We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Hyde Park International to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52-55 Inverness Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3LB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 2 NIGHTS GET 10% OFF
Ranked #391 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were four friends who stayed at this hotel. I have stayed here before and wanted to try this hotel again. We all had a good time at the hotel. The location is perfect, with two tube-lines nearby. It is a 20 min walk to Marble Arch at the end of Oxford str.
The hotel personell is very friendly, and the manager Mr. Mandar is very service-minded. The rooms are small but clean, and give good value for the money. We will definately come back.

Room Tip: The Club rooms are a little bit bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarshf, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,


Many thanks for sharing your very kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Mandar Dhage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    353
    145
    65
    81
See reviews for
88
445
116
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
isreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I needed an hotel at a good location and price taking into account that I only wanted to shower and sleep as I was in a seminar all day and wanted to sight see and walk around at night. When Patricia found that there was no room that I per ordered she kindly upgraded me to a double bed. The room was very well furnished, good bed, clean, and a shining bathroom.
The staff was helpful and nice.
The location was also great one minute from Bayswater Underground and two from Queensway.
To sum up GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarshf, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,


Many thanks for sharing your very kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Mandar Dhage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel from outside looks great, but when i checked in, i was surprised to see the smallest room i have ever seen to a hotel. It was clean without doubt, but the space was ridiculously poor. I checked the hotel's map on my door and saw that my room was from the biggest, so didn't bother at all to ask for another.
I was also surprised to see that there was no mini fridge in there (!). I cannot believe that a 4-star hotel, doesn't provide such services. I wanted to keep my water cool and put it next to the window, which was windy enough to cold it.
The elevator was too loud, which was fine for me, as my room was not next to it, but i can imagine how annoying that could be to the guests next to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarshf, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Firstly thank you very much for choosing Shaftesbury Hyde Park International please accept my sincere apologies as we had to transfer you to one of our sister properties due to an unforeseen situation.
I understand from your comments that you had a very bad experience and once again I apologize for the same.
I will appreciate if you could send me your contact details to dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com in order for me to contact you directly and discuss the same in depth.
this is certainly not our standard that we lookforward to our guest, please accept my appology and allow me to serve you onceagain in future.

With Regards

Mandar Dhage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Rude inefficient staff. Waited over 15 mins before we were checked in. No apology. Not enough people working at reception and at that, the one person there was not efficient or customer smart. The other receptionist was on her break and couldn't possibly be disturbed. No apology. When I expressed my wish to make a complaint, I was informed someone would come to my room to take it. Nobody ever did.

Room tiny (even by London standards!) and bed is a single and a half. Not a double.

Would NEVER STAY HERE again. I recommend you don't either. The Grand Royale hotel - where I usually stay - is much better value and the staff there are faultless.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

As other have commented this is conveniently located in Bayswater, not far from Paddington and on the Circle line. It is also very good value for central London.

The greeting from the female receptionist was officious but less than welcoming. (She did seem rather keener on the gentleman booking in after me.) Customer service training would help.

Rooms are small and one could wish for a little more soundproofing. My room was next to the lift and while the machinery noise was negligible, the loud conversations of guests awaiting the lift's arrival in the narrow corridor were somewhat intrusive. There's a limit to how much I want to know about the activities of American businessmen.

The sash windows were ajar and difficult to close. I managed mine, but the American next door summoned staff (audibly) to close his. Attention to the sash cords would help.

The facilities were clean and comfortable and given the price I would stay again on an overnight business trip.

Room Tip: Keep clear of the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a three night stay here. Great location close to Hyde Park and two tube stations. Very clean and nicely furnished room but the size of the room and the 'double' bed were a little cramped for two people. I'd say the bed was more like a 3/4 but comfortable nonetheless. Good shower and bathroom. The cleaning staff were v.friendly and reception were neutral. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarshf, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Many thanks for your valued comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are especially happy to know that the Location made a great impact on you. i can assure you that your comment will not only motivate our team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service you have come to expect.

It is pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With Regards

Mandar Dhage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was shunted to this hotel by a "sister" hotel that had overbooked, and arrived in the wee hours of the morning. I was given a room that was slightly smaller than the average walk-in closet. The bed touched the walls on two sides and there was about two feet of space on the other two sides. The "desk" (more of a nightstand) didn't have a light or a proper chair and the "closet" was 18 inches wide. The bathroom was small but adequate. Dude, where's my iron and ironing board? Not in this room.

To the hotel's credit, the room had been renovated within the past year or two and was nicely done. However the room was very noisy.

Service was fine, and the (free!) English breakfast was adequate.

NOT acceptable for a business traveller.

Room Tip: Demand a Club Room. If unavailable, stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarshf, Manager at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Hyde Park International , We appreciate your comments and we promise that we will try our very best to serve you in th best way possible in order to ensure that we can provide you with one of the most wonderful stays you ever had.

May i kindly request you to please email me on dm.ship@shaftesburyhotels.com regarding the details of your booking so that we can investigate further in detail.

Thank you very much for your patience & support.

With regards

Mandar Dhage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Hyde Park International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Hyde Park International

Address: 52-55 Inverness Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#263 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Business Hotel in London
#394 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Hyde Park International 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Shaftesbury Hyde Park International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel London
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.