We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Tower Bridge

Save Saved
You added Hilton London Tower Bridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Tower Bridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 More London - Tooley Street, London SE1 2BY, England (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #130 of 1,073 hotels in London
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visited London just prior to Xmas and booked the Hilton so as to be close to where our son lives. We visit London regularly but this was our first time at this hotel and our selection was based on previous Trip Advisor comments.

For the price charged for our room it was a major disappointment. The rooms were large, comfortable and well equipped. However we had the mistaken impression when we booked that we would have a view(or at least a glimpse) of Tower bridge but our window looked directly across a narrow lane into the offices of one the the major global accounting firms. If we had binoculars we could have read the documents on their desks!

Then we had the drama with the large and modern bathroom. The bath doubled as a shower with a hinged glass panel sitting along the side of the bath to prevent water dripping onto the floor. The shower/bath had a clip-in shower head on the end of a flexible tube which allowed it to be removed and for the head to rotate and point in any direction. To say the shower/bath water mixer located directly under the shower head was a challenge is an understatement. For two active seniors (but with less than perfect eyesight) trying to see the lightly etched Hot/Cold notations on the mixer (even with spectacles) and then working out how the water mixer could be released(by pressing in two buttons one on either side of the centre barrel so the barrel rotated) whilst standing under the shower head was difficult. This was despite the hotel management having placed a stick-on label above the mixer with unclear instructions on how to operate this system. ( We suspect we are not the only ones that have been challenged by this architectural wonder).

When we eventually did get the water to flow, the shower head suddenly sprayed very hot water onto my wife who then had to quickly escape from its flow, knocking her arm on the glass panel and the shower tube and almost slipping over in the bath. By this time hot water was being sprayed all around the bathroom.Then in trying to escape from the water flow by getting out of the shower she nearly slipped over. The height of the bath lip above the tiled floor is quite high and water was all over the floor making the tiles very slippery. So then our challenge became turning off the hot water without getting scolded and before the bathroom flooded.We called the reception about the problem and in fairness to them they were attentive but only able to give us fresh towels etc to help with the mop-up.

As a businessman who has traveled extensively throughout the world and stayed in many 5 star hotels, this incident had the potential to have created a major issue of liability for this hotel had my wife been injured. As a result of our experiences we consider this hotel is more suited for the younger businessman or traveler rather than senior aged tourists to London. There are many more comfortable and more appropriate hotels for seniors around London than this hotel. In this hotels favour are some excellent restaurants nearby and the London Underground is within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: If you want privacy with the room curtains open get a room that does not look into the offices of ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,427
    747
    108
    42
    28
See reviews for
332
1076
189
485
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights on a trip to London to celebrate her 21st birthday. I emailed the hotel in advance merely requesting a room as high up as possible and explained it was her birthday... On arrival we were greeted with a happy birthday and were upgraded to a deluxe room! 30minutes after settling into the room there was a knock at the door and two pieces of cake were delivered with 'happy birthday' written artfully in chocolate sauce. A lovely touch I thought, they really did go the extra mike to make sure we enjoyed our weekend!

Generically, the room was well styled and modern... Brilliant location and I recommend anyone to go the 'the great wall' Chinese restaurant over the road.. It was beautiful!

We are coming back to London in the summer when it won't be snowing and we will definitely be coming back to this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
I am so happy that we were able to make the 21st birthday celebrations that much more special.

We pride ourselves in deliverying superior service and it is always nice to get feedback from valued guests.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotl ion a great spot for London bridge rail station and all the tourist tritons around tower bridge. The hotl is relatively new and decor, cleanliness etc won't be beaten. We stayed a Saturday when there is limited business use I am guessing it is more expnsive during the week. However, we enjoyed it and hipster no cheap I would rate this as good value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We appreciate the time taken to post feedback about the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. Our area is filled with amazing attractions such as The Shard, Borough Market, Tower Bridge, Tower of London, Southbank, Tate Modern and so many more.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend and could have stayed for much longer! The location, adjacent to HMS Belfast, is great for sightseeing and for getting around. The South Bank is really worth a visit nowadays with so many things to see and so many good pubs and restaurants. The hotel is easy walking distance from London Bridge station and is therefore easy to get to by train, underground or bus. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff were very attentive. The rooms are clean, large by London standards and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate the time taken to post comments.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your location, the service of my team and the overall hotel facilities.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in an executive suite, although a little pricey it was a treat and worth it for the extras you get, use of the executive lounge with complimentary tea coffee soft drinks and snacks available all day, also breakfast, afternoon tea and evening canapés and all drinks also free till 9 pm. Hotel is 5 mins walking distance to tube into the city and only 1 tube change gets you to heathrow airport. The only downside was the bar was expensive, 16 pounds for 2 small red wines!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the executive lounge to be of such great value.

We hope to see you again when you visit London.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I just spent a night here and had to change hotel but would have been happy to stay here longer. A good location by the Thames. The hotel is fairly new and (by London standards) the rooms was really spacious and well laid out
Toiletries good
Only negative was lack of free wifi. I object to paying for wifi in hotels and it would be a factor in me choosing to stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We offer free Wifi to guests in the public areas of the hotel and in the executive lounge.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights during January. The hotel is modern and located near the London bridge underground station. Service was excellent, especially at the reception and over the phone. Breakfast at the ground floor restaurent was awesome .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
I am glad that you found our restaurant to be excellent, our service so professional and that you were wow-ed by our hotel.

We hope to see you back in our hotel in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton London Tower Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Tower Bridge

Address: 5 More London - Tooley Street, London SE1 2BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge , Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in London
#93 Family Hotel in London
#101 Luxury Hotel in London
#126 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Tower Bridge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of one of London's best known historical landmarks, Hilton London Tower Bridge is a modern and contemporary hotel with a striking exterior and is ideally situated on the doorstep of the City. This 245-bedroom hotel with high speed internet access in every guest room and wireless broadband internet access throughout offers something different and whether you're on business or pleasure the subtle touches of colour will enlighten your stay. When it's time to entertain clients or simply relax, take advantage of the hotel's lively cocktail bar before enjoying the delights of the restaurant's European cuisine to complete a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hilton London Tower Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Tower Bridge Hotel London
Hilton London Hotel Bridge
London Hilton
Hilton Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Tower Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;