We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip away with my son.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of London Shelton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added London Shelton Hotel to your Saves list
London Shelton Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60-62 Wightman Rd | Finsbury, London N4 1RU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,024 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Trip away with my son.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This can't even be called a Hotel. The place should be shut down. Its not even fit to be a hotel for animals to stay. The man lied to me in front of my son and kept my £50 even though we didn't stay there due to the state of the place. Its a death trap. As we looked at the room my son went into the 'bathroom' and nearly fell over loose floor tiles. You have trouble parking there as the garage next door uses the spaces and doesn't close until gone 6pm.
We found another hotel to stay at for the night as the rooms are AWFUL. If you want to catch something then go and stay there.Could be a rat, mouse, some other type of animal or even DEATH.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    13
    14
    83
See reviews for
6
41
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Where do I start! this hotel is two down from a slum !!
The bathroom was moldy and stank the toilet brush was black with mold as was the soap dish.The heating was on flat out all night with no way of turning it off the latches on the windows were broken off so couldn't open the window the carpets are sticky the bedding was dirty as were the towels this place is one to avoid at all costs

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

all the reviews on here are spot on, I really wish I had read them before I booked it, it was awful, really could off cried and there was no way we could of even contemplated staying there so left after an hour. The reception was like a small run down shed outside, on entering the hotel the carpets were filthy, there were binbags full of rubbish and broken windows. I was dreading opening the room door and our fears were justified. The bedding was dirty, the window catches were broken so they wouldn't shut and I don't want to know what the stains were on the carpet!!! the bathroom was filthy with mouldy shower and sink, another life form growing on the soap dish and a slimy toilet seat. oh and to top it off by 'free parking' they mean there is a wide pavement that you can park on. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else, do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week and made the grave mistake of booking a non refundable booking . After reading the reviews here I was not looking forward to my stay and had tried to cancel it but to no avail.
I arrived around 7pm in the evening to find that my room was not ready and was told that i would have to wait half an hour to check in .At this stage I was tired and not in the mood to wait but agreed to come back . The manager was not at all friendly, he tried to show me into the empty restaurant and was insistent i waited there but i refused . When i returned , the room still wasn't ready and there was no sign of anybody , again i was shown to the restaurant and told to wait . Eventually i was given the key to my room and set off to find it . Thankfully my suitcase had already been put in the room as I had pointed out , I was not dragging it around with me while I waited .
The room was at the tool of several stairs and I can safely say it was not worth the wait .It was extremely small and shabby . I went to sit on the bed and noticed several hairs and stains all over the sheet A bit much as I had already had to wait while they supposedly cleaned it . At this point i was fairly irate so I went and spoke to the manager who was neither friendly or apologetic and more or less waved me away , telling me to go back to the room and wait for it to be cleaned .
The service overall is appalling The rooms are filthy and noisy . The management are rude and extremely unprofessional I would not stay here again under any circumstances , in fact if the booking hadn't been prepaid , I wouldn't have stayed at all Absolutely awful !1 Do not go near it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Room dirty. Shower filthy. No towels. Window would not close, so traffic and railway noise all night. Insisted on cash payment although web site says cards accepted - manager kindly told me where to get cash. Parking was a joke - on pavement.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else - Victoria coach park must be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have been there for one night and i will definitelly not go again.The bed looked like it wasn't changed.Bed sheet stained and with hairs.Walls stained,bathroom disgusting.
Helpful stuff,as they changed the bedding straight away.
However,if you are looking for a clean place,avoid this hotel,as it is far from this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is not 5 Star.

My room was many stairs up to the second floor and there was no lift. I had to skip breakfast as it was fried eggs and toast; no boiled eggs. I could smell cooking oil in the mornings, and there were stains of it one of the towels provided, which also smelled generally of cooking oil. It was noisy on some nights. It was my first experience of having to hand in my key at the reception every time I left for the day and then collect it back upon my return. I shared my room with some kind of insect or fly each day. Not the cleanest en-suite. The shower curtain and bathroom walls were dirty.

However, there is a daily supply of sachets of Eden Shampoo & Conditioner, and Soap. The men are okay who take the payment (in cash, as the card payment machine is not working). The food eating hall is spacious. The bed is comfortable, clean and made every day. The towel was changed on the third or fourth day and it was cleaner than the first ones. There is a TV in the room although not all channels are available. The hotel is not vey expensive. Buses (29, 341, 141, etc) are readily accessible about 6 minutes walk to Endymion Road that lead to towns such as Manor House, Finsbury Park, Angel, Waterloo, and other desirable towns. Market stalls, supermarkets and bigger superstores (such as, Sainsbury's, Argos, Poundland, Boots) are within easy reach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Shelton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Shelton Hotel

Address: 60-62 Wightman Rd | Finsbury, London N4 1RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,024 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — London Shelton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your London Shelton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Shelton Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Shelton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.