We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent location and a good budget hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Hotel London

Save Saved
You added Excelsior Hotel London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel London
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   41 &42 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AP, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #272 of 525 London B&B and Inns
1 review
“An excellent location and a good budget hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

My family of 5 stayed for 2 nights in April. Our room was clean and well equipped for the price. The location is excellent, about 100 m from Kings Cross station, but just inside the congestion zone so there was no passing traffic and despite the rooms being single glazed we had 2 good nights sleep. All the staff were friendly and could not be more helpful. As mentioned elsewhere the breakfast room is small and sits about 16 people, we had a small wait to get sat down one morning, but for the price we paid you can't really grumble. Breakfast was a choice of 2 cereals, toast, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, and fruit juices, tea and coffee. We would stay here again, it is a good budget hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    67
    66
    39
    43
See reviews for
45
76
32
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I'm still not yet leave this "hotel". Actually, it is quite difficult to call it as a 'hotel', because no facilities at there, just a place to sleep. Free WIFI is available in room, but very unstable and always unable to connect to web at night. I would like to compliant about the arrangement of the 'free' breakfast. White breads & cereals provided. That's all. From the visitor guide in room, they committed to provide better breakfast since 1 April 2012 (because they raise up the room rate), but no fullfill this commitment. The cleanliness of the room also not very good, especially for bed. On the other hand, it is really great location for this hotel, really in the hub of metro underground railway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review .

We do provide WiFi for free and it is available in all the bedrooms. IF the conncetion times out at night it is really because a lot of people are using the facility at night. We have recently upgrded the hardware and this should work a lot better . We do not want to charge fore this service and we provide it completely free of charge for your convenience. If we were to switch to another system we would have to charge for this and this is not oir intention.

Breakfast : In addition to bread and cereals we also provide boiled eggs and ham sliuces and cheese slices as well as Tea and Coffee and Juices. I believe you ate all of this as I remember serving it to you this morning ( ! ) . Perhaps you were a bit upset that I politely asked you to respect our other guests and vacate the table once you had finshed eating so we could serve our other patrons . You may sit and eat as much as you like but once you have finshed please let us help our other customers also.

Thank you for your comments we are listening all the time and trying to make this better .

Manager
patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here this week and it was a nice bed and breakfast experience; my sister and I liked it so much, in fact, we were planning to extend our stay but unfortunately we need to go back due to work duties.. anyway, ignore the bad reviews, I dont't get it why other people rate their stay as awful or something, they're just lame afterall.. the hotel is absolutely awesome, everything is good about it.. Overall, we would definitely come back and stay here.. Thanks again for your hospitality! :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vught, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

rooms are very very small and so is the bed. Service not up to scratch (towels / toiletpaper). No city information available. A promised 30% discount as offered in the hotel-information (on the grounds of hotel-refurbishing) was declared not applicable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Owner at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Sir

thanks for your e mail.

All our laundry is ordered in daily from our supplier. i f you are not happy with any towel please let us know and we will change it for you immediately no questions . We pay for our laundry ; so if there is anything not up to scratch we will return it back to them, its really no problem !

City information is available in your room in the information booklet; in our recpetion where we will help you with our knowledge and in our luggage room where there are maps and other such panflets. You can also use your smart phone and conncet to our Wifi in bedrooms and reception to search for what you need .

You already receive the 30 % discount . You paid £70 for a room which was advertised at £100 ...If you wanted another 30 % then that would be a 60 % discount ....As much as i would like to do this unfortunaltey this would not be possible .

It seems that you are a little confused about what you had actually booked .

Your tittle is sensationalised completely

From

Honest and clear
Patrick
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in central London, close to the train station and metro station and are trying to manage a tight budget, than this a great place to stay. The rooms are small, but nice and clean. The service is good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We booked this hotel for 1 night so we could have a relaxing start to our holiday at Disneyland Paris. 2 adults 2 kids. the hotel is a very short walk from Kings Cross station and despite it being so close it is in a very quiet location overlooking a square/park with a basketball court and childrens play area. The gentleman on reception was very friendly and showed us to our room. For a one nights stay the room was good. 2 dbl beds, a tv on the wall, toilet/shower room and a closet. Its got a wooden floor and wooden blinds instead of curtains which stop it feeling cosy but it is comfortable. Now for the down side. We went to the reception in the morning for breakfast and the very friendly guy on reception took us outside and around the corner to another hotel for breakfast. we went down into the cellar (very steap steps) and was great by another guy who was the opposit to the guy on reception and when we said morning he looked up from his phone and said nothing before looking back at his phone. the breakfast room had 4 or 5 tables and the buffet breakfast consisted of just toast and ceriel. I most definetly expect more when I am away and if the hotel was busy I have no idea where they would seat everyone.
in general and in my opinion this hotel for the family room is just fine for a night or two. if you are on a budget then don't discount it for longer stays. there is plenty of choice nearby for a better breakfast and the room was ok just wasnt as cosy as I would have liked. I will stay again if the need to be in this area again arises.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We'd booked a basic double room by phone (we live in Iceland) but when we got there we were told that they'd got us/me down for a single room. Still, that turned out to be no problem, although they wanted a booking conformation which I'd never been sent. The room was small but OK, heavy curtains and facing away from the road so we didn't have trouble sleeping as it was quiet. The bedside lamp had a blown light bulb and the two towels had been reduced to one by day two of our stay. Breakfast (in the basement of a nearby partner hotel) was basic – they don't do hard-boiled eggs or cheese slices in winter. On day 2 my partner decided he didn't want breakfast so I went alone, only to be told "You're not staying here so you can't eat here." He asked to see the key, but my partner had it so the breakfast man marched me off to his boss in one of the other houses. This man was horrible and kept saying that I couldn't eat there. Eventually he asked what room number I was staying in and that seemed to do the trick. He then said I could eat breakfast after all. Both men apologised but not very sincerely.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionHouseHotel, Manager at Excelsior Hotel London, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for your e mail; we read every review and take them all seriously. We appreciate any feedback as it really helps us focus on where we need to improve. We want you to have a pleasant stay with us.

According to your booking you had booked a room with shared bathroom facilites ; we offered a free upgrade to a room with full en suite facilties.
Our breakfast menu during the quiet months( January & February ) is kept to basic essentials and you can still eat as much as you like ; this is reflected in our rooms being discounted to up to 30 % during this period. This all serves to give you; the customer; much better value for money. In fact you paid £20 per person for a room with en suite , free unlimited WiFi and breakfast in central London. A great deal and a special promotion which we are running ;which we are glad has pleased our guests.
Apoligies for any mixc up over breakfast ; however we serve breakfast from 7 am to 10 am and there are many notices infomring our guests of this. You arrived at 1030 . We can make special arrangements for a later breakfast if you desire but please respect our times and a 3 hour window where you can eat breakfast is more than suffucient . We did get you a seat even after arriving 30 minutes after we had closed.

Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you again in the future

Manager
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel London

Address: 41 &42 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 525 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Excelsior Hotel London 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished B&B budget hotel located in Kings Cross about two minutes from St Pancras International and Kings Cross station.En suite rooms and free wifi offered in the bedroooms. We offer most importantly clean and affordable rooms in the heart of London. A truly Modern B & B hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Excelsior Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Hotel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.