We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel with lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montagu Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Montagu Place Hotel to your Saves list
Montagu Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 - 3 Montagu Place | Marylebone, London W1H 2ER, England (Marylebone)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct Get 10% off
Ranked #81 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel with lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and the hotel was very nice and the staff, as per other reviews were very attentive and could not do enough for you.
As they realised we were in our room, rather than have the housekeeping staff knock on our door, they phoned up to us to find out when we wanted our room serviced. We had 3 or 4 other requests and they were very quick on doing all of those.
The website we booked on told us the breakfast was £23 but it actually turned out to be £14, and while we still did not have breakfast, it looked very nice. The staff were happy to recommend other places where we could have breakfast.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Montagu Place hotel and sharing your experience. Guest feedback helps us measure our performance and we appreciate your taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments and feedback will certainly be shared with all our staff.

Once again, thank you for your generous score and we certainly look forward to another opportunity of accommodating you again!

Warm regards,

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    90
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
43
165
35
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

What a great find, delightful, spotless boutique hotel with such wonderful staff. Lovely location, very comfortable bed and staff who do everything to make sure you are comfortable. I'm delighted to have found this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time and post your feedback on TripAdvisor; your feedback is really appreciated.

Our team really enjoys delivering great guest experiences. I have shared your comments with our team and it makes them want to keep doing great work.

Thank you once again for your wonderful comments on our hotel decoration, facilities as well as room amenities. We are extremely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards,

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here in January 2013 with my mum, and have stayed several time prior to this with my husband over the last few years. This is a small friendly hotel, the rooms are tastefully decorated and the well appointed bathrooms have Complimentary Molten Brown toiletries. We stayed in the Swanky Room, which had a enormous bed ( we had been told they would make it into two singles for my mother & I but this hasn't been done when we arrived so we decided to leave it as a very large king size bed!) The hotel is a short walk from Baker Street tube station, so very convenient for getting about. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing for a smaller hotel, although you need to be agile as its in a townhouse so if you get a room on the top floors there's a lot of stairs! We didn't eat breakfast here as we thought it quite pricey at £14 each on top of the room rate, and preferred to walk to a nearby cafe for pastries and coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback from your recent stay at Montagu Place Hotel, we are pleased that you and your mum enjoyed your stay with us.

We truly appreciate your valuable insights on what is important for our guests; from the location to the comfort of our beds; decoration. Indeed, it is a pleasure to be your hotel in London.

While we are glad that you were generally happy with the hotel, we apologize for the mismanaging in following up on your request for twin beds. We strive to provide our guests with an efficient and excellent service; we would therefore follow up on your feedback with the appropriate department.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to London.

Warm regards,

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Lovely townhouse in central London in quiet road. Clean spacious rooms including real coffee! Nice contemporary feel and very friendly staff in great location, being near Selfridges & all the restaurants in Marylebone & a bus ride from Eurostar. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time and post your feedback on TripAdvisor; your feedback is really appreciated.

We evaluate your high regard of our hotel location, cleanliness, room facilities as well as amenities. We are extremely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back you again.

Warm regards

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendyducati
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for one night. Modern beige - brown good quality decor in good order. Very pleasant helpful staff. Clean room comfy bed, ours was on 2nd floor, the only downside was due to the age of the building. The water pipes had a tendency to bang and could hear the upstairs residents creaking about -and quite clearly having sex albeit briefly!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Montagu Place Hotel.

We're glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, cleanliness as well as the décor and our amenities, were all to your likes. Our staff work very hard so positive feedback such as yours is always a pleasure to read and pass onto them. I am pleased that your time with us was comfortable and enjoyable.

While we are glad that you were generally happy with the hotel, I am sorry to hear that the noises from upstairs prevented you from fully enjoy your stay in Montagu Place Hotel and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay and I hope this incidents will not deter your from visiting us again in the future. Should you require any further assistance from us please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist you personally.

Kind regards

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location just off Baker St close to tube station. The staff are poltie but not accomadating.
We stayed for 2 nights in room number 2 down the stairs, the room is a good size. However the duvet and pilows neeed to be replaced, they are old and not fit for use, patchy with stuffing!
The noise coming from the night staff just up the stairs is so loud all the floors creeks and they set up for breakfast at around 5 am, you can hear the phone ringing and other peoples toilet flushing!

This really has put me off staying here again.
Sorry about poasting poor reviews but im just being honest. Maybe they should put this room as an offic e or store room its not a good hotel room at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Montagu Place Hotel. It is regretful to hear that we missed the opportunity to create a positive experience for you. I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for this to you.

As per the noise issue I would like to thank you for addressing this. Only a few days after your departure we had the entire ground floor soundproofed to prevent our future guests from similar negative experience.

Moreover as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest value, may you give us the chance to make your next stay with us nothing else but perfect, please do feel free to contact us directly and we will make sure for that to happen.


Once again please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused in this occasion and I hope this experience will not deter your from visiting us again in the future.

Kind regards

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here recently over the festive season. Excellent location close to attractions like Oxford Street and all the shopping available there. Two streets away is Baker Street which leads to Selfridges. Hyde Park is a stone's throw away but if you're travelling via the London Underground the closest station is probably Baker Street. Although the hotel is in amongst it all, its incredibly quiet at night, which is great if your suffering a little jet lag! Slept really well.

Staff and customer service were first class from the front desk to the housekeeping team. Couldn't be more helpful and pleasant and because it only has 16 rooms, you always get personal attention over and above a large hotel. Really good

Room Tip: Had a room overlooking the main street but still nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay at Montagu Place Hotel London, it is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback.

Being referred to as a home away from home is one of the highest compliments we could receive, thank you! It is always our hope that guests leave feeling well cared for and relaxed and we couldn’t be happier to know that we achieved that for you.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and I, together with the entire Montagu Team- genuinely look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Montagu.

Wishing you and yours a very happy 2013!!!!

Warm regards,

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montagu Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Place Hotel

Address: 2 - 3 Montagu Place | Marylebone, London W1H 2ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in London
#68 Luxury Hotel in London
#94 Family Hotel in London
#151 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, boutique hotel, set in a listed Georgian townhouse, offers you stylish accommodation in a quiet residential street, just a short walk from some of London's leading thoroughfares. With just 16 bedrooms, the hotel is small enough to be cozy and welcoming, yet offers the amenities you would associate with a much larger hotel. With dedicated staff providing a high level of personal service Montagu Place can truly be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montagu Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Place London
Hotel Montagu Place
Montagu Place Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montagu Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.