We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“radnor property is not suitable for anyone!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Radnor Bayswater Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Radnor Bayswater Hotel to your Saves list
Radnor Bayswater Hotel
23 Inverness Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3JR, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,018 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“radnor property is not suitable for anyone!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Poorly run property is desperately in need of a major renovation. This was my first international travel to London in July 2012 booked by Orbitz. I requested a three star hotel and Orbitz reserved a crappy one star property. I was warned by TripAdvisor not to stay at this property and Orbitz lied about the property and booked me anyway. I Here are some major problems with this building: starting with the entrance to the radnor you have to push a button to buzz your entrance to the building, a pungent mildew odor greets you at the door and throughout the building, plaster is peeling from the walls with major water stains, service desk is located on the second floor, torn carpet was nailed down with melt strips, steps are steep and unsafe, the staff was uncaring, the staff was only concerned with money, the building and room was very dark, towel had stains, they do not provide sheets for the bed, the bed was hard, the pillows were very thin, no place to hang my clothes, TV had to be programmed, small bathroom with mildew stains in the shower corners, shower faucets did not work properly, for ventilation you place a stick in the window - the stick I received from the front desk had bird feces, the interior of my room came with complimentary stains on the walls, no smoke detector, dirt filled vent, and breakfast was served from 8 AM to 9 AM some that was purchase from the local grocery store located in the neighborhood. There are several complaints about this property with the City of Westminster. Please take the time to file your complaint about this rundown piece of property with the City of Westminster. Please spread the word DO NOT STAY AT THE radnor!

Room Tip: No rooms are worth spending your quality money at this location. Find a better or real hotel to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    10
    9
    57
See reviews for
29
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Symi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is like a conspiracy..
There are 2 Radnor hotels both in the same area and both 2 stars. Whenever you look for Radnor the nice one comes up so before you book (yourself or a travel agent) be absolutely sure that you have booked the descent one.

Radnor Bayswater is a filthy place.
I'm sorry I use this expression but nothing else comes up in my mind.
Spent the night sleeping on a bed that had dirty stained and holed sheets. Not to mention the mold everywhere and the shower situation..
I strongly believe this hotel only gets reservations by accident or by people that are pushing their luck - "it's central, it's cheap, how but can it be?".

I would like also to send a message to the receptionist: GET SOBER PLEASE!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

On the 3rd August, after a long 12.5 hour flight and a long train ride, my friend and I arrived at the 'hotel'.

We were "greeted" at the door by a man smoking on the steps to the door, offering no assistance to help with bags. We thought he was someone staying at the hotel but was in fact the person working at reception. We had to carry our heavy luggage up four winding, incredibly narrow flights of stairs without any assistance. Here we discovered that the showers were not working properly - a weak cold trickle.

After informing him the showers weren't operating, we were transferred to a room with one bed. This room was on the 3rd floor so we had to repack our luggage and again carry them ourselves with no help even offered. However, this room was even worse, not only were the showers still not working, but the windows could not be closed because they were broken. The man's attempt to correct this was to stick a wooden leg under it as a prop so that it partially closed.

Again, we said that this was not acceptable and it was worse than the first room. We asked to be moved to the ground floor so that we did not have to climb all the stairs with our luggage when we checked out (and whenever we accessed the hotel). The man went to "check room availabilities" but did not return after 20 mins so we had to go find him. He was just talking on the phone and when he saw us he just shrugged and said "no more rooms".

After some debate he 'found' a room on the ground floor. Again, this room has one bed, broken window that doesn't open, tilting cupboard, a broken bathroom door (it does not close properly because the bathroom floor is heaving upwards), broken toilet seat, no shower door or curtain, and the shower head had broken off the wall fixture. We were honestly too tired at this point to say anything else. We had to ask for assistance carrying our luggage down because we were so exhausted, and he managed to snap the handle on my luggage while doing so.

We could not believe the state of this hotel, the rooms and the staff, and honestly don't believe how it can be inhabited by people. We stayed there for 3 horrible nights and it was the worst start to our holiday.

