We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hour Glass Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hour Glass Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hour Glass Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   131 Beaconsfield Road | Walworth, London SE17 2BX, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 517 London B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hour glass hotel with my partner and I loved every minute of it.
The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy and the breakfast was just what we needed to start our day of touring around London.
The best part of our stay was the bar staff. They were very helpful and polite. Lauren was the one who stood out to us the most, she remembers our names and always made is laugh when she was around. She is a real asset to the establishment.

The only downfall was the owner. He wasn't around much and when he was, he came across very arrogant. He undermined his staff in front of customers which I thought was very unprofessional.

Overall I had a fantastic time, it would be all the better if Lauren was the owner.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    36
    21
    9
    22
See reviews for
23
26
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

hey too all those who have said REALLY BAD THINGS i hate that you are so picky if you had payed any attention to WHAT this place is you wouldnt say anything cos it will be a long time yet before the surounding area clears up . if you wanted 7stars !! you could have gone somewhere else i had the BEST time spending 4 days there and am staying again in september


i will be taking up more of the hotel as am staying for longer next time . i will be looking out for bad reports in future and will put down any i find ..

i thank the owners/runners of this place and i will be looking forward to seeing them again

''special thanks to sebastian''

stayed: (1st--5th)
going to stay in future

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

great prices, great hotel & the bar staff are excellent especially Lauren , she is great and was always very happy to help . good banter as well ! Will definitely be making another visit next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It was exactly as described, except for the sheets and linen that was probably not changed after previous guests had left. Staff (Christopher) was extremely helpful and nice. I didn't feel very safe walking around at night, since the hotel is located in Southwark, one of London's' ghettos, but it's quite near to E&C tube stop and a non-stop bus stops right behind the corner. Taking the price into account it's probably one of better choices for non-demanding visitors

Room Tip: wouldn't recommend rooms above noisy pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked a weekend at this hotel, Friday and Saturday night. Ended up leaving early Saturday morning to book into another hotel. Room was filthy dirty, and smelt strange. Dust bunnies and other 'things' stuck to my shoes from the carpet. The hotel is located in a really dodgy area of London. Had to have a number of beers to get me through the 1st night there. Didn't even bother asking for a refund for the 2nd night, just wanted to get out of that establishment & area as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinna, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A rellay good hotel to stay at. Good service with nice and pleasant staff. The money for this is well spent. Not too far from the subway either, a nice walk in the morning. The free WI-FI worked perfect. Will come back to this place next time we travel to London.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the best hotels in London in its price category. Clean, large room. Excellent service, always responsive and pleasant staff. Great food and location of the hotel is quite acceptable. I'm not the first time was in London, I would say exactly the price of its best hotel I've ever seen. Thank you!

Room Tip: One of the best hotels in London in its price category. Clean, large room. Excellent service, always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hour Glass Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hour Glass Hotel

Address: 131 Beaconsfield Road | Walworth, London SE17 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 517 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hour Glass Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hour Glass is a basic, budget hotel, situated near Central London in multicultural area. Guests at this hotel get to enjoy the benefits of being located above a traditional quiet and cosy little pub with reasonably priced beverages. This atmospheric Victorian pub is a great place to soak up a real taste of traditional English life. You can relax with a drink and pizza or enjoy a game of cards, darts and domino, watch sports on the big screen or simply listen to the music. We are close to: Elephant & Castle - the nearest two underground lines (Northern & Bakerloo) and train station, where you can also find big shopping centre and famous in the whole world Night Club - Ministry of Sound with five different rooms to enjoy your boogie nights; Oval Cricket Ground; Kennington Park; War Museum with free of charge admission; Brixton Academy with loads of various events. Burgess Park with a water pond, where you can relax and play all kind of sport including tennis and football it is only 3 minutes away; Old Kent Road with loads of various cuisine restaurants and buffets, internet cafes, night shops and clubs - 5 min. East Street Market - old fashioned market with fresh groceries and other things - 10 min; Millwall Football Ground - 25 min; ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hour Glass Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hour Glass Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hour Glass Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.