We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for O2 Arena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Canary Wharf

Save Saved
You added Hilton London Canary Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton London Canary Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Quay, Marsh Wall, London E14 9SH, England (Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From £106
Ranked #125 of 1,075 hotels in London
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Convenient for O2 Arena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a 2-day stay at this Hilton when we were attending a music festival at the O2 Arena. It was conveniently situated for this as Canary Wharf Underground Station is only 5-10 minutes walk away (cross the bridge directly behind the hotel and then cut through the Jubillee Park shopping mall and go one stop on the tube.)
When we arrived we were cordially greeted and although early, we were given our room. We were then delighted to be told that we had been upgraded to an executive room on the 12th floor (but without access to the Executive Lounge, unfortunately). The room was lovely, being very spacious and tastefully decorated in neutral colours. There was a large bed (American king size, I think) with plenty of room for moving around, a comfortable armchair and drinks tabel as well as a desk/ chair arrangement. The bathroom was also a good size, with a good-size bath and separate shower cubicle. It was stocked with plenty of towels and toiletries, bathrobes and slippers. All the expected 'necessaries' were provided: hairdrier, iron, tea/coffee maker (replenished daily), etc. Didn't even open the mini-bar as the bottle of mineral water offered was £5.50. We made do with the small complimentary bottles provided (and replaced next day). WiFi is free in public areas, but costs £15 per day for in-room. I thought this was a bit steep, so just took advantage of free service.
We were grateful to be in a high room as it was nice and quiet. However, in the distance we could hear the rumble of the DLR elevated railway which passess very close to this hotel. Had we been in a lower room, we might have found this very annoying.
Breakfast was included in our tariff (charge otherwise £20) and it was very nice. The restaurant helpfully provided a list of 10 'healthy options', including smoked salmon, porridge, fruit,egg-white omelette, etc., so I had a healthy meusili with Greek yoghurt - followed by a full English! Both the continental and cooked breakfast buffets were well stocked with a wide variety to suit all tastes.
Throughout our stay, the staff were not only friendly and courteous, but seemed to go out of their way to be helpful. We enjoyed our stay here and would certainly return if going back to the O2.

Room Tip: To avoid the DLR railway, request either a high room or one facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your valuable comments following your recent stay at the hotel. I am delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay in particular the location, room, breakfast and the service provided by the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    879
    450
    110
    29
    9
See reviews for
171
683
92
304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
challenger08
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a modern, clean and comfortable hotel - well placed for the O2 and the east side of London, including Stratford, Spittalfields and Brick Lane. The Dockland Light Railway runs right next to the hotel so be sure and ask for either an upper floor or one facing the river.
The access to the DLR and tube lines makes travelling so easy.
We stayed in Executive rooms - spacious, clean and with everything you would expect - good TV and entertainment, wifi, hairdryer, slippers and dressing gowns, etc, etc. Bed very firm. Great pillows.
Bathroom was also clean and modern but a little on the small side. Could be a little better designed - a single hook for ones dressing gown was right next to the toilet, so as it hung, it nestled up against the pan - not ideal! Shower was large but water pressure low.
There was a some confusion about the opening times of the Executive Lounge. We were given three different times, but the actual opening time for alcoholic drinks was 6pm to 9pm. Some nice canapes available but I'm not sure the additional price you would pay if in a standard room (£30) would make it worthwhile. Breakfast in the lounge was nice - similar to that served in the main dining room but a lot quieter. The bar area is comfortable and large, prices pretty good for central London - we certainly didn't feel ripped off.
The hotel staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Car parking very easy and good value (£20 a day).

