We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Blooms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Blooms Hotel to your Saves list
Grange Blooms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Montague Street | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BP, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #445 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We thought location was good. Staff ok and breakfast was very nice.
Our only complaint was the bathroom, the radiator was broken and on full blast which was unbearable. The shower fixings and plug were broken plus there was someone's else's hair in the bath!
The toiletries provided were nice and also complementary fruit in the room was a nice touch.
Please note no wifi and no mini fridge in room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    88
    40
    13
    13
See reviews for
21
83
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Small & friendly, delightful, elegant hotel set just behind Russell Square. Lovely room and bathroom, good selections of complimentary drinks and fruit, magazines etc nice touches. Breakfast was continental but full breakfast upgrade possible. Very pleasant, well, furnished breakfast room. Great service.
Excellent location, 15 minutes walk to theatre / Leicester Square (some were closer). Numerous underground stations in walking distance.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very good hotel. Small, but good service. We were surprised however, because we booked the Grange White Hall, next door, and they put us in the Grange Blooms. Anyway, all was fine apart from the first night, we were kept awake by a loud droning noise, we complained however, and they moved our rooms, much smaller but just as nice and clean. Bathrooms were a bit small, but adequate. Very pricey though i think they need to review their room costs. One of the receptionists in particular, i think her name may have been Jenny, she was oriental, not sure if Japanese or Chinese, but she was extremely helpful and professional, so a big thanks to her. For our trouble with room moving they gave us free continental breakfast each morning for ourselves and our two daughters. The hotel was also situated in a great place for access to covent garden, leicester square and so on. All in all, very good.

Room Tip: dont let them give you room 206 - loud noise from kitchens consistently - unless its corrected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed there for business last week. Very good value - I would rate the room as almost 5 star. Very luxurious feel to the room, good bed, very clean. Bathroom small but well equipped and very clean. Room had a mini bar which many don't have any more, well stocked also fruit and good magazines. Would happily stay here again. Walkable to Euston Station.

Room Tip: There is a lift so the floor does not matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for just 1 night 9th March 2013 what a find.Once we had found the Blooms hotel, we had been given wrong directions, take the tube to Russell square and it is about 5 minute walk from there, turn left out of tube then left again, cross over the road, go straight up with the the gardens on your right and its second on your left, over on righthand side.Lovely old building, easy book in , room was fabulous, big large comfortable bed , bathroom with everything you need, shower, bath, hot towel rail and hairdryer and nice towels. There was a television, you could make youselves tea or coffee in the room, 2 armchairs and a desk what more could you want. Breakfast was between 7am to 11am, the staff were very friendly and polite and if you had paid for the full english breakfast everything was cooked to order, but you could also have cereal,fruit, yogurts etc as well tea and coffee, felt like you had been transported back in time, breakfast room was wonderful and peaceful and very stylish and staff fabulous. You are only 3 stops to Leicester square , 2 stops to convent garden and 1 to Holborn so very central for everyting. The hotel will also hold your luggage for you if you want to do more sightseeing on day of your departure.All in all great stay, only one little gripe drinks were quite expensive but there again i expect in most hotels this would be so. Many thanks for enjoyable stay would used this hotel again for sure when in London

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

For several years we stayed at the White Hall hotel next door, but one time they were overbooked and put us in Blooms. We have gone there ever since on trips to London. It is in the perfect spot for easy access to Covent Garden when we treat ourselves to a Royal Ballet performance. We always end up walking back afterwards as it's not too far. It's also a short walk over Russell Square gardens to the Tube.
The hotel is small but charming with well decorated rooms and friendly staff. The rooms at the back are wonderfully quiet, overlooking the hotel garden to the rear of the British Museum. Despite it being February the room was very warm, necessitating turning off radiators and opening a window. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on.
A slight grumble: usually the breakfast staff are fine, but this time were not on the ball as we had to ask for several things including glasses and plates, even though it was a quiet time.

Room Tip: Those at the back are quiet. If possible, try the Lords room (more expensive) as it is larger and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for valentines weekend as a special treat. We booked the valentines package that included dinner, English breakfast, chocolates and a red rose. Upon arrival, the service was very friendly and personal. This isnt a big fancy hotel, nor does it try to pretend to be.
We were delighted to hear that we had been upgraded to the Dickens room (our surname is Dickins!), which was lovely and spacious with lots of interesting memorabilia on the walls. The hotel was very quiet during the night even though we were in the center of town during the weekend, so we were able to get a good nights sleep.
The only slight drawback was the hotel restaurant and whisky bar were closed in the evenings, so we had to go next door to the White Hall hotel. The food was excellent but it lacked atmosphere and the waitress was completely clueless....
However overall we had a lovely stay and felt really looked after by the hotel. we would recommend this hotel for couples looking for a cosy boutique style where you are a name not a room number.

Room Tip: The Dickens room was quirky, fun and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Blooms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Blooms Hotel

Address: 7 Montague Street | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#284 Luxury Hotel in London
#308 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Blooms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in elegant 18th-century Townhouse with period furnishings, set in the heart of literary Bloomsbury near the British Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Grange Blooms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Blooms London
Grange Blooms Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Blooms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.