We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not exceptional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grange St. Paul's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grange St. Paul's Hotel to your Saves list
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Godliman Street, London EC4V 5AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Tweed Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good, but not exceptional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

There's nothing especially wrong with this hotel, in fact they get a lot right. I'd stay there again but would probably look around for other options first just to make sure there's nothing better.

Good
- beds are comfy and blackout curtains are excellent. It's great for sleeping
- the gym/spa is top notch for a hotel gym with free weights, pool, jacuzzi etc
- free wireless internet that works okay
- staff were friendly
- business centre equipment worked sufficiently
- good location

Not Great
- phone reception is TERRIBLE in the rooms, makes it tough if you are there on business
- room service food was horrible, but I guess it is everywhere so it's not a big deal to me
- shower tried to be fancy but in reality was just annoying and didn't work properly
- auto-charge minibar so you can't use the fridge
- Japanese restaurant never had enough teppanyaki chefs on staff. Tried to eat there twice, ended up not bothering a third time.

Room Tip: Ask them if any rooms have good phone reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    836
    295
    122
    79
See reviews for
252
1,053
124
603
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is my fifth visit to Grange St Pauls and again I remain impressed. I have yet to find a fault with the hotel, such as a tap not working, a towel rail not working, which says something for the attention to detail which makes any hotel exceptional.

The rooms, even the most basic ones, are very well appointed and have the slippers and gowns which make a huge difference to a stay. A basic room will be spacious, extremely clean, well decorated without any signs of wear, and will be as comfortable as any 5 star hotel. The "executive" rooms (Oh I hate that term, executive) are better.

I love the pool area and could happily spend lots of time there as it is so inviting. It is spotlessly clean and is not so busy as to be unpleasant.

The staff are attentive, and one point I appreciate is that if they can upgrade you, they will. Its not a matter of booking a room and thats what you get.

Its location cannot be bettered for the City of London. Its a fair walk to the West End if thats where you want to go, but for the City it is in THE prime location. I have enjoyed many late night walks from this hotel to the millenium bridge ( which is very close, just a few hundred meters away)

Just a small point, but possibly an important one - the rooms have glass walls, but no one can see in as they are mirrored glass - you can see out but no one can see in......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

While not as lavish as some other 5* places, the Grange is a very pleasant modern place. the atrium is impressive and despite the size even in January remained pleasantly wrm (similar places can be cold and draughty!).

The Standard Room was good with very comfortable bed. I'd have liked the option to have goose down pillows as the rubbery synthetic filled ones were not that pleasant. There is a pleasant seating area, though by standards of other similar hotels, the TV was a bit small. Curtains were padded and cut out all sound and light from outside, though this is a very quiet area of the city, especially at weekends.

The breakfast staff were variable, and on a couple of mornings it seemed impossible to get a pot of tea (language problems!) and had to make do with slightly stewed from a jug. Otherwise good choices.

The pool and spa was good, clean and well maintained with possibly the steamiest steam room I've been in! I didn't take advantage of the Hammam but was intrigues - perhaps next time.

I'd definitely stay again if I need to be in that part of town again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I were very impressed with the hotel. It's location is fantastic, right opposite St Paul's Cathedral. We booked the hotel through Secret Hotels on lastminute.com and we received a standard double room which was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. The huge bed was very comfortable and we both slept soundly despite being on the ground floor as it was so quiet. We also had access to the spa which was fantastic! There is a pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. It was bliss and we highly recommend it.

We cannot comment on the breakfast as it was not included in our booking and it was an additional £25 per person if we wished to add it to our booking. We did not pay this as we deemed it far too much to pay for breakfast.

My only criticism throughout our stay would be the 'croque-monsieur' sandwich I ordered from room service. It was awful. It was tasteless and looked completely unappealing! We had to send it straight back and it was taken off our bill.

Overall, we had a great experience and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband surprised me here for our anniversary. Had a great night, gorgeous hotel, the staff were really helpful and kind. They tried to upgrade us when they realised it was our anniversary, but unfortunately there was nothing better, however my husband said they had already upgraded us to the room we were in, so went out of their way to help.

We also got a delivery of a chocolate platter to our room, which was a really thoughtful touch. The curtains were nice and dark so a great sleep, would 100% recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here midweek for business and on a deal rate of £169 excluding breakfast.
Room had beautiful curtains and fixtures, but was visible to the office across the road. Tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary bathroom products were of a high standard. Bathroom of good quality and clean. Room itself an average size for central London.
Evening meal was of good quality and average price, but both restaurants are over downstairs bars. One was full of EMEA sales personnel and the other of normal evening business people making upstairs dining quite noisy. Breakfast at £23 was expensive and pastries, though kept hot were dried out. Signing out involved a long queue with only two persons on reception at the morning prime check out time. I would not stay here at full price and would not purchase the additional breakfast again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing over the internal atrium are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Booked via last minute.com as last minute trip, access to spa, robes and slippers provided in room, great location, didn't have breakfast in here. Great room newly refurbished, great view. Comfy bed, great nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange St. Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange St. Paul's Hotel

Address: 10 Godliman Street, London EC4V 5AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in London
#176 Romantic Hotel in London
#188 Luxury Hotel in London
#200 Business Hotel in London
#260 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange St. Paul's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a sophisticated blend of contemporary style and modern flair, the stunning Grange St. Paul’s Hotel sets new standards for luxury and elegance. Perfectly located in the heart of the City’s financial district yet just moments from the myriad delights of London’s renowned West End, the Grange St. Paul’s provides a perfect venue for any visit to the capital. Deluxe bedrooms and suites provide the ultimate in understated elegance and luxury, whilst a spectacular glass Atrium holds an unrivalled selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grange St. Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange St Pauls Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange St. Paul's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.