We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality Hotel in a Fantastic Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Save Saved
You added Plaza on the River - Club and Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaza on the River - Club and Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #84 of 1,073 hotels in London
Penarth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“High Quality Hotel in a Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in mid April celebrating our wedding anniversary and as a late treat for my 30th birthday. The hotel is in a fantastic location on the Albert Embankment, situated between Vauxhall and Lambeth Bridges. Westminster and the Southbank are a 10 - 15 minute walkaway depending on your pace. The hotel is modern, clean and spacious with plenty of attentive staff on hand to offer advice and assistance. We stayed in one of the suites which we booked through our Club Carlson points. Our room was fantastic with panoramic views over the Thames and Westminster, we've stayed in London quite a few times and without a doubt this is the best view that we've had. The rooms were spacious, well kept and generously appointed with a balcony linked between the bedroom and lounge, a kitchenette, 2 flat screen TVs, a washing machine, coffee maker, kettle and walk in shower with a wide range of complimentary toiletries. As we had mentioned the special occassion at the time of booking the hotel gaves us a bottle of wine and a small box of chocolates as a gift which was a nice touch. On the day of our check out they also offered to securely store our luggage until we were ready which really helped as we had a busy day before leaving the city and would be passing the hotel on our way home.
If we had the oppurtunity we would have no hesistation in staying here again. We've stayed in a lot of hotels in both the UK and USA and this one is easily up there with the best.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    574
    120
    24
    16
    12
See reviews for
230
248
47
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

everything from the low key, very personal check in, to the large river Thames facing rooms is immaculate. My room had a huge lounge and diner, kitchenette with washing machine, coffee maker, two televisions, ipod dock and a walk in shower (with extra bath).

the fact that this room was free with club carlson points is just the icing on the cake. to stay in a 5 star hotel that offers every service possible with quiet efficiency for the same number of points as other, less impressive hotels is just a great thing.

If you're in the carlson programme and have points, try it, you won't be disappointed.

for a special trip to London, this is an amazing hotel

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We travelled as a party of two adults and two children aged 4yrs and 10yrs and stayed on a Friday night during the Easter holidays. We arrived at the hotel an hour before check in and although our room wasn't ready we completed all the check in paperwork, discovered we had been upgraded to a river view suite (a nice bonus) left our luggage and headed back into London. Location wise it's about a 10-15 minute walk (our children slowed us down a little) from the London Eye out of the hotel turn right. The suite was fantastic with small kitchen including a dishwasher, washing machine, hob, nepresso coffee machine and sink. Dining table to seat 4, lounge area with sofa, flat screen TV,desk and floor to ceiling views of the river. The first bedroom was very spacious and had a king bed, wardrobe space, flat screen TV bath robes and slippers and floor to ceiling views of the river. The bathroom not actually ensuite as you walked out of bedroom door straight into it but close enough! It was huge with sink/vanity area, toilet, bath and separate walk in shower. The second bedroom was again a great size in a triangle shape made up as a twin with a flat screen TV, wardrobe space, bath robes and slippers and floor to ceiling views of the river. The ensuite bathroom again was a good size with sink/vanity area, toilet and shower. We received a voucher for a free drink so went down to the bar for a drink. Lovely modern bar area with sofas and comfy chairs. We were served at the table and the bar was quiet. The restaurant was an Asian/Chinese Fusion which didn't appeal to the children but we would of liked it! We went back up to the room and ordered room service. The menu was varied and not badly priced I have seen far more expensive room service menus! We ate at the dining table which the children loved! The food was very tasty and arrived in good time. Everyone had a great nights sleep very comfy and no noise. The showers were powerful and hot the robes and slippers a nice touch and worn by all of us! Breakfast in the restaurant was very good. Continental buffet and juices and as we had a bed & breakfast rate a film English breakfast cooked to order was included too! Tea, coffee and toast served to the table. The children enjoyed helping themselves to muffins, fresh fruits, cereals, juices and yoghurts. No one left hungry!! I would highly recommend this hotel especially if you are travelling with children. The space the apartment gives you means you aren't living on top of each other and the children really loved having their own bedroom to play and watch TV in. Plus we stayed up after they had gone to bed to watch TV in peace! We took a bottle of wine with us and popped it on the fridge to chill much cheaper than hotel bar prices. Would definitely stay again if we had another trip to London far less stressful than squeezing into one room with two excitable children!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

From the moment I got here the level of service has been utterly fantastic. Firstly we got upgraded to a luxury apartment.....which was beautiful, from the comfortable beds to the magnificent and rather decadent bathroom. Throughout my stay I was dealt with by Aneta Brombosz and her team. I have to say, the level of service was out of this world, made my one night stay so easy and enjoyable, everything and anything I wanted was organised electrically fast. Will I be staying again........you bet ya!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Plaza on the River with our 2 children in a 1 bedroom suite. The view from our 7th floor room was OUTRAGEOUS! In the evening, Big Ben is beautifully lit up and during the day, you can see everything. It was a treat to just stay in the hotel.

The pull-out couch in the livingroom is definitely NOT comfortable but the view was far better than from the bedroom. The unit was very clean and updated, tastefully decorated. Bathroom was spacious. We even had a balcony that would have been lovely to use if the weather wasn't so cold.

The in-house restaurant downstairs was good. There is a small grocery store around the corner that was very convenient.

Concierge was helpful and friendly...

Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: River view on higher floor!! I would HIGHLY encourage everyone to get a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear reviewingmom,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us here at the Plaza on the River Club and Residence.

I am extremely happy to note that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your praising words of our One-bedroom apartment with River view and its facilities.

It is nice to learn that you were satisfied with our services & facilities in the nearby area.

I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future for your next stay and hopefully the weather will be better.


Best regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisons-Laffitte, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom suite on the 5th floor. There was a little noise in the morning from construction work going on in the building next to the hotel and some early morning barking from, presumably, the guard dog on the site, but generally nothing to disturb our sleep or stay. The room was clean with good facilities (hob, washing machine, dishwasher and microwave) though we had no use for these. We used the gym, which was adequately equipped and refreshingly empty, and ate one evening in the restaurant, Chino Latino, which was fantastic. There were a few small niggles/observations, but nothing to spoil our overall enjoyment e.g. the coffee capsules weren't replenished after the 1st day, the turn-down service (with the free chocolates) was only provided on the 2nd evening - surely if you are paying for 3 nights you should have this every night? and every time we passed reception when somebody was checking in these people received a free glass of champagne - we didn't get this! Staff were friendly and welcoming. Would recommend the hotel and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear StourGrove,

Thank you for your review and your lovely comments about the staff across the hotel. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

I am truly sorry that you had some consistency issues with the housekeeping services during your stay. Your comments have been forwarded to the Executive Housekeeper to review to avoid this in the future.

I do hope we can welcome you back again in the future and enjoy a glass of Champagne upon arrival.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a fantastic stay here in a two-room suite with a fantastic view of the Thames and parliament building. Was only staying for one night but could easily imagine coming back to stay here again - especially for for longer durations. My apartment (although with the comfort and design of a luxury hotel suite) was very welcoming, clean and warm. Great desk, fantastic selection in the "large" mini bar.

Didn't have a chance to try out any spa or gym this time around so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear MrPontus,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

I do hope you’ll be able to join us for a longer stay on your next visit and try one of our gym facilities.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza on the River - Club and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in London
#67 Luxury Hotel in London
#88 Romantic Hotel in London
#104 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River - Club and Residence 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, LondonMarketing.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Plaza on the River - Club and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.