We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ember Yard

Ember Yard
60 Berwick Street, London W1F 8SU, England
+44 20 7439 8057
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,419 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Ember Yard is the fourth restaurant from Salt Yard Group and takes inspiration from Spanish and Italian methods of cooking over charcoal. Ember Yard is located at number 60 Berwick Street (in the heart of Soho) and is a lovely two storey restaurant and bar, with an open plan kitchen on the ground floor and a cool and cosy bar on the lower ground floor. We also have a private dining room that can accommodate parties of up to 20 people - perfect for parties, meetings or fun group get-togethers! The same delicious menu is available throughout and we encourage you to come along before you dine to sample one of our specially created Ember-themed cocktails.
Exhall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fab !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch 23/01/14. A lovely tapas style restaurant with Spanish and Italian influences. Very friendly and accommodating. Super chefs who were very obliging when I asked about the josper oven they have. Took time to explain how wonderful the oven is and how it works etc. If I lived in London this would be a restaurant I would use often. The pork belly was beautifully cooked and melted in the mouth as were the baby octopus, super crunchy, very tasty. Although the best bit for myself and the others with me were the quince glazed ribs. The meat fell off the bone and the smokiness was perfect. We also ate chicken pork pinchos and a few other dishes, all with a lovely smoky yum or freshness. Desert was grilled Mahon with honey and crisp flat bread and my colleagues ate panacotta which was also very good. A good selection of wine by the glass as well as bottles. We left feeling very happy without feeling stuffed. Worth sitting at the high tables so you can see what is going on at the grill if that's what floats your boat !

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    57
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“superb soho tapas gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

ive heard a lot about this place recently and have been meaning to go for a while as i work locally. the place looks very nice, with a warm Mediterranean feel to it. very friendly and keen staff are the first impressions on seating. what makes this place really special is the innovative and delicious tapas plates served from a wood grill. Everything we tried was delicious-chicken and leeks, lamb and aubergine and baked vegetables, beautiful beetroot and orange salad. we finished with chocaolate pudding with salted caramel and an amazing pannacotta. These people also own Dehesa i think but this is another level up. cant wait to come back-seriously recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Scrummie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Small tapas style plates of food were awesome! Grilled new Caledonian prawns (11 quid) scrummie. Definitely return for another helping.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A perfect lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Two of us had a perfect lunch at Ember Yard early in the New Year. The food was delicious, the service, (Paula,) was just right - friendly and informative. The whole experience could only have been improved by a few more people in the restaurant but it's very new. It's
obviously going to fly before long.
I can thoroughly recommend: crispy squid, pork fat chips, grilled Presa, chargrilled chicory, pork ribs, and pear salad. The brown panna cotta with Malaga raisin ice cream and spiced biscuit was a memorable dessert.
We're planning to go again soon.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best cocktail I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Can't fault anything here. Friendly efficient service. Interesting and delicious food. Try the salt-marsh lamb and burger. Very yummy! And if you try just one thing here make it the profumera de Maria. Just the best cocktail in the world.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ember Yard also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Ember Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ember Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.