We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest View Hotel

Forest View Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Forest View Hotel to your Saves list
Forest View Hotel
227, Romford Road | Stratford, Newham, London E7 9HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #734 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

For less than £60 single - a night - a few stops on the tube from Central London, this hotel is great value .For that I got a single en-suite with b/fast included. It's basic but very clean. I've had far worse breakfasts in much 'posher' hotel. The staff are really friendly and helpful. It was surprisingly quiet for a Friday and Saturday and my car was in a safe, electronic gated car park. As an added attraction - the most miserable dog in the world lives here - he's a bit frustrated apparently !! Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a budget break for anyone going to the O2 who doesn't want to pay 'London Prices'

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    13
    2
    12
See reviews for
11
11
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was a great value independent hotel. Yes it is a bit old but it is spotlessly clean, the staff are very helpful and the breakfast is basic but fine considering the price. The Chinese down the road was great for dinner

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Only stayed for one night. I found all the staff helpful & friendly. The room was very clean, warm, comfortable with modern decor & LCD TV on the wall. I did not go out & about but I did notice a couple of supermarkets close by whilst driving. I ate at the Forest View, evening meal & breakfast was very nice, there was a warm pub like atmosphere in the bar at the night time & the hotel has free parking round the back :) you also have free inter-net in the main hotel area
I would stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I booked a late-notice room here during the Paralympics, and we felt fortunate to have discovered a well-kept secret. The reception staff was friendly, the room was comfortable and clean, and a bus stop to Stratford station (a 5-minute ride or so) was situated directly outside the hotel. The surrounding area wasn't the most visually appealing and the building decor did somewhat reflect its 3-star rating, but we found the added value of free gated parking and convenience to the Olympic Park to be a wonderful trade-off.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a shared bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here one night and were pleasantly surprised considering the price. The room was clean, the shower was good and we even got breakfast included in the price. The only negative was that it was a 15-20 minute walk to the tube which is not so good for a London trip, and of course the area is not completely safe (we didn't see anything negative but that was just our experience). The price is definitely the key selling point but if you don't have a reason to be in Stratford it might be worth paying a little more for somewhere more central.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night to go to Excel exhibition.
From being greeted by a dog at the door I knew I had made a mistake............

The room was small and cheaply decorated and finished, the bathroom was clean. BUT.. The mattress and pillows smelt terrible and I had to wrap the pillow with a towel so I could'nt smell someone elses odour!.
I was awakened at 6am by an early checkout above me and it sounde like they were in the room.
Breakfast was full english and okay and I enjoyed the large screen tv in the bar area.
Not good value for the money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I dont understand people in their negative reviews of this hotel. I stayed two nights and had two of the best nights sleep in years. First of all you must remember how much you are paying, too many people want 5* quality for the minimum. The only reason i give it a 4 is because of the area, wasnt the best by any means but it was good, clean and tidy. I would go back there again no problem. Free parking is a plus and all the staff were very friendly, would reccommend but remember ; YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the car park in the seperate building are very good and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest View Hotel

Address: 227, Romford Road | Stratford, Newham, London E7 9HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #734 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Forest View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest View Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.