We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and trendy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Hyde Park International to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52-55 Inverness Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3LB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 2 NIGHTS GET 10% OFF
Ranked #391 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and trendy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Very friendly staff. We stayed at a deluxe-room (don't quite remember the name.. Deluxe or Club or something...) The room was very small. A BIG bed, widescreen TV, refridge, nice bathroom. It felt very luxurios. 10 min to subway/buses. They do not serve breakfast, a drawback.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    352
    144
    65
    81
See reviews for
87
445
116
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

What a surprise, like many other reviewers, we were also transferred to another hotel in this chain because of 'maintenance issues'.We felt like second hand citizens, when there were clearly other guests booking in and out. Surely, the management of this chain must realise that they are causing their customers stress and anxiety, rather than making their stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible.
We will not be booking a stay with this chain ever again as we felt that they clearly put their own interests above their customers welfare Apart from the unhelpful staff, who are only doing what they have been told, we are unable to comment on this hotel.
The hotel we were sent to had a bedroom no bigger than a cupboard, but at least everything was clean. When asked,The receptionist confirmed with a nod, that they often bail the other hotels out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Completely agree with Travelmate44.

I waited for 40 minutes for them to find my booking because the guest list they had at the hotel reception was not updated and they had to call the reservation center several times to confirm the details but the process was extremely slow. Eventually they found my booking but I had to be moved to another hotel in their group which was 5 minutes away because they didn't have any available rooms. It was so frustrated because it was really late at night and the staff was extremely unhelpful (with a reluctant attitude). I would never recommend anyone to stay in this hotel (or any hotels that 's under their group).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

AVOID THIS HOTEL and any in their group of hotels. They take your booking and when you turn up they advise there is plumbing or booking problem and you will have to be moved to an alternative hotel in their group (one that is in a worse location). I had read that this happens on other customer reviews when making my booking online but didn't believe it until it happened to me. Another guest checking in same time as I did advised me they do this all the time and she was use to it. So, unless you are prepared to stay anywhere in London other than the hotel you have booked, you should avoid this place and advise your friends to do likewise. You have been warned. ; )

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Stayed here on abusiness trip and received a great rate on Hotwire for this hotel. Rooms are small but that is to be expected in London. Nice room, free WIFI and friendly staff. Did not experience any hotel swapping that others complained about even when they only found one of my two rooms. The just fixed the issue and found me another room.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

I read the reveiws in trip advisor about this hotel and the problems some previos writers had with them sending them to another hotel.
To prevent this I booked dirsct on their website, On arrival the receptionist was one the phone to their reservations dept and made us wait, we heard our names being mentioned during the conversation and said to hear thats us,She ignored us and carried on.The upshot was we were informed we were being moved to anothe hotel,
EVEN AFTER WE SAID WE WERE RUNNING LATE FOR A CONCERT WE HAD FLOWN TO LONDON TO ATTEND. The upshot was we were delayed so much we only caught the last part of the concert. The hotel she sent us to was a sister hotel in Piccadily circus,
This hotel was nothing like a four star more 2 star Bottem line for me never ever again BE WARNED

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I booked one Club Double room for seven nights at Inverness Terrace through Booking.com in February ‘10. As my wife and I are both seniors, I called up the Hotel to allot us a room on the ground floor to avoid usage of lifts. Last year we had a harrowing experience at their Shaftesbury Notting Hill Hotel due to break down of lifts and we spent our vacation sitting in our room and changing Hotels.
After Check-in, a tiny and dark Deluxe room was being passed off as a Club Room on the ground floor. We had no option but to take the Club room on the third floor which was very small. The room did not have a Fridge although Booking.com specifically mentions this in the Room Amenities section for this 4 star property.
On fifth day our worst fears came true when the lift broke down. This appears to be a perennial problem with Shaftesbury Hotels. We requested for a change of room as no one in the Hotel knew when the lift would be repaired. After much persuasion we were allotted a Deluxe room on the ground floor although we had paid for a Club room.
I did not have a very pleasant experience therefore would not recommend this property. The only good part is its location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shaftesbury Hyde Park International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Hyde Park International

Address: 52-55 Inverness Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#263 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Business Hotel in London
#394 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Hyde Park International 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Shaftesbury Hyde Park International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel London
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.