We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandalay Picton House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mandalay Picton House Hotel to your Saves list
Mandalay Picton House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   122 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 532 London B&B and Inns
Karlstad, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Gary and Dwight, the brothers who run the Mandalay Picton, are wonderful hosts who are always welcoming and helpful. We stayed with a family of six over the New Year holiday and found the perfect family base to explore London's sights, shopping and entertainment.
The hotel is clean, comfortable and quiet. Just what is needed for a family after a long day out and about.
The prices are extremely reasonable, and made our stay very affordable. We look forward to returning with the family soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    65
    19
    14
    6
See reviews for
53
47
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Found this lovely B&B when looking for somewhere very convenient (only a 5 minute stroll) to Paddington Railway Station, so very easy to and from the airport on the Heathrow Express and the tube right at hand. We stayed in August and September on two occassions.
Small rooms and basic facilities, but always very clean and tidy for our stay. We were out most of the time so space is not so important. Staff were always warm, friendly and helpful. We were able to leave some baggage for two weeks while we went hiking in Devon and Cornwall. Breakfast basic but quite adequate.
Looked at many B&Bs within walking distance of Paddington - this was by far the best value for money in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The place is located near Hyde Park, around 5 minutes from Paddington Station/Tube which has express trains to LHR. The location is the the greatest selling point of this B&B. You can walk through Hyde park into the city center. It is a long walk but London is best explored by foot anyway. It is also worth mentioning that the hotel is situated within one of the most upscale areas of London, so it is very safe.

The hotel itself is quite old with old carpeting but it is a budget accommodation. The bed (2 mattresses stacked together) is really comfortable and heating works great. The room will be cleaned daily with fresh sheets and towels. There is no elevator but its quite common in older UK buildings. If you decide to stay in a single room, you will have to share your bathroom with guests living on the same floor, but this was not a problem for me as the facilities are kept clean and most people leave very early to explore the city. There will never be a line up to use the toilet.

The staff are extremely nice. I had an interview at Oxford, so I wanted to stay 4 days exploring the city and the owner was extremely supportive and nice to me. In fact, I never met such kind individual in my entire life. Email them and they will assist you the best they can. I was really touched by their warmth and care and recommend the place without any reservations.
I checked a lot of B&bs and within the price range this is the best accommodation you can find in central location. The actual room is not very impressive and could be cleaner, but the fantastic location and the great great owner make up for all shortcomings the place may have. For the price, there is no better place. Book with confidence!

Room Tip: If you have luggage, try stay in lower floors as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The staff absolutely make this place by being incredibly personable, pleasant, helpful and interesting. The hotel is perhaps a litttle shabby around the edges but it is budget accommodation after all and I thought it had something of the charm of an old-fashioned pension. The rooms were clean, the shower was excellent and hot and breakfast was perfectly adequate. The location is very convenient, being very close to Paddington and within reasonable walking distance to Central London, and I thought it was excellent value for money.

Staying here, I felt as though I was part of something rather lovely and, in the evenings, it felt like I was returning home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

My friend and me stayed for two nights at the end of November.Easy to find after getting off the train at Paddington. We were greeted very warmly and made to feel very welcome. Room was small but very clean, tidy and had everything we needed for our mini break. Breakfast was nice, not everyones cup of tea as it's a very continental breakfast and a very mixed bag of foods, but it was really tasty and kept us going through the day. I would definately stay again. The price was great for London and for its location, Hyde park just 10 minutes away. Give it a go, you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed this hotel third time in this November. The rooms are clean and average for central London, the bathroom is really tiny so if you mind it then it is not your place. But they are absolutely clean! The owners are absolutely helpful and polite! Whenever we go to London next time, we definitely will stay there again. Best place to stay for the value!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My second stay at this hotel was just as pleasant as the first!

When we arrived, we were greeted with respect and were given 2 room keys which was convenient. My friend and I have stayed here in July for 8 nights so we found the room a bit small. We obviously had a lot of stuff and we ran out of places where we could store clothes as we only had a double-door wardrobe and a nightstand. The bathroom was even smaller, if you are not the slimmest person you might have difficulty showering in such a small space. Our beds were made up most days and sheets changed twice over the 8 nights which did not bother us. The room was clean as far as we could tell but some might expect a better standard. Some might also call this hotel dated or even dodgy, but I think for the price - especially in London - it is value for money (but could do with a bit of renovation and refurbishment).

We got a friendly rate (£70/night discounted to £65) from one of the owners as we stayed there before and booked the room for over a week this time around. Our budget was not very high so this hotel is still very good for accommodating those on a budget.
Room prices include a continental breakfast which was a little repetitive over 8 mornings but still tasty.

As no safety deposit boxes are available in the rooms, we asked at the reception if we could store out passports and other belongings in the safe, which was fine until we went to collect them on departure and the owner wasn't there and staff didn't know where the safe was. Again, this wasn't such a problem as we were organised enough to leave plenty of time before we had to leave the hotel but we could have missed our train to be fair.

Overall though,we did have a lovely time. The price and the staff all make up for the basic accommodation and inconveniences. Unless I find an even cheaper hotel with ratings like these, I will certainly return on my next visit to London.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandalay Picton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Picton House Hotel

Address: 122 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 532 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandalay Picton House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mandalay Picton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Picton House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandalay Picton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.