We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montagu Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Montagu Place Hotel to your Saves list
Montagu Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 - 3 Montagu Place | Marylebone, London W1H 2ER, England (Marylebone)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct Get 10% off
Ranked #82 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
723 helpful votes 723 helpful votes
“A true gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Montagu Place sits in a peaceful side street near Baker Street, yet is just a stones throw from some of London's premier attractions. The owners have done a brilliant job with the hotel and rooms, everything is spotless and fresh,I stayed in the Swanky room upstairs which had a large bathroom with heated floor, big shower and tub, Molton Brown gels & lotions, small balcony, massive comfy bed, tea/coffee, free bottled water and flat screen TV. Free wifi throughout, and the owners are friendly and helpful.

I didn't try the breakfast as it was a little expensive for what was on offer (only continental), but just around the block are plenty of cafes serving hot food for small prices.

A brilliant find, and one I'll definitely return to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.

It was a pleasure having you staying with us and to read that you appreciated our attention to detail is very encouraging as we always aim to offer our guests a true ‘home away from home’ experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to share such a kind review and on behalf of the entire team at Montagu Place Hotel I would like to thank you for recommending our hotel. We will be very pleased to be welcoming you back again to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    90
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
43
165
35
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Quiet and central area , near Oxford street . 5 min from baker st. Metro station.
Small hotel, very clean and quite spacious rooms .
Breakfast is excluded from the rate & its extra fee is quite expensive. In any case a lot of places where you can take you breakfast outside at no more than 2/3 minutes walking

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time and post your feedback on TripAdvisor; your feedback is really appreciated.

I'm glad you enjoyed your room and the hotel location. The price of the breakfast is closely connected with the size of the hotel and therefore some guests may feel this to be more expensive. For not only those we are more than happy to suggest some of the local restaurants known for their quality food and service.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again in a near future.

Kind Regards

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Montagu Place a small boutique hotel offered great value, our room was quite small but had everything to suit our needs, comfy bed, great products and even some nice magazine, staff were friendly - always a plus.

From the hotel Oxford Street – Selfridges end was approx. 5 minutes walk. We also shopped in Marylebone lots of excellent smaller shops, we had a super night out in Marylebone too, with lots of nice independent places to eat and drink.

On street metered parking opposite hotel worked out great for us we were only doing one night - We would recommend Montagu Place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking to the time to write such a detailed and encouraging review.

We're glad that you enjoyed our convenient location and our amenities. Thank you for your kind words towards our staff.
It sounds like you managed to see and experience a lot of what Marylebone area has to offer, we hope you had a great time during your stay.

Again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely stay and would recommend. Great location, with only a short walk to the underground. Nicely decorated room. Small hotel with friendly and attentive staff that weren't intrusive. It was our wedding anniversary and the staff organised my husband's request for champagne in the room for us, which was accompanied by strawberries; lovely!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback from your recent stay at Montagu Place Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are heartened by your kind comments about our customer service being top notch. We truly care about our guests and we want to offer experiences that show we care. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your anniversary with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and I will be sure to share your comments with our team.

Kind regards,

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Montague place hotel is Located in a small street, a walking distance from Regents park and Oxford stret..
The room i had was small but this is the norm in London. It was quiete and the bed very cofortable, a great recepie for agood night sleep. The shower small but sufficient. Apart from occasional unexpected temperature changes it did its task very well. The alarm clock was not functioning but the conierge woke me up every morning. I took breakfast in the room (as my work started early) at no extra cost. It was fresh and versatile including fresh juice, fried eggs to order and quality assorted cheeses and fruits. There is enough cupboard room for one person for a short stay but dont expect more.
Most importantly, the staff was cordial and helpfull.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback and your Trip Advisor posting. Our team really enjoys delivering great guest experiences. I have shared your comments with our team and it makes them want to keep doing great work.

I would like to thank you for highlighting the concerns you experienced. With regards to your comments about the alarm clock and the temperature changes of the room, your constructive feedback is much appreciated and I am looking on possible solutions with our maintenance manager.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Montagu Place Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

A real find for a regular visitor to London. The room was everything one needs for a crash pad. Great shower, very comfy bed and contemporary furnishings. Lots of magazines on the bedside table. Charming reception. Unbelievable value too at £108 for a double room.

The hotel redeemed itself handsomely when i discovered the milk in the room was off, so black tea when i awoke. Profuse apologies and complementary breakfast followed. These guys know how to make one feel welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble.

Room Tip: Go for one at the back of the building if you want absolute quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your time to write this glowing review and for highlighting the little things that stood out to you while you were staying with us.

We really enjoy providing great service to all of our guests I will be sharing your comments with our team about their service, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have exceeded your expectations.

I hope that we can look forward your next stay with us and that we will be able to make every of your stays with us a little special and memorable.

Kind regards,

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This small hotel was a great find,quality prevailed throughout, Staff very welcoming and accomodating, Room was expensively appointed, Free tea ,coffee and bottled water,Moulton Browm Toiletries,Breakfast was very good, especially the fresh orange juice!!
Our only gripe in staying here is there is no parking around only permit holders and expensive NCP 10.00 - 3-00pm £36.00 !! Will go by train next time. Margaret B

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Mrs Brent,


We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Montagu Place Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for taking the time to share such a kind and encouraging review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,


Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Montagu Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Place Hotel

Address: 2 - 3 Montagu Place | Marylebone, London W1H 2ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#94 Family Hotel in London
#153 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, boutique hotel, set in a listed Georgian townhouse, offers you stylish accommodation in a quiet residential street, just a short walk from some of London's leading thoroughfares. With just 16 bedrooms, the hotel is small enough to be cozy and welcoming, yet offers the amenities you would associate with a much larger hotel. With dedicated staff providing a high level of personal service Montagu Place can truly be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montagu Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Place London
Hotel Montagu Place
Montagu Place Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montagu Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.