 of 541 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#126 of 541 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Hyde Park Radnor Hotel
#154 of 541 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Belgravia
Lynton Hotel London Ltd.
Lynton Hotel London Ltd.
#83 of 541 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Picton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Picton House Hotel

Address: 122 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 541 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandalay Picton House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mandalay Picton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Picton House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandalay Picton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.