We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget basic but everything you need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Guest House

Save Saved
You added Chelsea Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Guest House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   372 Wandsworth Road, London SW8 4TE, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #527 of 1,073 hotels in London
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Budget basic but everything you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on 7th November as my daughter was going to brixton academy. The hotel was as advertised except they don't show anywhere that it will cost you an extra £20 to park for the night. I did try to confirm the parking before our trip but there was no response and when I complained at reception they did at least offer a reduced rate. The room was good, very clean and spacious but the zebra crossing outside our window was a bit annoying. It's a bit of a hike to the nearest tube station but the buses are frequent and stop right outside the hotel. All in all I would recommend it, good value as long as you don't expect anything too fancy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Reception at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Judi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Chelsea Guest House, your comments have been noted and we will work to improve our guest experience. We will look into why your query was not answered and make sure this does not happen again as we do aim to respond to all emails within 24 hours.

With many guests coming to enjoy the wonderful shows at the O2 Brixton Academy, we try to offer a straightforward service that gives our clients a cosy bed to rest and a welcoming atmosphere in preparation for the show. Our staff are always happy to point the easiest way to and from the hotel to the O2 Academy.


We hope that your daughter enjoyed the concert and that you had a lovely time as well. We thank you once again for your review and hope that we will hear from you again on the next occasion.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Paul
Customer Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    117
    66
    23
    12
See reviews for
27
76
43
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Friendly reception staff who were very helpful.
No hot water though, i had to have a cold one after 45 minutes of waiting and 2 trips to reception for my boyfriend. They said they had sorted it but this was at 10pm and we had an event to go to that we were already late for. Tap in the bathroom wouldn't turn off either.
The next morning my boyfriend was having a shower when the hot water gave up again and went freezing cold.
Clean room and VERY comfy bed but bed was just placed in the centre of the room.
Overall not bad for the price, would stay again in a different room though.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Jess R,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your visit to Chelsea Guest House, we are always trying to improve the experience of our guests and your input is very important for that.

We do apologize for the issue you had in regards to the hot water during your stay. Firstly may I point out that this is not usual for the guest house at all, and we have now discovered the reason for this was due to a failure in the boiler system.
However I am now pleased to say that this issue is now fully resolved, though we did have to call in professionals to deal with the issue, which is why, although they tried their best to resolve the issue, it was something beyond the receptionists control to fix the problem themselves.

We are pleased to see that you did enjoy your visit with us, and this minor issue will not deter you from visiting us once again. We are well underway on making major improvement throughout the guest house, including our guest rooms and hope you will return to enjoy these changes.

We once again thank you for posting a review and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit to the city.


Kindest Regards,

Danielle Mort
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in Oct. 2013 in twin room No. 2 in basement. No noisier than you would expect from any London Hotel.
Lovely warm reception from staff, knowledgeable and friendly. Asked for extra pillows after 1st. night. They were in our room when we got back from breakfast.
Good information booklet. All bus routes timetables etc. seemed accurate.
Could have done with info on where to turn on electricity for shower & kettle without having to search, but it was obvious in the end.
Accommodation split into 2 guest houses. Ours was in the one with no reception, which caused no problems whatsoever.
Work is ongoing to refurbish both guest houses. Again, no problems with work..no noise or disruption of any kind.
Ours was a newly refurbished room. Compact, but what do you expect at budget prices, yet plenty big enough for 2 of us. Very clean. Rooms tidied every day and shower room cleaned & clean towels brought every day.
Water in shower drained very slowly, which made me a bit nervous that the tray was going to overflow, but it never did.
Plenty Shower gel & shampoo provided. Kettle provided and tea, coffee, milk & biscuits topped up every day. Hairdryer provided. Plenty sockets. Big TV. Both rooms warm, in fact we had to turn down heating. Windows opened & closed easily.
Excellent breakfast served in local cafe about 2 mins walk away. Too much to eat! Served quickly and hot by lovely owners, who were very polite and remembered us each morning. Breakfast set us up for the day which saved us alot of money on snacks!
Bus stop to Whitehall (Central area) almost outside the door (No. 87 bus) and return bus stop just across the road. Buses to Notting Hill Market, Harrods, Clapham Junction, from outside Guest House. Vauxhall Bus Station just a few stops away for Camden Market, Coven Garden, Tower of London and all the usual sights, so couldn't be more convenient. We didn't use tube, but station was just opposite the breakfast cafe.
Free wifi a great bonus. Able to skype Australia from the room.
Area OK but eat before you get back in the evening as there are no decent Take away or food shops really. Pub on the corner ( slightly down road) looked good but we didn't use.
Would DEFINITELY reccommend and will use again

