We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent 4* hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Hyde Park International to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52-55 Inverness Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3LB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 2 NIGHTS GET 10% OFF
Ranked #395 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Decent 4* hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Friendly welcome at a clean and well presented hotel. We had a deluxe double room for two nights. Room was extremely small but had everything we needed. A stones throw from Bayswater tube station and a short walk from Kensington Gardens ideally located in a fairly quite street, although next door was a lower budget hotel which seemed to attract stags/hens and a little further down from a hostel which did get a little noisy at times. Breakfast was decent enough, not much else to say. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia R, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for staying at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International.

Our wish is to make your stay memorable in every way. Your comments provide us with the information we need to maintain our high level of service ,and will be shared among our staff.

Looking forward to serve you once again in a near future, feel more than free to contact me prior to your next visit .

Patricia Rodrigues
dutymanager.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    353
    145
    66
    81
See reviews for
89
446
116
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Deciding on a family mini break in London including a child of 8 months we wanted a convenient location to allow walking to the places we wanted to visit so we booked 3 rooms. Knightsbridge, Regents Park Zoo and Oxford Street are all a comfortable and pleasant 30/40 minute walk away. Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park minutes away from the hotel. Queensway and Bayswater Underground stations a few minutes walk and a good selection of restaurants offering a variety of cuisines very close by. The hotel was very clean and well run. Only disappointment were that the rooms were smaller than expected but we did not plan to spend too much time in the rooms anyhow. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are rather small, club rooms are manageable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia R, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest thank you so much for your positive feedback.

For us is very important to know how our guest's feel, as our entire team is working very hard to achieve higher percentage of guest satisfaction at all levels.

We will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team & your motivating & encouraging feedback will act as a benchmark for us to maintain at all times.

Once again, thank you very much for your time & we look forward to serve you soon in the near future.


With Regards
Patricia Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Highly recommended. Clean rooms, friendly staff, very good breakfast. Great location for exploring the sites of the city, very close to bayswater station. We found all staff very friendly and helpful at all time. Room bit small but very clean and bright

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia R, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Shaftesbury Hyde Park International .

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us ,and the services provided by our team.

Such feedbacks will certainly boost us to maintain the high level of service ,which we always aim to all our valued customers.

We look forward to welcome you in near future again and feel free to contact us.

Warm Regards

Patricia Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haderslev, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel itself is nice, clean and well kept... rooms are a bit small but serve their purpose if you only have to sleep there... Close to 2 tube stations so it is also very convenient concerning transport. The downside is that it's quite noisy since it is located next to a youth hostel or 2...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia R, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Hyde Park International for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Hyde Park International was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury HydePark International.

Warm Regards
Patricia Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

After reading others reviews we were a bit worried that we would be sent to another hotel but that did not happen. :-)

Very modern reception with staff 24/7. Fast check-in with helpful staff. Good chocolate in the reception for guests. Our room was 006 and it was a club-room and with good space and a big bed, a wardrobe, boiler with coffee/tea, hairdryer, microwave and plates, a safe with your own code which you choose, a nice bathroom with toilet and shower, AC in both room and bathroom, TV.

Our room got cleaned every day, that's very nice because I have some bacteria-phobia. It was overall a very clean room.

The hotel has a very good location and a lot of other hotels. Both Bayswater station and queensway-station is very close. Busses very close.
The surrounding area has EVERYTHING. There's a mall called Whiteleys where you can find shopping and cinema. Starbucks close to the hotel, also mc Donald's, Burger King, subway and Pizza Hut. I really recommend Pizza Hut in this area.

The free wifi is not good at all, very low and looses connection a lot. The hotel-info promises a lot of tv-channels but most of them are not working.

We did not eat anything at the hotel but you can pay 12 pounds for breakfast-buffet.

Overall a good stay and very nice hotel!

Room Tip: Our room was 006 and its on main floor, kinda noisy if you're sensitive. You can hear the underg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia R, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International.

Our wish is to make your stay memorable in every way. Your comments provide us with the information we need to maintain our high level of service ,and will be shared among our staff.

Looking forward to serve you once again in a near future, feel more than free to contact me prior to your next visit .

Patricia Rodrigues
dutymanager.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Since is it very expensive to stay anywhere in London, you get quite a bit for what you pay for here. It's a really good location, one block from the Baywater stop and two blocks from Queensway. So getting around from here is easy, but the I wasn't overly impressed with the restaurants in the area but I found myself usually somewhere else for meals. We stayed in a nice, clean room but nothing good for a view (however, you don't come to London to look out your hotel room window). Cleaning service is good, and they always make sure you don't need anything if you miss service times. Our room size was reasonable size, considering it's London. We could easily fit both suitcases under the tv, there was a full sized armoire for hang ups and we could easily walk on either side on the bed. We were on the second floor, which is called the 1st floor. We could very faintly here the tube, but it never disrupted us or our sleeping. Nice friendly staff, however, we didn't really have any issues that needed dealing with, which I guess is a good sign. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone staying in London for pleasure or business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia R, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment .

Our wish is to make your stay memorable in every way. Your comments provide us with the information we need to maintain our high level of service ,and will be shared among our staff.

Looking forward to serve you once again in a near future, feel more than free to contact me prior to your next visit .

Patricia Rodrigues
dutymanager.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was pretty confusing to find when walking from the Tube station, as the road in which it's located is full of many hotels and B&Bs. When we arrived, we were asked to wait as it was slightly earlier than the check-in time of 2pm. This was okay as we were not charged extra for early check-in. Also, they have delicious dark chocolate on the front desk...
The room itself was much smaller than the website photos imply (virtually no space to walk around the bed), but still nicely furnished. Very modern and clean. The coffee was very nice. Nearly had an accident when trying to step out of the shower which is located over the bath, as the bath is quite high and it is very easy to fall when trying to climb out - no handrails to hold onto; possibly a lawsuit waiting to happen. There was also no space whatsoever around the bathroom basin, so we had to leave toothbrushes on the shelf above the toilet. The loo paper is also in a very non-ergonomically effective location.
Anyway, we stayed here because we attended an event at Hyde Park, so it was really convenient. Also walked past a Waitrose on the way back, which stayed open quite late. Don't know whether we would stay here again, though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia R, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment .

Our wish is to make your stay memorable in every way. Your comments provide us with the information we need to maintain our high level of service ,and will be shared among our staff.

Looking forward to serve you once again in a near future, feel more than free to contact me prior to your next visit .

Patricia Rodrigues
dutymanager.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Hyde Park International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Hyde Park International

Address: 52-55 Inverness Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#264 Luxury Hotel in London
#276 Business Hotel in London
#389 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Hyde Park International 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Shaftesbury Hyde Park International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel London
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.