We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Vicarage Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Vicarage Hotel
Save
You added The Vicarage Hotel to your Saves list
10 Vicarage Gate | Kensington, London W8 4AG, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #459 of 1,065 Hotels in London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The vicarage hotel is a basic hotel. The rooms are ok but could benefit with having a tv in them and a box of tissues. The shower and toilets are shared on each floor. If you have a lot of luggage be prepared to carry up flights of stairs as there is no lift.The food is ok but I found that the bacon and sausage had been cooked then microwaved to rewarm. Apart from those small things. Not a bad stay in a quiet location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    59
    15
    11
    4
See reviews for
28
43
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here with my aunt and it was a lovely experience. The rooms were quaint and well-appointed, the breakfast basic but delicious (toast, cereal, eggs any way, bacon and tea or coffee), and the dining room was adorable. Everything was very clean. Some people may say that there need to be some updates, but I think that if anything was to be changed, it would take away from the charm of the place.

The location is excellent, a quiet neighborhood with easy access to the Tube, shopping and pubs. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel provided for a pleasant and friendly stay. The hotel is suitably located for access to the tube, shopping and Portabello road market.
Breakfasts were very well presented/well prepared- a morning delight, service very efficient.

The beds are not large but then nor are the rooms - if you have a large body mass and two in the bed be prepared to get the shove every now and again. It was comfortable though and definately a place I would return to. For the area the price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: If it fits the budget try for a larger room as the rooms are generally small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I certainly enjoy the moderate rates of the Vicarage Gate Hotel which is a small B&B-like venue just around the corner from Kensington Palace. The rooms are very basic but clean. And the staff is efficient and welcoming.
And if you stay here, don't miss out on the Ottolenghi takeout place neary for the best yummy snacks and meals - my favorite informal thing to do is to go there, order some takeaway, take a walk in Kensington Park and, weather permitting, make a picnic of it all.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Vicarage two separate times over 5 years. It is more like staying with a well-to-do London family than a hotel. The lovely rooms have all the amenities one needs - whether you have a shared bath or an en suite bath. The staff is most obliging in helping with whatever you may need. And then there's the complimentary, HOT, cooked to order breakfast in the cheery dining room every morning. There's a common lounge/TV room where you can compare travel notes with fellow guests. It's just a short walk to the tube. There are a number of restaurants in easy walking distance, as well.
Overall, we have found the Vicarage to be good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieux-Ruffec, Poitou-Charentes, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a hidden gem. A beautiful four storey Georgian house in the middle of Kensington, just 5 minutes from High Street Kensington tube. If you are looking for a clean, quaint and charming place to stay in central London at a great price then you are discovered a treasure. The staff are so welcoming and helpful. The cooked breakfast is fabulous and you get to meet some fascinating fellow travellers in the breakfast room. I stay every month and I would not choose to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Location and safety and comfort is key when traveling out of country and the Vicarage fit the bill. There are 2 tube stations within a 10-15 minute walking distance and Kensington Palace is around the bend. The neighborhood is beautiful and I was able to get some good photographs. Romano's Italian restaurant and Cafe Rouge are close by and affordable after a long day of walking. The English breakfast is included. There are no elevators and was very grateful we were on the first floor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vicarage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vicarage Hotel

Address: 10 Vicarage Gate | Kensington, London W8 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #459 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Vicarage Hotel London
The Vicarage Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vicarage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.