Room Tip: Obviously the newly refurbished rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Reception at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear MarieT M,

Thank you for offering us such a thorough review of your stay at Chelsea Guest House, and taking time from your day to do so.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you've been so awarding with your description.

Firstly, I'd like to say that we are glad to see that you've made full use of the fantastic bus links that are close to the hotel. The tube can be very tiring and both the 87 and the 452 offer great sights if you choose to visit Central or West London, and can get you there within just 15 minutes.
We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and would mention that our staff do have a few recommendations for take-aways and restaurants close by that you can use, if you pop down to reception. As for the pubs, while there is one close by, a short walk to Clapham High Street will give you a wealth of choice for pubs, bars and clubs that can suit any needs.

We will continue to work hard and continuously raise the bar for customer service and comfort so we hope we'll have the chance to make an even better second impression on your next visit to London.

Until then, we thank you once again for your review and wish you all the best!

Kind regards,
Paul
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rovereto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

People you get better option in London. The room was alla to ne fixed. The sink was leaking and the tap impossible to tight. The TV channels was not working. The bedroom smell awful. The location is far away from the city. I give 2 stars just for the courtesy of the staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Slyfly,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review about Chelsea Guest House.

I am sorry to hear you did not find the guest house to your likings. We are always striving to improve our services we offer to our guests including our rooms, and as you may have seen, we are currently undergoing some renovations to the guest house, to ensure we are keeping our guests needs and requests our priority.

We always ask our guests on check in to return to the reception if there is anything that they need , any directions or information they may require or if they have any issues regarding their stay with us, and we always do our best to rectify any issues our guests may have, I am sorry that you did not take advantage of this during your stay, as perhaps we could have amended the issues you had during your stay.

Our priority is our guests, and ensuring they have a wonderful and relaxing stay with us on their visit to London, which is just a short 15 minute bus ride away to the center of the magnificent city and sights, and with a 24 hour bus service that runs every 5-10 minutes.

We do hope this has not deterred you from staying with us again, and for future reservations, if you contact the hotel directly, we may be able to upgrade your room to one of our newly refurbished rooms.


Kindest Regards,

Danielle Mort
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We are living in London and when my family has visited me from abroad, they have stayed at the Chelsea Guest House.
The location is not the most touristy one but you can easily walk to the Stockwell or Clapham North Stations and you have many buses passing just on Wandsworth road.
The hotel doesnt open until 2pm which is a bit surprising as they dont even open the doors (you have your own key once you have signed in) but the rest of very good.
The refurbished rooms are lovely, clean, nice bathrooms, tea and coffee etc.
The reception people are nice and you can book a minicab form them at very resonable prices.
I would recommand this hotel as I have been recommanding it to my family and friends and have put it already in the list of hotels recommanded for my wedding next year.

Room Tip: Get the refurbished rooms which are much nicer than the old ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Lucile L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We have been refurbishing some of our rooms recently to a higher standard, taking comments and suggestions from our guests with reviews such as yours, so we really do appreciate and value your feedback on our efforts.

