We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Hyde Park International to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52-55 Inverness Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3LB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 2 NIGHTS GET 10% OFF
Ranked #390 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Paris, France
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I come all the way from Australia.
When I stay in London, I always stay at the Shaftesbury!
Excellent location, friendly & efficient staff!
Rooms are on a smaller scale, but everything you need is there.

Only problem is I never want to leave!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarshf, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your positive feedback.

For us is very important to know how our guest's feel, as our entire team is working very hard to achieve higher percentage of guest satisfaction at all levels.

We will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team & your motivating & encouraging feedback will act as a benchmark for us to maintain at all times.

Once again, thank you very much for your time & we look forward to serve you soon in the near future.

At any future visit to our hotel feel more than welcome to contact me on the below email address,so I can arrange your stay.

With Regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    353
    145
    65
    81
See reviews for
88
445
116
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Algarve
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

From check in to check out this hotel is excellent. Every member of staff I encountered had a smile and asked if everything was ok and could they do anything else.
Reception area modern and welcoming.
Room was comfortable,clean and well equipped.
Ample breakfast, cheerful dining area and friendly staff.
Location is superb.Very short walk to all kinds of shops,tube stations and buses.
As a single female traveller I felt comfortable and safe in the area.
Top marks for manager Mr Mandar Dhagie and his staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarshf, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are especially happy to know that the location made a great impact on you.

I can assure you that your comments will not only motivate our team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service you have come to expect.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shaftesbury Hyde Park International in the near future.


With kindest regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel is spotlessly clean. Very nice decorated. The rooms although a little smallerthan other hotels rooms, had all the facilities we needed and we were laid out. Breakfast was plentiful and presented very nicely. The staff are friendly, polite and cannot do enough to help and best of service. Best service highly recommended and just 10 to 15 minutes walk from paddington station.

Room Tip: Higher floor with front side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarshf, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback.

For us is very important to know how our guest's feel, as our entire team is working very hard to achieve higher percentage of guest satisfaction at all levels.

We will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team & your motivating & encouraging feedback will act as a benchmark for us to maintain at all times.

Once again, thank you very much for your time & we look forward to serve you soon in the near future.

At any future visit to our hotel feel more than welcome to contact me on the below email address,so I can arrange your stay.

With Regards

Mandar Dhage.
dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is my first stay at the Shaftesbury Hyde park International and I can honestly say that quality of experiences is amazing. Special thanks to all staff who made are stay outstanding. Thank you for lovely experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarshf, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Hyde Park International for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Hyde Park International was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury HydePark International.

Warm Regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great place to stay really handy for the central line, 3 mins from queensway and only a minute from bayswater, District and circle line.....

smallish rooms but a really good standard, nice and clean, bathrooms are great, flat screen tv and handy for shops

stay here a lot great for work and tourists

Room Tip: Try to get a club room has additional space and a microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarshf, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback ,it was indeed a great pleasure for us to serve you.

With such comments encourage us to perform even better and excel in our service.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again in a near future.l

Regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed at hotel with my friends for few days. The hotel was located in very nice area and closed to two tube station. The room was very clean and modern. The staff was friendly and helpful all the time. I will defiantly stay here next time whenever I am in London

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarshf, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are especially happy to know that the location made a great impact on you.

I can assure you that your comments will not only motivate our team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service you have come to expect.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shaftesbury Hyde Park International in the near future.


With kindest regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in January 2014. On the plus side, it was clean. Its location close to two tube stations was very useful.
On the other hand, it was relatively expensive, all the more so when you realized what you were paying for. Our room was tiny. The double bed meant no room for anything else. It was extremely difficult to access the wardrobe or the window. There was nowhere to sit. It was cramped beyond belief. I have seen bathrooms in many hotels that are bigger than the this bedroom.
The noise was another matter. The elevator was either old or badly maintained -- it was very noisy and it 'pinged' very loudly as it arrived. We could hear it throughout the early part of the night. Equally we could hear other guests and staff as they arrived, often noisily, to their rooms.I was awoken at about 7.30 am one morning by staff working in the room opposite.
The room was also quite cold. The thin duvet, clearly designed for summer use, provided little protection against a cold London winter. We could not get the AC to provide any heat.
Two other negatives in the room : a printed dire warning as to additional costs that would be incurred if the room required extra cleaning was left on the nightstand and a plug-in air freshener, hidden behind the top of the mattress. The latter is a nasty surprise, particularly for anyone prone to asthma.
The dining room served a reasonable breakfast, but a lot of steps had to be traversed to get there - it is in the basement. Food was fine, but a limited choice. Tables were - surprise, surprise - very small and barely adequate for two.
The reception area was adorned with a beautiful floating flower arrangement. Some English language newspapers were provided. The couches were just about adequate for sitting on while waiting but did not encourage a leisurely read of the newspaper.
In summary this hotel was clean and served its purpose, centrally located. While ideal for those who will be out for the entire day and need only some place to sleep, it is passable but at a hefty price. It is essentially overpriced. A dedicated bijou hotel, far far smaller than anything I have ever come across before, it has a price tag of a much larger chain. Unless you are completely stuck, avoid -- you will find much much better value elsewhere while still being very close to the action in London. Cost brings it from poor to terrible.

Room Tip: Preferably go someplace else. If stuck, insist on a lift far away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarshf, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to forward your feedback which will be of great help to us in order to improve our service & standard level.

Your comments have been taken on a serious note and we sincerely apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you due to the unpleasant experiences you had. Please do write to me on the below mentioned email address and kindly let me know the booking details or room number you stayed in. I will ensure the flaws noticed in this particular room are rectified.

We do hope to make your future stay a pleasant one and request you to give us another opportunity to restore your faith in the ShaftesburyHyde Park International.

With Regards

Mandar Dhage.
dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Hyde Park International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Hyde Park International

Address: 52-55 Inverness Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#263 Luxury Hotel in London
#277 Business Hotel in London
#392 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Hyde Park International 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Shaftesbury Hyde Park International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel London
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.