We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BACKPACKERS DISGUISED UNDER THE TITLE OF A HOTEL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Euro Hotel Clapham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Euro Hotel Clapham to your Saves list
Euro Hotel Clapham
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79-81 Clapham Common South Side, London SW4 9DQ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #896 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A BACKPACKERS DISGUISED UNDER THE TITLE OF A HOTEL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I lie in my bed at the Euro Hotel as I right this review listening to the night porter walking across my ceiling and listening to the loud traffic out side my window.

The room consists of three very uncomfortable beds joined up and lined in a row. The Bathroom stinks of damp and has damp all over it and is filthy.

This is a very low grade hotel and to call it a hotel is a very ambitious title. I will not be bringing my wife back for a romantic weekend, but will have a word with the client that has put me up in this accommodation advising that it is not of a suitable level of accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    58
    141
    70
    137
See reviews for
57
128
37
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Took 15 mins to check-in and there was only me there. Looks good outside but very compact even as a single person in a double room, bathroom could hardly turn around. Several fixtures broken including window, locked partially open. Outside xxtractor fans started early in the morning. Good strong wi-fi and freeview channels on TV. Advertise parking but only 2 spaces! Side street parking available 6pm to 9am then restricted and expensive. Continental breakfast is only cornflakes and plastic white bread off very cramped small table.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel was in need of a fair amount of some tlc, but it was clean. Unfortunately the beds were dreadful. Like sleeping on very lumpy hardboard! Worst night sleep ever in a hotel! Even worse than a Travelodge!! Could do with investing in some quality beds - were clearly extremely old or just very cheap purchases! But the bathroom looked newly refurbished and very clean - although the tap was almost falling off the basin. Breakfast was basic - just cereal and toast. Booked it on line through a cheap site and was alot cheaper than booking direct. Overall, although cheap I would not recommend it if you want to get any sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Kitts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Me and Husband going on a cruise to the Meditteranean,wan'ted to stay a few days in London, which was great, looks good on the out side, but on the inside, my God, really, let just say this really, rooms are very, small, clean , we were told we had the best room. Located close to the train, tube, just a walk to the south tube station, a few yard, Breakfast, was basic, not bad.
However some of the staff was very rude and awkward and unapproachable.
However not sure if I will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

On arriving at the hotel felt that I was invisible. I was not welcomed and the staff were awkward and unapproachable.
Room was clean. Beds left a lot to be desired felt every spring in my back. The sheets were sparkling white which was good.
Breakfast was very basic. Cereal toast juice and tea or coffee only.
The location was very good. Close to the tube which is on the northern line and bus stops right outside that ran 24 hours.
Check out lacked as much as check in - no thanks for your stay. Hope to see you soon. Nothing. I don't know that I'll be going back the next time I'm down.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Euro Hotel as it was ideally located for a gig we were attending. It is very close to Clapham South tube station, a couple of hundred yards, left out of the station. The hotel does appear to have very limited parking but we chose public transport.
Check in was OK, even with a huge party booking in at the same time, the staff were friendly and helpful.
We were located on the first floor, upon entry to the room, some stairs down into the actual room, immediately ahead is a hairdryer and a small vanity unit/desk. On this also are tea/coffee making facilities and a chair. To the right of this a double bed, relatively comfortable, 3 pillows. To the right of this there is a bedside table and a hanging wardrobe.
The room has a flat screen TV with freeview channels.
Finally there is a bathroom, shower, sink and toilet, small but perfectly acceptable.
The room is undoubtedly small, very little room just enough to walk around the bed. It is quiet though and the bed is comfortable, its a cheap base in zone 2 to explore London. Also included is free wifi.
The only negative is the breakfast, its advertised as continental breakfast, it isnt, it is literally, LITERALLY, toast, cereal, tea and coffee. This was OK for me, but not enough to set most people up for the day.
All in all though a good hotel, relatively clean, cheap, friendly and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Euro Hotel Clapham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hotel Clapham

Address: 79-81 Clapham Common South Side, London SW4 9DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #896 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Euro Hotel Clapham 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Euro Hotel Clapham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hotel London
Euro Hotel Clapham London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Euro Hotel Clapham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.