Room Tip: avoid at all costs!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

WELL. This place was an experience and a half. We stayed in April of this year. My parents had a basement room that had a glued shut window and a bathroom with half a wall missing. We had a quad room on the fourth floor. (No lifts so be prepared to do some lugging, huffing and puffing) We all had a good laugh and decided to make the best of a bad situation as the only other option was to let it ruin our London experience. My hubby rewired the TV. We put our drinks out on the window sill to keep cold, (no fridge or tea coffee facility in rooms) and purchased an air Freshener for the bathroom.

We did get clean towells everyday and the housekeeping girl was nice enough although management was totally unhelpful. The shower being on the fourth floor was a pittifull luke warm dribble. At the end of the day the room provided a bed to sleep in and it was quiet.

Breakfast was cereal, toast and I suspect re-boiled eggs. You can get salt but not pepper and a knife but not a fork. We popped down to sainsburrys and grabed some extras like fruit ham and cheese to add to our breaky spread and made the neighbouring tables jealous.

We were a little alarmed at the fire emergency plan which was printed straight off the internet and put up without being filled in. We drew comfort from the fact the place has not burned down yet.

In summary it can only be called a holliday experience and we needed to make the best of it. If you need to stay here (I say need as no one would want to) You will just have to keep your blinkers on and keep thinking happy thoughts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

To call the Radnor seedy is to pay it a massive and undeserved compliment. The building's interior is in shambles. Evidence of roof leaks were in every area we entered. Walls even had stains and damaged areas.

Our room was filled with a bed with a single thin Ikea blanket, flimsy sheets, and two wafer thin pillows. Other furniture consisted of a pair of standard dining room table-style chairs. The bathroom was cramped. My knees were up against the wall while seated on the toilet. I'm 5'10. The towel rack was broken, hilariously mcguyvered to the wall with scotch tape.

The outer door to our room (perplexingly, there was an unlockable inner door,) was cheap as cheap can be. The lock was worse. The whole thing looked like a botched amateur's first attempt at a home repair. It felt exceedingly insecure.

Breakfast was strange: hard boiled eggs, corn flakes, and some other odds and ends. We never partook.

There is no distinct lobby, only an adapted dining room where a single employee always was, sitting at a folding table with a laptop. Service rendered was polite but had an air of subtle confusion whenever we interacted with anybody. The morning we checked out we awoke an employee who was curled up in a sleeping bag on the floor of the dining room/lobby.

As a whole, our stay in the Radnor (not to be confused with the Hyde Park Radnor, which is rather nice. We went there.) wasn't marked with anything flagrantly unbearable. Still, the wifi wasn't free, the building condition was appalling, and our room had no air conditioning. Also, we have a suspicion that our luggage may have been rifled through. My girlfriend is missing several items, although we can't be certain they went missing at that particular stage in our trip.

I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is definitely NOT a hotel, it is a very cheap B&B or even a hostel. The reception is upstairs in a room that doubled as the dining room. The place is uninviting and the 2 staff we encountered were unfriendly and unhelpful. They have no customer service skills, discourteous and did not appear to have training in hotel and food administration. One staff member sat and stared at those eating breakfast, the other sat behind a very high bench using a computer and was almost invisible. The breakfast was self-service offering cheap quality cornflakes, orange juice and hard-boiled eggs every single day! (boring) There was cheap tissues as serviettes/napkins on the table. Plastic picnic bowls were available for the cornflakes, the cups were small and some badly stained inside, some of the cutlery was also dodgy which was a concern from a health perspective! The place has no atmosphere and is extremely uninviting and creepy! It obviously has changed hands but needs a completed refurbished and repainted. Our room had been refurbished and was in the basement but no help was offered in getting our luggage downstairs. The room was cold and no attempt was made to make it any warmer. We DO NOT recommend this so-called 'hotel' in it's current state! IT NEEDS A COMPLETE REFURBISHMENT!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelleftea, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed 5 unforgettable nights, in a new fawlty tower´s. the room was extreamly small. no hangers or closet. the lights were out in the bartroom, there were stop in tthe drainpipe. So we complained, and got a larger room the day after. So, that was ok, the room I mean. But instead no hotwater from the shower, hardly no water at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radnor Bayswater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radnor Bayswater Hotel

Address: 23 Inverness Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,018 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radnor Bayswater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radnor Bayswater London
Hotel Radnor Bayswater
Radnor Bayswater Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radnor Bayswater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.