We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't understand it !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saatchi Gallery

Saatchi Gallery
Duke of York's HQ, King's Road, London SW3 4SQ, England
+44 (0) 207 811 3070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Contemporary art from unknown designers and artists from all over the world
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Didn't understand it !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Well I have to be honest, I'm probably the worst person to review an art gallery, but thought that it was about time I broadened my horizons and ventured in to see what it was all about, but left none the wiser.
I couldn't understand why a pile of logs in the middle of a room would be considered 'art' and was that sofa for resting my weary legs or just to look at, the latter I think. The art on the walls was being studied by several interested people but I just couldn't see what they were seeing.
The building and the grounds were lovely and centrally situated along the Kings Rd with plenty of coffee shops to choose from.
I think you will need to judge this gallery yourself and not be put off by my review because I really do not get art !

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    104
    31
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I came across the gallery on my way across town and had an hour to spare. I was so pleased I stopped by, a beautiful set up, no queues or crowds, great artwork and helpful staff. I will make time to visit again

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boom, Belgium
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
216 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“just perfect as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Saatchi was great as always... The collection changes regularly and I always find something to my liking :-)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Clouded day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Art work was interesting and varied. However member of Staff was rude on arrival, and no back packs were allowed to be taken through the gallery (although handbags were.) This caused significant inconvience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A beautiful space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is, I believe, the only gallery of modern art in the world that does not charge an entrance fee. Amazing!

Tucked behind Sloane Square it inhabits a beautiful green space and is housed in the sympathetically converted and extended Duke of York's HQ.

The gallery spaces are light, high and beautiful and provide a cool environment for the modern art on display. The current exhibition 'Paper' is in turns stunning and weird, but the sheer range and complexity of what can be done with paper must impress even the most cynical visitor. Go, if only to to see what Yuken Teruya does with paper bags!

PS A fine restaurant, Gallery Mess, adjoins it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saatchi Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Saatchi Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saatchi Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.