We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel. Boutique.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montagu Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Montagu Place Hotel to your Saves list
Montagu Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 - 3 Montagu Place | Marylebone, London W1H 2ER, England (Marylebone)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #77 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel. Boutique.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Went here in February 2010. Amazing place in a great location.
Search around on laterooms and booking.com to get a very decent price if you book in advance.

Very stylish and cool place to visit. You are close to a number of tube stations which means you can get around everywhere in London very easily.

Definitely book onto here and stay here for a few days if you're visiting London!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    96
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
48
176
39
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My partner and I just completed three nights at the hotel and it was fantastic. The location is close to Baker St tube and Oxford St.

The service is top notch and even the 'lower-level' comfy room we were in was an excellent size.

The only slight (and it was VERY slight) complaint would be that the pillows didn't give the support I needed and I had a stiff-neck.

But I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

The Montagu Place Hotel is a few minutes walk to Baker St tube as well as Marylebone Station and tube. It is a couple blocks away from quaint Marylebone High St, where you can find interesting shops and great restaurants.
We could not have been happier with both the service and quality of the rooms. The web site photos are accurate so you clearly get the idea that this is a stylish boutique hotel. I can highly recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay in London.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a long weekend. The staff were excellent, friendly and always offering help. We had room 33 which was very nice, plenty of room for us, and quiet. The breakfast was plenty and worth paying the extra for. The location was great, within a very nice area of London, plenty of places to eat and drink within a short walk. Even late evening you felt safe walking around. Would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking a time and reviewing our hotel.

We are glad that you and your wife did enjoy our service, food, location and the atmosphere of our hotel. We are looking forward to be serving you also during your next stay in London.

Kind Regards

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

it is really nice to find something really nice yet reasonably priced in london. nothing not to like. have spent many a good night here, and also have used it frequently for corporate purposes.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such as kind words about us. I hope that all your future stays with us will be at least as good as the past one.

Kind Regards

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I hate red eye flights and I wanted a posh place to sleep when we arrived. I also wanted good value. This hotel is what I was able to find.
Loved the room-modern, supercomfortbale beds, cute neighbourhood, not too far from the Tube (5min walk if you walk fast). Slept like a baby. Great bathroom.
I don't know what I was thinking when I requested the Swanky room though. We don't need a lot of space. This room was North American size. I should have saved my money and went a bit smaller. If you love your space though, go swanky.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in UK. I am pleased to hear, that we did meet your criteria and expectations of posh quality of sleep.

I hope that you will let us serve you also on your next travels to London.


Kind Regards

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Having stayed at Number Sixteen, I was hoping for the same quality experience at Montagu Place. The location is great and the staff are so friendly and helpful. However the rooms lack flair and hotel lacks atmosphere. The continental breakfast was the biggest disappointment and was more like the type of breakfast you'd expect in a Holiday Inn Express. We won't return and we couldn't recommend!

Room Tip: Ours was the basic and it was very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Mr Will,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our location and about my staff. I am delighted that we managed to exceed your expectation in that regard.

I am deeply sorry to hear that you didn’t like the atmosphere of our boutique hotel. Unfortunately, I do feel that this is a personal preference rather then something that we go wrong on this occasion. We have never positioned ourselves in the same market as the competitor that you mention, nor would we consider doing so in the future.

To date vast majority of comments about our breakfast have been positive. I will however review the offering to try and see how it could be improved in the near future.

I wish you the best of luck in your future stays in London.

Kind Regards

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Montagu Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Place Hotel

Address: 2 - 3 Montagu Place | Marylebone, London W1H 2ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#93 Family Hotel in London
#128 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, boutique hotel, set in a listed Georgian townhouse, offers you stylish accommodation in a quiet residential street, just a short walk from some of London's leading thoroughfares. With just 16 bedrooms, the hotel is small enough to be cozy and welcoming, yet offers the amenities you would associate with a much larger hotel. With dedicated staff providing a high level of personal service Montagu Place can truly be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Montagu Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Place London
Hotel Montagu Place
Montagu Place Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montagu Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.