Room Tip: Ask for upper room. Executive rooms and suites start on floor 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay especially in the Executive Lounge, I was also pleased to read that you found the team to be friendly and accommodating. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here with an old friend because we had somewhere to be the next day which was local. We were so impressed with the service and the price we were charged! The room was gorgeous and everything was just perfect. To make it even nicer the staff were so friendly and helpful. We liked it so much we booked another night! I would definitely go back again....anytime!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, It is great to read how you enjoy staying at the hotel. I will certainly share your comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend of the C2C festival at the O2, got a great rate which included breakfast. Easy to find from Canary Wharf underground station and although early we were allowed into our room which was a bonus. Staff unfailingly polite and friendly, room was a good size for London, bathroom small but perfectly adequate. We did not eat here (We ate in the Canary Wharf Mall - very nice too, plenty of choice) but had a drink in the bar after the concert, bar surroundings are cosy and comfortable again with very nice staff. We enjoyed a good nights sleep and a very good breakfast before leaving, all in all a great place to stay and I would stay here again when visiting London whether or not I was going to the O2.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your stay with us; it was indeed a pleasure to have looked after you during your stay. I am happy that the location was suitable for your needs and especially pleased to read the service provided by the team will result in you returning back to the hotel and not just when you are going to the O2. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My recent overnight stay at Hilton Canary Wharf was satisfactory. Initially I was given a room overlooking Marsh Wall and so I asked for a room with a view of the other side hoping to see some canals. No such luck. The smiling man at the front desk gave me room 622 with a view of three high walls - one with scaffolding - and a roof down below. It was claustrophobic to say the least and I had no 3G connection throughout. I was too tired to complain. The room itself was spacious but a little bit too warm, the toiletries in the bathroom were lovely and they still do shower caps which is a nice touch. Room service was prompt, courteous and delicious. The bed seemed a bit hard while awake but I slept okay nonetheless. Breakfast was lovely with friendly and attentive staff. I would stay overnight again at a similar rate but I would certainly hope for better views from my room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I appreciate the time taken to post feedback and that in general you enjoyed your stay. It was disappointing to read that you did not receive a room with a view as requested, I have spoken with the Front of House Manager and she joins me in apologising for this shortfall in service. The strength of the mobile network signal is unfortunately beyond our control and in part due to the rapid development of the Canary Wharf area. From time to time the various network signals do drop out; we are liaising with the mobile network providers to find a solution to this problem. I acknowledge your feedback in relation to the bed and have shared them with the Head Housekeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great location for the 02-staff really great we booked in a little early no problem .Rooms very spacious beds sooooo comfy normally miss my bed at home but had a great nights sleep Love the bathroom very modern with radio and great shower.This hotel had a very relaxing professional feeling I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We appreciate your kind feedback and were really happy to read that you found our hotel to be relaxing and has a professional feel. I was also glad to read that you found the rooms spacious the bed comfy and the bathroom very modern. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights in March. Having previously stayed in Hilton Tower, which is also great and more close to my personal taste, i decided to give it a try. First remark is that by the time you get out of the tube station you feel that you have taken a journey in time-fast forward. The hotel area has this ultraterrestrial feeling with skyliners, wide roads, and could be described as the 21st century Venice version. There is an abundance of malls and stores, however the majority closes at 21.00, so if you want to crab something to eat after nine, i think only waitrose is open, which has excellent take away sushi.
Hotel has rather small lobby, but it makes up with the behavior of the personnel. A personal touch at the welcome, some useful advice by the concierge and specials remarks to the waiters in the breakfast which make you feel at hotel. It's the first hotel that waiters in the breakfast actually serve you juice or water. Small gesture, some may insignificant, but devil is in the detail. There was a girl, her name was something like Helena or Selena,Jelena (?) which really made my day .Breakfast was excellent, as supposed to be and DLR was hardly heard.
I stayed in room 815 which was huge, and it was supposed to be the standard one. My only remark is that the opposite door was probably the room of the cleaning ladies, and if you want to sleep late, the constant use of this door maybe be annoying.
Overall, a Hilton experience as it's supposed to be.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time share your experience with other travellers. It was good to read that you were able to explore the Canary Wharf area. I was especially pleased to read that you were impressed with the service provided by the team especially Angelina in the restaurant.

With regards to your comment on being disturbed, I have today spoken with the Head Housekeeper to ensure the Room Attendants are more considerate when going in and out of their store room, I have also asked our Chief Engineer to look at the door closer to ensure it is not defective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton London Canary Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Canary Wharf

Address: South Quay, Marsh Wall, London E14 9SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in London
#71 Romantic Hotel in London
#94 Luxury Hotel in London
#203 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Canary Wharf 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated conveniently in the heart of London’s business district, Hilton London Canary Wharf is an obvious and popular choice for business visitors. As one of our guests you will have access to a high-speed internet connection, spacious desks to work from, a 24-hour business center and many other comforts. Rooms are fitted with a widescreen TV and an alarm clock that lets you plug in your MP3 player, meaning you can wake up to your favourite music.When you’re not busy working, make the most of the sauna, steam room or work out in the well-equipped fitness center. Or sip on a well-earned cocktail in the very popular Canary Wharf restaurant, Cinnamon. Hilton London Canary Wharf is very close to the O2 Arena and Westfield shopping complex in Stratford. This hotel is a great choice for anyone wanting to be close to where business happens but not too far from all the tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hilton London Canary Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Canary Wharf Hotel London
Hilton International London
London Hilton
Hilton Canary Wharf
Canary Hilton Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Canary Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.