We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International

Save Saved
You added Shaftesbury Hyde Park International to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52-55 Inverness Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3LB, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #420 of 1,073 hotels in London
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Since is it very expensive to stay anywhere in London, you get quite a bit for what you pay for here. It's a really good location, one block from the Baywater stop and two blocks from Queensway. So getting around from here is easy, but the I wasn't overly impressed with the restaurants in the area but I found myself usually somewhere else for meals. We stayed in a nice, clean room but nothing good for a view (however, you don't come to London to look out your hotel room window). Cleaning service is good, and they always make sure you don't need anything if you miss service times. Our room size was reasonable size, considering it's London. We could easily fit both suitcases under the tv, there was a full sized armoire for hang ups and we could easily walk on either side on the bed. We were on the second floor, which is called the 1st floor. We could very faintly here the tube, but it never disrupted us or our sleeping. Nice friendly staff, however, we didn't really have any issues that needed dealing with, which I guess is a good sign. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone staying in London for pleasure or business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia R, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment .

Our wish is to make your stay memorable in every way. Your comments provide us with the information we need to maintain our high level of service ,and will be shared among our staff.

Looking forward to serve you once again in a near future, feel more than free to contact me prior to your next visit .

Patricia Rodrigues
dutymanager.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    270
    122
    62
    76
See reviews for
78
373
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was pretty confusing to find when walking from the Tube station, as the road in which it's located is full of many hotels and B&Bs. When we arrived, we were asked to wait as it was slightly earlier than the check-in time of 2pm. This was okay as we were not charged extra for early check-in. Also, they have delicious dark chocolate on the front desk...
The room itself was much smaller than the website photos imply (virtually no space to walk around the bed), but still nicely furnished. Very modern and clean. The coffee was very nice. Nearly had an accident when trying to step out of the shower which is located over the bath, as the bath is quite high and it is very easy to fall when trying to climb out - no handrails to hold onto; possibly a lawsuit waiting to happen. There was also no space whatsoever around the bathroom basin, so we had to leave toothbrushes on the shelf above the toilet. The loo paper is also in a very non-ergonomically effective location.
Anyway, we stayed here because we attended an event at Hyde Park, so it was really convenient. Also walked past a Waitrose on the way back, which stayed open quite late. Don't know whether we would stay here again, though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia R, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment .

Our wish is to make your stay memorable in every way. Your comments provide us with the information we need to maintain our high level of service ,and will be shared among our staff.

Looking forward to serve you once again in a near future, feel more than free to contact me prior to your next visit .

Patricia Rodrigues
dutymanager.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cana, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

i stayed in the hotel in june for 2 days the staff was really nice and helpful thoughout the stay and the hotel it self was really clean and the location is quite good but the rooms are quite small. rest everythng was excellent

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia R, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Hyde Park International for your recent visit to London. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at the Shaftesbury Hyde Park International was able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Shaftesbury HydePark International.

Warm Regards
Patricia Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Upon arriving at the Hyde Park International, my fiancé and I were pleasantly surprised by it's beautiful location with a tree lined boulevard and quiet surroundings.
The hotel itself is very clean with an small open and airy reception. We booked through Trivago and Last Minute Travel - check in was quick and effortless. Our room was not yet ready so for our troubles we were upgraded to a club room for free and offered teas and coffees while the room was prepared (It was only 11.30 in the morning).

Our room was small but very modern, not much of a view but you can't have it every way. The bathroom was exceptionally clean and the bed super comfortable.

Breakfast was included and I'll be returning for the sausages alone! Large thick cumberland butcher sausages always go down well. The hotel of course took care of our luggage all the next day and upon returning we stayed for a drink on their sunny front lawn.

All in all, a fantastic hotel which I will use again - 4 minutes walk to Bayswater tube station which is 1 stop from Paddington, you can't get more central than that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front of the hotel, any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia R, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International.

Our wish is to make your stay memorable in every way. Your comments provide us with the information we need to maintain our high level of service ,and will be shared among our staff.

