We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique history in a modern setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunterian Museum

Hunterian Museum
35 - 43 Lincoln's Inn Fields | Royal College of Surgeons, London WC2A 3PE, England (Paddington / Maida Vale)
44 (0) 20 7405 3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Unique history in a modern setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I try only to review attractions that offer something that you can't get anywhere else, and this certainly fits that criteria. Before visiting I had the impression that this would be dusty Victorian rooms of bizarre body parts. The first part was certainly wrong. It is modern, well lit, beautifully displayed collection of bizarre body parts. Every body part from a wide range of species. We had a very interesting free tour with the curator (Wed lunchtimes). She nicely set the context for the collection from grave robbing to developments in surgical techniques. After an hour I was tired as there was so much to look at, but I could easily go back several more times. If you're interested in what's inside the body, how it works and how it sometimes goes wrong, you'll be fascinated.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    74
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting in pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Took my family to Huntarian in half term, purely because we've been to all the large museums in London and know how busy they get. First of all the location is lovely. We got off at Holborn and meandered through the back streets (past a nice old traditional pub that we popped into on the way back to tube!). I've since discovered the Sir John Soames Museum was opposite, which would've been interesting to see. The Huntarian Museum itself was fascinating. My 6 year old loved it and especially the shop. My 13 year old, who is a bit squeamish, not so much. I went to a similar museum in St Petersburg and had high hopes. The Huntarian is very different, it's a lot more sanitised for a start. Nevertheless the exhibit upstairs has a very thought provoking display on war surgery. Definitely recommend for an hour's visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

If your interested in science and the anatomy of the natural world, this is the place for you. There are so many weird and wonderful objects on display that will take your breath away.
If possible, attend when the tour guide is available for some interesting history. I don't think I've ever visited a museum like this before! If your other half isn't into this then go alone, it's worth it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not for the faint hearted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a small museum based in the Royal College of Surgeons and contains a collection of pickled body parts. Only go if you are strong of stomach.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great if you are fascinated by the medical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully presented museum of all things medical. If you are interested in exploring the innermost recesses of the body then this will be for you. Shelf upon shelf of 'bits' in jars and some very interesting displays of medical implements. Made me glad to be healthy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunterian Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hunterian Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunterian Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.