We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Canary Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton London Canary Wharf to your Saves list
Hilton London Canary Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Quay, Marsh Wall, London E14 9SH, England (Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #127 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for three nights between Christmas and New Year. The hotel is in a great location for Canary Wharf station. The rooms are very spacious. Very clean but not enough lights for my liking as I have poor eyesight. I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We very much appreciate your feedback, I am pleased that you found the location of the hotel suitable for your needs and the rooms to be very spacious. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    524
    128
    33
    10
See reviews for
235
773
98
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed at the hotel overnight due to work function, and had a Deluxe Room.

Hotel check in staff was friendly (albeit in a forced Corporate kind of way), quick, and efficient.

Deluxe Room was good in size (and it should be at near £300), but the bathroom's layout was very awkward, and a bit small. The design could have been better thought out. (from where the toilet flush button was situated, to the door's position to toilet.), and the shower handles are more style than substance (tricky to understand/read).

There was no Robe in the room (which the hotel's website states that one is included in this class of room).

Equipment in the room was what I'd expect in corporate hotels.... however no iPod dock alarm clock.... which is neither here nor there.... The Alarm Clock has an Aux-in feature which is probably more useful these days considering the different plugs for newest generation iPhone).

I could have dealt with the other issues, but the one that was unbearable was that of the bed.
The bed was so springy, and had very little support. In fact, it seemed to have had an indent in the mattress.

Thankfully, upon complaining to the front desk about this at night, they found me another room, with a better bed (sill springy, and not firm, but could at least sleep in this one.).

Based on the change of room (belongings in other room, my sleeping in the newly appointed room), no one could get hold of me via switcboard/front desk. Almost as though I wasn't even a guest. Mobile reception in the hotel is poor (for O2 network at least), making it just as hard for fellow colleagues to get hold of me via that method.

Breakfast was good.... and considering that pretty much anywhere in the Canary Wharf area you'd be paying about the same (approx. £15), it's worth the comfort of just heading downstairs.

Verdict: Not impressed with the hotel, or room (even upon check out, I only got an apology that I didn't have a pleasant stay, and no remuneration for the disruption overnight), but am giving the hotel 2 points based on the overnight staff, and their assistance in attempting to resolve the issue experienced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam_M_Smith, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was glad to hear that you found the room and breakfast good, and the staff fiendly on arrival to the hotel. I was however disapointed to read that you did not have a robe in your room and that you found the bed in your initial room to be uncomfortable. I was happy to read that the nights team had resolved your problem, however I will ensure that your comments are passed to the hotel Executive Head Housekeeper for her review.

I look forward to you returning to the hotel in the near future.


Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

It was greatto read that the team were friendly and welcoming upon check in.

I was sorry to read that your matress was uncomfortable and that you were required to change rooms, however It was great to hear that the night team were able to rectify your problem quickly and aanother room rrovided to you.

The hotel would have moved
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and find it very good value. It is a bit out of london central, but for this you get a bigger room and generally more space than the very central london hotels. The breakfast is absolutely amazing and well worth paying a little extra for. The only thing that could be better was the headboard for the bed is wood and not comfy if you are trying to sit up in bed and watch a film. A soft, padded headboard would be much better. Other than that, I was charged £7.60 for two small white americano coffees in the hotel bar area (costa), which I thought was extornionate and won't be bothering again with that. We used the hotel the gym also, which is small but adequate and well kitted out, with several running machines, a cross trainer, free weights and some training machines.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam_M_Smith, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your positve feedback about the hotel. I was delighted that you found the breakfast amazing and I can assure you I will be sharing your comments with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

London is a tricky place to find a good hotel for a reasonable price. The Hilton is expensive and has pretty small rooms. The location right on the river makes up for it though. I had a room on the top floor and had a good view towards the river and the city. Good night sleep and memories helped when paying the bill.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam_M_Smith, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay at the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed the room that was allocated for you on the top floor of the hotel and that it provided you with a great view of London and most importantly a great nights sleep.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I booked this hotel for my stay during my wedding in London. Initially, I requested for an early check-in at the hotel, as my flight arrived at 5am. The staff who handled this case was so rude, unhelpful and inconsiderate. He said that we should pay 1 night extra (in full price) for an early check-in , otherwise nothing can be done. I tried to call them and asked for any other options. They put me on the line for 10mins, then, I hanged up the phone.
I then complaint to the Manager about the case, he was so helpful and understanding. He tried his best to arrange an early check- in for us, and send his best regards to our wedding. On my BIG DAY, we got a BIG surprise from the hotel !!! They decorated our room with lovely balloons and flowers. There were also some chocolate strawberries and drinks on the table. We really love it!!!
Thanks so much for the nice offer, it was an unforgettable memory for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam_M_Smith, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for giving the hotel feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that the hotel team were able to make up for your initial disapointment and give you some great memories to take away on your BIG day.

Many congratulations and I do hope that you will return back soon to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is quite conveniently located for business visitors in canary wharf. The view from the room was great and the executive lounge was really nice. Though it is quite far from the central London. Though the Bus connection is good to Cental. I will not rate this hotel very high as we travelled everyday for 1 hr to reach central London to take the coach for sightseeing

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam_M_Smith, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It was a pleaseure to read your comments about the executive lounge and that you enjoyed the great view from your room.

I was sorry to hear that it took you one hour to reach Central London when using the local bus network. Another transport option availble to you on your next visit to the hotel is the underground tube which when used means that you can travel into Central London via the Jubilee Line in around 15 minutes.

I look forward to you returning to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, in, National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is quite conveniently located for business visitors in canary wharf. the room was smallish for the rate and the service left a lot to be desired for. The view from the room was great and the executive lounge was really nice with space always available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverStockland, Manager at Hilton London Canary Wharf, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our service, I am sorry that the hotel did not match your expectations. However I am pleased that you enjoyed the executive lounge and found the view from your room to be great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton London Canary Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Canary Wharf

Address: South Quay, Marsh Wall, London E14 9SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#99 Luxury Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Canary Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated conveniently in the heart of London’s business district, Hilton London Canary Wharf is an obvious and popular choice for business visitors. As one of our guests you will have access to a high-speed internet connection, spacious desks to work from, a 24-hour business center and many other comforts. Rooms are fitted with a widescreen TV and an alarm clock that lets you plug in your MP3 player, meaning you can wake up to your favourite music.When you’re not busy working, make the most of the sauna, steam room or work out in the well-equipped fitness center. Or sip on a well-earned cocktail in the very popular Canary Wharf restaurant, Cinnamon. Hilton London Canary Wharf is very close to the O2 Arena and Westfield shopping complex in Stratford. This hotel is a great choice for anyone wanting to be close to where business happens but not too far from all the tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton London Canary Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Canary Wharf Hotel London
Hilton International London
London Hilton
Hilton Canary Wharf
Canary Hilton Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Canary Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.