Looking forward to serve you once again in a near future, feel more than free to contact me prior to your next visit .

Patricia Rodrigues
dutymanager.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel room was clean and quiet, the room was a bit on the small side as other reviewers have said, but didn’t matter as only used it as a place to sleep. The bed was comfy, the bathroom clean and modern.

Rates were reasonable for a central London hotel i found a deal on Laterooms.com

The staff were friendly and service good.

Didn't have breakfast at the hotel as it is seriously marked up, so went to the nearby high st and got a coffee and Panini for half the price the hotel would charge.

Many tube stations minutes away, the nearest being Bayswater.

I would use this hotel again if I could find a decent deal on line, very good as close to Hyde park and if you are seeing a concert there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia R, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write in and your patience while we looked into this matter.
it was confirmed that the Shaftesbury Hyde Pak International hotel did suffer a maintenance problem on the day of arrival. Therefore we arranged for an alternative accommodation you. We understand that you were less than satisfied about this and we sincerely apologise for the trouble caused. We have taken the complaint into very serious consideration and have been implementing measures to ensure that we further improve on all our services.

i will appreciate if you could send me your contact detail to dutymanager.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com in order for me to contact you directly and discuss the same in depth.

i understand from your comments that you had a very bad experiance and once again apologize for the same

Regards

Patricia Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Travelled for a concert in Hyde Park. Phoned in the morning to check room was available and they confirmed it was. Reason for calling was that we had read a few reviews stating that when you get there they tell you there is a problems with the rooms and try to ship you out to venues much further away......guess what happened?!! Arrived and was told there was a problem although would not give details and that they were offering us a room in Harrow with taxi to and from. This then changed to Shoreditch. We booked a hotel near Hyde Park to attend the concert and did not have time to travel. We were on the phone to bookings.com with whom we booked and they where able to tell us that the times quoted to travel to the hotels offered would be much greater than quoted.
Despite us calling to confirm AND them having our contact details they made no effort to contact us in advance. Other couples who arrived after us where given rooms as they had apparently checked in earlier.
Had no choice but to book into another hotel around the corner at a premium price due to short notice.
Maybe I would have felt differently if they'd been prepared to show us the problem.....and the other couples at reception at the same time but the lack of transparency made me think this was merely an overbooking issue.
Ruined our trip which we had been saving for for a long time- Thanks.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia R, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time and effort taken to write the review.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that the service has caused you. Please be advised we have taken the feedback seriously and are working out with the Maintenance managers of the hotel to tackle the issue.

Could you please be kind enough to contact me on the below mentioned email address so we could get back to you personally.

We at The Shaftesbury Hyde Park International strive to make sure each and every guest experiences luxury and a wonderful stay.

For any further reservations please do not hesitate to contact me directly at dutymanager.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com

Sincerely
Patricia Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

booked this hotel through booking.com, months before arrival date. we looked the hotel up online, and thought it was the ideal hotel for our travels.as we went to check in, they seemed to have a issue with our room.(MAINTENANCE ISSUE) we thought we had a great deal on the hotel but turned out to be a complete Shambles, we were sent to a completely different hotel 10.8 miles from hyde park.our weekend was ruined by this, as we had a lot of time hanging around waiting for taxi services.not happy with the overall service. advice READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE BOOKING THIS HOTEL!!!!!!!! happens to have lots of MAINTENANCE ISSUES!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia R, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time and effort taken to write the review.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that the service has caused you. Please be advised we have taken the feedback seriously and are working out with the Maintenance managers of the hotel to tackle the issue.

Could you please be kind enough to contact me on the below mentioned email address so we could get back to you personally.

We at The Shaftesbury Hyde Park International strive to make sure each and every guest experiences luxury and a wonderful stay.

For any further reservations please do not hesitate to contact me directly at dutymanager.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com

Sincerely
Patricia Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shaftesbury Hyde Park International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Hyde Park International

Address: 52-55 Inverness Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#258 Luxury Hotel in London
#333 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Hyde Park International 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, WHM Global Ltd., Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Shaftesbury Hyde Park International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel London
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.