We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza on the River - Club and Residence to your Saves list
Plaza on the River - Club and Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #112 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Notts UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely hotel in good location 5 minute walk to Vauxhall station, staff professional and friendly at all times, a credit to the hotel. Stayed in studio room, clean modern with self catering facilities if needed, bed very comfortable, only downside our room faced the atrium and was too hot, A/Con on coldest setting still seemed to throw out hot air therefore next time will definitely book a Riverview or Balcony room. Breakfast good quality and selection, staff efficient and helpful. Lovely extra touches, offer of champagne on arrival, bed turndown service, chocolates on pillow, Elemis toiletries, Juice and pastries on ground floor, all contribute to the attention to detail provided throughout this hotel but the staff make this hotel hence the title!!!

Room Tip: Next time will pay extra for Riverview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    136
    30
    20
    13
See reviews for
261
261
48
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful. There is a lot of building work going on in the area surrounding the hotel and we stated we wanted to be in a room away from the noise due to having 2 young children with us. They initially wanted to charge extra to upgrade our room but eventually done it free of charge and we were very pleasantly surprised to end up in a 2 bed suite with balcony overlooking the river. We would have been a bit unhappy if we did pay extra as the carpet in one bedroom was very dirty and the plug was broken in one bathroom which resulted in a sink full of water for our stay. I did call reception and they said someone would be up to look at it immediately but nobody ever turned up. As this was a free upgrade and a short stay we saw no reason to complain. We had room service which was very reasonably priced and arrived very quickly. The breakfast food was very good but I would have preferred baked beans on my full English veggie breakfast rather than 2 large pieces of grilled pepper! Overall our stay was great and have already recommended this hotel to family.

Room Tip: Check out where your room is in relation to the building works
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear DoraNorwich,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for posting your comment on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Please note that we are currently soft refurbishing the rooms. Currently the main focus is on the floor as well as the carpets.
I have passed on your comments to the breakfast team. They were happy to hear that overall you were happy with the breakfast. Bakes bean is available in Chino Latino with the veggie breakfast however it is currently not part of the vegetarian option.

We appreciate your feedback and looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a wonderful stay in "Plaza on the River". The staff were very welcoming, even gave us a glass of champagne on arrival as we were celebrating a special occasion. Our room was amazing, we had a sitting room with sofa bed which my daughter slept in which even had a kitchen area with table and chairs, a separate large bedroom with fab bathroom. It was more like an apartment than a room and we had a balcony accessible from both bedroom and sitting room where you could sit out in even in wet weather and had amazing views of Big Ben and the river. The TV was great and although we only stayed one night, we thought the kitchen area was really well organised with cutlery, plates, fridge freezer etc... you could easily eat very comfortably in your room. The decor is classy and we had a really good sleep, no noise issues at all. I would really recommend upgrading as we did to a room with a balcony as that is really special. Breakfast was really good with a lovely buffet and hot choices included, friendly and efficient service. The bar food was good also.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Fahey_10,

Thank you very much posting this wonderful comment.

I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the room especially the balcony. It might be a tad too cold now, but the view is amazing. The small supplement fee to upgrade to the balcony rooms are indeed worth it.

Please feel free to contact us again, should you like to reserve one of these apartments.

Hopefully it will be warmer as well.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

hotel location, rooms and friendliness of the staff is fantastic. cant fault the hotel. The food in the restaurant was excellent, highly recommend the taster menu. OVERALL THE EXPERIENCE WAS FANTASTIC

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Chris N,

Thank you very much for your sweet comment posted on Tripadvisor.

We are very much looking forward welcoming you back.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel room was very clean, comfortable and spacious, the views were fantastic. The staff were all very personable, friendly and helpful we received great customer service. The food was also really nice. Our stay was very enjoyable and would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Emma C,


Thank you for taking time to share such kind words on your recent experience.

Thrilled you enjoyed it, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon,

Kind Regards,

Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed 5 days in one of the river side appartments and our entire stay at Plaza on the River was quite enjoyable. The location is convenient. Quality of the hotel and restaurant is very good. Most noticeable was the service of the personnel which was great and felt quite sincere. This really makes a difference and added to our overall great experience here.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Paul N,

Wow… what a fantastic comment.
Thank you very much for choosing Plaza on the River for your family trip to London. I am extremely happy that you were satisfied with the service. We are proud to provide professional customer service and ensure we meet our guests’ expectation.

We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If they did the Plaza on the River would win this hands down. The customer service is second to none, it is like a golden thread running throughout all staff. They say the best leaders lead by example and this is certainly true here. Gabriella (Front of House Manager) clearly instills an excellent ethos in her teams which is reflected in the high standards experienced.

The accommodation is, as ever, faultless and the attention to detail is clear to see. Rooms are spotless and all the facilities are top class. Room service is speedy, efficient and food is excellent.

Cant fault this place, the location is ideal for central London and the iconic views are unbeatable (see photo taken from our balcony)

Would definitely recommend and I will be staying here again in December for a girly Xmas shopping trip and looking forward to it already!

Well done to all on providing such fantastic service, certainly Gold Standard in my view.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Chris B1959,

Thank you very much for your compliments in regards to room related facilities, food and mostly the helpful staff. I am looking forward to the next opportunity to be standing at your disposal.

Please feel free to contact us prior to your X-mas shopping tour to London, so we can assure you have one of the balcony rooms awaiting for you to relax after an exhausting day.


With warm regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza on the River - Club and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in London
#92 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Romantic Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River - Club and Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Plaza on the River - Club and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.