We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Cloisters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Cloisters to your Saves list
Chelsea Cloisters
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Sloane Avenue, London SW3 3DW, England (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Rooms very old and felt dirty, staff not easy to deal with.
Defiantly will not stay here again.
Advice if you book a studio stick with it don't be fooled by an upgrade the 1 bed apartments are worse than the studio rooms.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    105
    92
    56
    82
See reviews for
82
117
39
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks at Chelsea cloisters, and were delighted with the apartment. It was spacious and nice views and light and airy. The kitchen was a little old, but worked absolutely fine. Everything else was modern and spotless. The receptionist was friendly and helped us with a reservation at a gastro pub (the enterprise, try it!!) the price is impossible to beat for the location and I wouldn't stay anywhere else next time

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This place is unbelievable. Our room was so small that we had to take it in turns to walk around the bed!! It was like going back in time. Old, shabby, need of a paint lift, cramped, unwelcoming etc etc. The bathroom had plaster peeling off the ceiling, taps were grubby, plug broken, shower didn't work properly, paint work chipped, table in room stained, bed frayed in areas and long strips of black nylon fabric spreading on floor!! Bedding creased and old, wardrobe falling apart. Say no more.

But, TV working and the towels were clean.

The website for Chelsea Cloisters needs to point out that these are serviced apartments/rooms and not show modern and chic accommodation. Their web site is misleading and they could get in trouble under the "trade descriptions act".

I will leave it there. We had no alternative to stay as it was late at night but people beware if you decide to stay here. It is not what you expect and see on the web site.

Alison from Reading

Room Tip: don't go there unless you are prepared to "rough it"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Good size studio with comfortable bed and nice new towels in the bathroom. Location is good and that's about it. Everything is old and dated. None of their debit or credit card machines were working which was frustrating. I didn't like the fact that payment had to be made in one of their back offices and not at the reception desk. If you're travelling on your own, it's not comfortable to know that they want you to go somewhere in the back of the building for payment. Everyone can get in and out of the building as there is absolutely no control. It was okay for a few days, but I am not going back and am certainly not recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had to work in central London for 5 days and this place is unbeatable for location; just off the Kings Road and near tons of restaurants, cafe's and coffee shops, a petrol station, great shops including a good Waitrose, M&S, Sainsbury's and two good tube stations (South Ken and Sloane Square). These are serviced flats so you have the luxury of a small kitchenette which is great for being self sufficient in what can be a very expensive city. The bathroom and kitchen were very dated however, but the flat was comfortable and in the centre of London, a luxury for the money quite frankly. There were excellent local pubs too and a good brasserie called The Red House - all within an easy walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in Chelsea Cloisters for 7 days on a trip to London. We had a two-bedroom apartment which was spacious and well-equipped. It had a separate living room, a small kitchen with fridge and a washing machine, and two bathrooms.

The best thing about the Cloisters is its location. It is 5 minutes from the Tube, close to the museums, and Harrods is 10 minutes away in case you like to shop expensively. There is a food store a few steps away, several restaurants nearby including two in the building, and the Admiral Codrington pub is just a short walk across the street.

And the staff were very pleasant and helpful, holding our luggage for us and getting our room ready earlier than the 3 pm checkin time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

These apartments are superbly located in Chelsea, just a short walk fromt he South Kensington tube station. The street is also quiet and has some interesting shops and restaurants.
The apartment I stayed in was privately owned by a lovely woman who was excellent to communicate with in the months leading up to my stay. For a very large complex, the apartment was very quiet. The corridors are very narrow and you do hear doors slaming quite frequently but once inside my flat, it was great.
Excellent facilities with shower and a bath plus toiletries, and great towels! The bed was very comfortable as well. The kitchen was fully equipped and there was even some food in the cupboards.

I had a great week revisiting places I love and other places. The complex is so close to the Natural History Museum, the Victoria and Albert and Freddie Mercury's former house.

My only gripe was the central heating which was far too high. I stewed at night and had to put the fan on and/or open the windows. Luckily there was little or no courtyard noise .

These apartments are great value compared with tiny hotel rooms. I will return.

Room Tip: Facing inwards and higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Cloisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Cloisters

Address: Sloane Avenue, London SW3 3DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Cloisters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chelsea Cloisters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Cloisters London, England
Chelsea Cloisters Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Cloisters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.