We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous pub, superb food, musn't be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seven Stars

The Seven Stars
53 Carey St, London WC2A 2JB, England (Clapham / Battersea )
44 20 7242 8521
Improve this listing
Ranked #198 of 1,197 Nightlife in London
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous pub, superb food, musn't be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I visited The Seven Stars for lunch today (Thursday 20th March). Had the Onglet Steak Sandwich which was cooked to perfection as Onglet is a cut that is very easily over done. But not at the Seven Stars. Served on deliciously toasted/grilled bread with a fabulous light salad and the special Seven Stars sauce it was truly fabulous. All washed down with a pint or two of Cornish Coaster.

Truly great pub and the foods never ever fails.

Menu today to choose from

Chicken Liver Pate - £9.00
Chick pea and ham soup with hot roll and salad - £9.50
Spanish Scramble - £11.50
Onglet Steak Sandwich - £12.50
Pasta Primavera - £11.00
Chicken & Pheasant Pie - £11.00
Penne Pasta with Meatballs, Spinach & Parmesan - £11.50
Chicken salad Deluxe - £10.50
Meatloaf sandwich - £9.00

The above varies day to day and depends on what Roxy (landlady) has procured from her local suppliers but all very delicious and excellent value for money.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex,UK
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Our first visit here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

but certainly not the last! We had tumbled out of the Royal Courts of Justice and spotted this little pub, which sells Adnams (one of our favourite beers, as resident East Anglians). Anyway, this pub is a great find. Old fashioned, quirky, warm, welcoming...all you want in a proper traditional English pub. As someone else has said, if you want a clinical pub chain experience, and a McDonalds meal, don't come here. More room for us!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't come here! I don't want you clogging up my favorite pub in town..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

It's good, like kick your shoes off, drink some wine while you jostle for space with the resident pub cat by the open fire good..

The food is 'home made' and they have a decent selection of of Ales and wine (although don't be surprised if they pour your glass of wine from the box on the bar), the service is low key but just works and you will not find a better 'traditional' pub in the city - trust me I have looked.

The place is a little tricky to find (cue google maps) as it faces onto a quiet street on the back of the courts, but that is all for the better. I slightly irks me to give the place a flawless review as I really am not too keen on more people finding out about it, but if you are looking for a quiet drink in the city, with character or somewhere to take a date who thinks they know London inside out - this really is it.....

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
115 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“A real British alehouse, characterful, and a great survivor in a sea of modern mediocrity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We called here after a business trip and a whizz around the Hunterian museum in the Royal College of Surgeons just around the corner. It was a great tip from a colleague and we very much look forward to returning in the next few weeks. This is a real alehouse/British boozer, small, almost galley-like, with heaps of character and that fab cat in a ruff chilling out in front of the fire. Located at the rear of the Courts of Justice and frequented by the legal eagles as well as other assorted characters. This is recommended to all who enjoy independent businesses, individuality, and is a great survivor in sea of mediocrity and homogenised artificial nonsense that has swept through UK town and city centres. The food being prepped in the homely kitchen up those rickety stairs smelled excellent and I do look forward to trying it out on a future visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulously eccentric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This must be the best pub in London. I just loved the eccentricity of the landlady, Roxy Beaujolais. Interesting clientele - Barristers, judges - because it's right behind the Law courts. Delicious home cooked food, great ale and interesting authentic decor. The cat, Ray Brown, wearing a choristers ruff, is the boss of this delightful haunt. And take care coming down those stairs from the toilets!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seven Stars also viewed

 

Been to The Seven Stars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seven Stars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.