We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pleasure of feeling like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Sumner Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Sumner Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Upper Berkeley St. | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #54 of 1,071 hotels in London
Lanus, Argentina
1 review
“The pleasure of feeling like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

January I spent some nights at the hotel. It's a luxury, I felt very comfortable, the staff are lovely. The temperature in time, a good cup of tea or coffee always ready. Very good vibes from the hotel staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay here at The Sumner.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    709
    296
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
194
565
76
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for 1 night with our friends on New Years Eve. We had lovely rooms that were very clean & very comfortable. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was good & very continental. The only thing that would have been nice would have been a complimentry tea tray in the room. We also didn't use the mini bar because of the high cost of the items. Would definitely stay again if we needed to as a great location in London. On checkout we were given a lovely diary for 2013. A really nice touch. Thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Sumner.
I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay for Tea/Coffee facility in the rooms but just to maintain the high standards and to keep the all the rooms well maintained, we do not have any facility to prepare any Tea/Coffee. Also we do not place any kettles or any Tea/Coffee in the rooms for safety & hygiene reasons. But we do have a facilty which is 24 hours a day to seve Tea/Coffee.

We'll make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels services and facilities will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after.
We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very comfortable boutique style hotel near Marble Arch. Very convenient for Hyde Park and has lots of good restaurants close by. It's just a 5 minute stroll to Oxford Street and all the shops. Lots of buses to choose from to get to all parts of the city. (If you have a Senior Bus Pass - or similar - you can save loads o' money.) The staff are very friendly and helpful. There's a nice comfy lounge lounge where the staff will bring tea or coffee for you - or to your room if you prefer. We stayed two nights 31st Jan - 1st Feb 2013. We've stayed there twice but it won't be the last time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Sumner.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels services and facilities will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elverum, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Sumner for the first time, but it will definitely not be the last. Very friendly staff, very nice breakfast, very clean and spacious room. Only 3 minutes walk from Oxford street with all it`s delights. Perfect for us. We can recommend this hotel to anyone going to London.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely feedback and choosing The Sumner as an Excellent Hotel. It was our pleasure having both of you at The Sumner Hotel.
We are grateful for your kind words of appreciation of hotel & service. Here at the sumner, we believe to do the service in a high a class & maintain the high standards at the same time. We hope to see you soon in future again.
Many Thanks,
Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked this hotel as a bit of a blow out treat for ourselves over Christmas. It was a lovely romantic stay (in fact my now fiance proposed on the trip!) and the hotel was convenient, but I must say for the money I did expect a little more.

We were offered an upgrade when we arrived from a very nice receptionist, but we turned it down after looking as the room was dated and facing the street on the ground floor, whereas the room upstairs was on the top floor and no noise. The hotel is a converted Victorian house and the floors have not been reinforced so you do hear people moving around. Luckily, our 'neighbours' didnt seem like big party animals so it was fine. Lovely thought to offer free tea and coffee brought to your room any time you need it, with little choc biscuits.

A REALLY good spread for breakfast and the service is good. You can totally fill up and last all the way to dinner if you wanted. Very close so the location is the thing you pay for I guess.....you can walk to Oxford Street, Hype Park etc. That's the best bit about London. 6 min walk from Marble Arch.

Can't really fault the hotel (aside from really bad TV signal), just kind of expected more, but maybe I just havent seen the other offerings in London. A solid bet for people who want to be near the centre.

Room Tip: Go to the top floor for quiet rooms. A little cosier but very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was my second visit to The Sumner. On both occasions staying in conjunction with a business colleague.
We are both agreed this is a perfect boutique hotel with a very good pub next door.
Lovely atmosphere. Could do without the constant pan pipes in drawing room however.
Breakfast perfectly adequate....it is a hotel breakfast.
Pleasant, helpful and courteous staff.
Perfectly situated near the Central Line for business meetings.
I will use it whenever visiting London

Room Tip: Choose a rear facing room for preference in terms of street noise.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely comment. It was our pleasure having all of you at The Sumner Hotel.
We are grateful for your kind words of appreciation of hotel & service. Here at the sumner, we believe to do the service in a high a class & maintain the high standards at the sae time. We always strive to offer an enriched and engaging experience to our guests and your acknowledgement of our efforts is truly encouraging.
We look forward to your support and patronage to The Sumner and also welcome you back to your home.
Many Thanks,

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family of 2 parents and 2 grown children stayed at the Sumner for 6 days during a snowy week in London. This hotel was perfect for our needs. It is located on a quiet side street about a 3 minute walk to tube and bus routes at Marble Arch. The location was so central to everywhere we needed to go. Our room faced the street but we were not bothered by street noise. We had adjoining rooms (201 and 202) with deluxe double (king size bed) and standard room with twin beds. They were just fine for us, not luxurious but completely adequate. I might have liked a comfy chair in the room but the lounge downstairs made up for it. The bathrooms were very clean, shower only, but with plenty of water pressure and plenty of replenished supplies. There were various types of plugs by the desk for charging of electronics, a nice convenience although we had our own plugs. WiFi in the room was fast, free, and always available. Breakfast was included and had all kinds of basic breakfast items for many nationalities - cereals, breads, meats, cheeses, fruits, vegetables, scrambled and poached eggs, rashers or sausage, mushrooms, baked beans, yogurt. It was not gourmet or elegant but it was perfectly fine to start the day. When we arrived from our overnight flight at 10 AM, we were offered breakfast although it was too early to check in. This is an example of how considerate the staff was at all times. The hotel has a lovely lounge (living room) with a fireplace, comfortable chairs and a sofa as well as a modern iMac computer and desk. There is plenty of reading material, guidebooks, and snacks. We would come back to the hotel around 5PM, cold and wet from a day of sightseeing, sit in the lounge to relax and warm up, and tea and sweets would appear on a tray for all four of us. It was just such a lovely touch for the staff to provide. We expected to see this on our bill but it was included as an example of a hotel going above and beyond. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely comment. It was our pleasure having all of you at The Sumner Hotel.
We are grateful for your kind words of appreciation of hotel & service. Here at the sumner, we believe to do the service in a high a class & maintain the high standards at the sae time. We hope to see you soon in future again.
Many Thanks,
Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London
The Sumner Hotel London, England
Address: 54 Upper Berkeley St. | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#114 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Expedia so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sumner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.