We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting art.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saatchi Gallery

Saatchi Gallery
Duke of York's HQ, King's Road, London SW3 4SQ, England
+44 (0) 207 811 3070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 854 Attractions in London
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Contemporary art from unknown designers and artists from all over the world
Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“interesting art.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The current exhibition featuring artists from Moscow is a mixed. From photos, paintings and sculptures of despair and hopelessness, to some great interpretations of western pop art, digs at the soviet establishment and finally an amazing exhibit in Gallery 15. Enough said, you need to go and visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    104
    30
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Damien Totes Amaz Hirst”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My and I went to the Damien Hirst show at the Saatchi gallery and we thought it was amazing, with all the different pieces of art. We have always enjoyed going to the saatchi gallery and it is worth a visit.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, Essex
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Contemporary collection of art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Interesting visit with a special showing form Moscow artists that were around during all the changes in the post communist period. Gallery is set out well ensuring you see all the exhibits . A mixture of skilful art aswell as some more 'abstract' pieces that provoked the argument of whether it was art or self indulgence .

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect plan for your afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

When I went to the gallery, there was a Soviet Union exhibition and some modern Russian art. The selection of the art was impressive and there was a little from everything - sculptures and other 3D, photos, paintings... I did like the environment, white walls, lots of light and glass. In the end of the time I joined a guided group of people. The guide was Russian and I could say she definitely knew what she was talking about. There is also a cute shop downstairs with all the silly things that you feel that you must have at that time. It was a nice experience and I would definitely recommend going there - it guarantees a good time and enriched mind...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Poor exhibition, not worth the trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went to the Saatchi Gallery after having heard of it through a travel guidebook we had. The exhibition is of an uninteresting variety, art of a very contemporary style, the kind that you would want to skim over rather than absorb yourself in the works for a while as you can do much more easily in places like the Tate Modern, and of course places like the National Gallery and Wallace Collection (though I suppose you can't compare the latter two due to different style). The gallery rooms are not very attractive either (virtually stripped to the bone - we found that a little plain for an art gallery, and too brightly lit). Because of this, we were done in 15 minutes. The museum is a bit far away from most main London attractions (though you can walk to the Kensington museums in around 20 minutes) so unless you have a big interest in contemporary art I would try the Tate Modern instead.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saatchi Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Saatchi Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saatchi Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.