We believe being in the area we are, enables us to offer more competitive rates to our guests, and with easy transport links from the hotel, you can be in the centre of the city within 15 minutes.

Our reception is open 24 hours a day Monday-Saturday and only on Sundays does the reception open from 3pm, however there is always a member of the team on hand should any of our guests need assistance during the period of the reception being closed.

We are pleased to see you do and will recommend us to your family and friends, and we are more than happy to be hosting your wedding guests for your big day next year, by which time I am sure we will have more rooms refurbished for your guests to enjoy their time even more with us.

We do hope to see you again soon, and wish you all the best. If we can be of any help with making reservations for any of your guests, if you ask them to call us direct and we will gladly help them.


Kindest Regards,

Danielle Mort
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I recently arranged accommodation at this hotel for staff members and must say the communication and friendliness of the staff was evident from the moment I sent the first e mail.

The staff members inform me the hotel was very good, friendly and quick to check in. Very good price for the location, will definitely use again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Operations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Tracieo,

Thank you kindly for taking the time from your schedule to write a review about Chelsea Guest House.

We are always so pleased to hear from our business guests, as we rarely get the opportunity to read such welcoming reviews from them, as we understand how busy our working lives can be, so taking the time to write a review is so very much appreciated.

Our reception team, is always on hand 24 hours a day to respond to emails and calls from our guests, and we always aim to respond as quickly as possible as we know time is of the essence when making reservations for leisure and business stays alike.

We want our guests to ensure they feel welcomed and their business valued, from the first point of contact with the guest house, to the minute they check-out and even longer after so, ensuring we follow up with any suggestions or comments the guests make to us during their stay.

We are so glad you, and your staff members enjoyed the Chelsea Guest House, and we are looking forward to working with you once again.

I wish you all the best and look forward to speaking with you soon.


Kindest Regards,

Danielle Mort
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I recently took part in the Shine Marathon marathon round London, and wanted somewhere to leave my bags before the walk - and sleep for a couple of hours afterwards!

The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming, and when I rang with a couple of queries, they reassured me completely within a couple of minutes.

They had prepared a map from the guest house to Battersea Power Station (where the marathon started from), which was a really nice touch.

The room was compact, clean and comfortable - everything I needed. The bed was comfortable (although an extra pillow would have been nice, but not essential!), the shower was excellent and I had everything I needed.

Thanks to the Chelsea - I shall definitely be booking again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Guest H... L, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for writing this lovely review of your stay at Chelsea Guest House, we hope the Marathon went well and that you had a nice time. We’ve had a number of guests this year participating in the Shine event and always love to see dedicated people participate in such a worthy sporting event.
We prepared the map in preparation and if we had known that you wished an extra pillow, we would have been more than happy to offer it, as I’m sure after the long night, you wanted the extra comfort. As you’ve seen, our staff is very accommodating in that sense and is always happy to help.
We thank you once again for taking the time to rate your stay and look forward to see you again, either for next year’s Shine or any other occasion.
Best regards,
Paul
Customer Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Guest House

Address: 372 Wandsworth Road, London SW8 4TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chelsea Guest House. Chelsea Guest House is conveniently located close to Central London and closer still to the famous and bustling Clapham where you can enjoy the selection of stylish independent boutiques, bars and restaurants on offer to suit every taste and budget. After your long day's sightseeing, a trip to the theatre, shopping or perhaps a visit to the vibrant night-life on offer in London, come back and relax in our warm and friendly guest house where your comfortable bed and well appointed room awaits. Our staff ensure excellent all round hospitality and service. Chelsea is hotel accommodation near to London's finest theatres of the West End, Brixton Academy for music concerts and shopping of the Kings Road and Kensington High Street.So enjoy the convenient location, special comfort and incredible value of the Chelsea Guest House. Contact us directly for special seasonal packages and offers! We look forward to seeing you soon.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chelsea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Guest House Hotel London
Chelsea Hotel London
Chelsea Guest House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.