We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fave pub! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lion Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Black Lion Guesthouse to your Saves list
Black Lion Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   274 Kilburn High Road | Kilburn, London NW6 2BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #241 of 535 London B&B and Inns
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fave pub! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is the best pub in the world. Please don't come here. I'm trying to save it for just people I love. Though if you came here and loved its beautiful architecture, it's charming music and the warm, slightly drunk people of Kilburn I would love you too - and after some delicious tapas we'd practically be family.


Seriously, get out of central London. This place is the pub of pubs.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    33
    24
    9
    19
See reviews for
18
32
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

£49 for B&B in 0207 - what a bargain. Staff that do everything they can to help and a comfortable bed. Value for money? Oh yes! Would definitely stay here again no doubt. I guess it ain't the ritz but I paid £49 to stay in NW6. All good from my perspective.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here and the state of the building is terrible. The walls are peeling off and the bathroom smelled of smoke.

More importantly, the owners are highly unreliable. We asked them to call a taxi and the one that took us was an amateur who navigated using his phone and took the longest possible route to our destination. He did not have a taxometer either, but just told us a price.

After our stay, we started receiving spam email from the hotel's email account asking us for money for people who were supposedly stranded there.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone under its current management.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We are very sorry that you were not happy with your stay at the Black Lion.

We wanted to address some of the points you made:

* All our room's are non smoking if you had suspected the previous guest had been smoking in the bathroom we would have apprecitaed it if we were informed at the time, we could have deep cleaned the bathroom for you and also made contact with the previous occupant who would have received a fine.
* We use the same mini cab firm for all our customers and this is the first time we have received a complaint, if you had wanted a taxi with a meter this should have been specified at the time and we could have booked you a black cab, when booking cars for our customers we always get a quote from the taxi firm and relay this to the customer, if this did not happen on this occasion i can only apologise as we do not your name or when you stayed I can not pursue this matter with the taxi company, however if you would like to get in touch with us I can most certainly do this.
* In the hallway's we are currently re-decorating and this should be the only area where the walls are peeling this is because we are in the process of re-decorating, our room's are checked on a daily basis and none of the internal room's have any peeling walls.
* Regrading the spam email our account was hacked over the weekend- we apologise to anyone who has received this email, we have tried to contact as many people as possible but as you can imagine this will take some time as we have 1000's of contacts, as soon as we realised we had been hacked we contacted our email provider.
We would appreciate it if at some point you would give us a call so we can discuss all the above matters and offer you some kind of compensation. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is quite a good location, it is 20 min. to central London on Jubilee line. Kilburn is sometimes a bit rough but otherwise convenient area for a short stay in LND. Pros: affordable rates for London, good location, nice park behind, big and clean rooms, wi-fi. Cons: noise from the street (although double glazing windows helped), what is a little disaster is breakfast - only a toast and a slice of ham/cheese (if you are faster than others) and perhaps tea if there is hot water in a pot?! this part was really disapointing considering you are paying for it, no eggs possible nothing... if there would be a choise of no breakfast, than go for it and eat better elsewhere. On the whole it is a good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laos
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

What a disgraceful place.

So, I booked a deal with lastminute.com and it was all paid for and confirmed. Received the email. Sorted. Booked my trip and trains around it.

24 hours later Black Lion get in touch to say there was an error and the room's no longer available. It's evident what happened was they didn't like the deal I got and so they tried to bump me out. I complained to lastminute because it was all confirmed and I'd made my arrangements, who rang Sabrina the manager and hey presto it's all restored.

Only, it isn't. 24 hours later I get another email from lastminute to say I will now have to pay 10 times as much as the deal I originally got because it was an error.

Disgraceful scammers and hoodlums. Have nothing to do with this place.

Room Tip: Do not choose ANY room in this hotel: scammers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
This gentlemen Mr Hoskins misunderstood the room rate quoted and expected to pay £5 instead of the correct rate £55 per night.

When the misunderstanding was point out to Mr Hoskins he adopted an unreasonable approach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The staff is really helpfull and polite. Clean spacy rooms, bathroom very small .-(. Breakfast and food very good, nice and remarkable breakfast room. The street was a bit dirty and a lot of traffic. But the area is really intersting with theatre, cinema, restaurants and pubs. And !! the beautiful Kilburn Park right behind the hotel. Bus and tube are very very close, so the access to the city centre is easy and fast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I live in the area so I frequently meet friends at the Black Lion pub for a catch up and maybe some food. So whilst I can't comment on the hotel, I can say that the pub is lovely. One of the nicest places to spend a relaxed evening or Sunday afternoon as it's rarely more that three quarters full. The ceiling is amazing and I love the decor in there, too.

Have eaten a roast and tapas-like dishes in there a couple of times - very nice, reasonably priced.

However, what prevents me giving the Black Lion 4 or even 5 stars is the drinks selection. I am sure that last year, they had beers and ales on tap and now it's not possible to get a drink from draught. They have Theakstons and a honey ale in a 500ml bottle - fine, but that is more expensive than draught and the selection is thus very limited. Similarly the wines are a bit overpriced for the quality.

However, I still think it's the best pub in the area - far better than the North London Tavern just across the road for ambience and a lovely interior.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Lion Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Guesthouse

Address: 274 Kilburn High Road | Kilburn, London NW6 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Lion Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lion Guesthouse is a beautiful period building based in Kilburn, North West London. We combine a bar and restaurant downstairs with stunning features and Grade II listed interior with 14 guesthouse rooms above. We are proud to offer affordable quality accommodation. The bar is friendly and popular and directly opposite London’s famous Tricycle Theatre. The bar also serves a range of premium dishes.Perfectly placed for your visit to London, we are very close to both Kilburn Tube Station and Brondesbury Stations. We are also well served by local buses that run from our door step to Marble Arch, Paddington & Victoria. The night bus from Central London also passes our guesthouse door, making travelling around London when staying with us very easy and your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Black Lion Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Guesthouse Hotel London
Black Lion Guesthouse London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Lion Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.