We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location with view of Themes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza on the River - Club and Residence to your Saves list
Plaza on the River - Club and Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #137 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Central location with view of Themes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our family of 4 managed to catch a train from Heathrow, change onto a tube to Vauxhall and walk the 10 minutes to the hotel without too much drama!! The hotel is located almost between the London Eye and Vauxhall station. Its right over the road from the Themes and in stones throw of Westminster and Big Ben...both of which are right across the river.We booked a large family room that had a separate master bedroom and a large bathroom with separate bath and shower. The lounge/kitchenette area was roomy with a sofa bed for the 2 kids and the kitchenette complete with coffee machine and a washer/dryer [bliss]. The view straight over the Themes was really lovely. Vibrant and interesting watching the boats go by and the different activity along the river walkway. We walked to the right, out of the hotel along the Themes which was stunning on a clear winter evening with all the city lights sparkling along the rivers edge....after 10 minutes walk we reached the London Eye [great at night} and dinner at Waggamamma. The kids loved the street performers...music, mime etc and we felt safe walking back to the hotel at 11pm. To get into central london we walked Left out of the hotel back to Vauxhall station and went to all the places we wanted to visit on the tube. so efficient and easy. [using our weekly Oyster cards purchased when we arrived ]Internet was great at the hotel.We ate out and stocked our kitchen with food basics.

Room Tip: Ask for their bigger rooms with kitchenettes if travelling with kids. A view of the river makes the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear TaniaK,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience

We look forward to welcoming you back at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence. Please feel free to contact us directly to book one of our Two bedroom apartments overlooking the river again.

Kindest regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    175
    40
    21
    18
See reviews for
349
290
53
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fantastic river view ,separate 1 bedroom apartment . Haven't slept so soundly for months. Superb ,cool , silky sheets , excellent bathroom facilities, space and tranquility. Great Chino Latino restaurant, atmospheric and delicious. Breakfast plentiful , but difficulty getting any toast on second morning despite asking 3 times ! Staff on the whole charming and helpful, one or two could do with a "tweek" Would thoroughly recommend this venue for a restful retreat to anyone who wanted to relax after a day in London .

Room Tip: River view are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear ianpistoff,

On behalf of the Plaza on the River Team Guest Relations Team I would like to wish you a Happy Birthday.
I was delighted to read your comments regarding the hotel and the staff. We always pride ourselves to provide high level of customer service and I am pleased to see that we have made your family's experience a memorable one.
I have taken the opportunity to share your feedback regarding breakfast to our Food & Beverage Manager who has assured me this one of incident will not happen again in the future

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in the apartments for our honeymoon at the start of January and were delighted with the quality of the room. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and the standard was fantastic. Well laid out with everything you could ask for and more. Very easy to get all around London as only a short walk to the tube station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Ash3012,

Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards your recent stay at Plaza on the River Club and Residence.
We are proud to be your London hotel on such a special occasion.
To hear such positive feedback is a great start to our day and we are looking forward to your next visit, maybe for your first anniversary?

Feel free to contact myself directly if I can be of any assistance.

Kindest Regards
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had experienced many issues with the hotel before we got there in regards to them not carrying out checking of their advertising on other partner sites,

Although our view was lovely, if we had not got a river view i would have been very disappointed and rather just kept the curtains shut.

The rooms were far from the 5 star standard, the bath some of it was starting to come apart, the cream carpets had black marks all over it, no bin liners in the bins, the washing machine didn't work. Using the televisions was hard work since the actual remotes didn't work,

As for customer service it was extremely disappointing for the amount that was paid for our room, and to then get there and pay an extra 50 pound per night, surely just to pay for what is used would be more appropriate. No Sir or Madam was use or even Miss and Mr was just first names.....5 Star I think not. From the beginning this is lacking, managers stating they will ring back I'd been waiting over a month for 2 different managers call backs.

The way one part of our party were dealt with on check out was rather rude.

Overall we felt this hotel was all about this money....money this and money that, not about the individuals at all. For over 200 pound a night, what was we paying for, personally just the room which really wasn't worth that especially since you could tell someone had been there before us, not the customer service and definitely nothing inside since everything in the room was extra.

Personally after my and my parties experience, we feel you deserve to be stripped of your stars so this alerts people you are not as magnificent as you expect a 5 star to be and not to make the same mistake we did. Hopefully you will improve.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear YorkSteph2013,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your experience at Plaza on the River – Club and Residence, London. Please be assured that I have personally investigated all of your comments with the relevant Heads of Departments, and relayed your feedback to them.

With regard to the pre-authorisation matter, your card was pre-authorised upon check-in on to cover any incidentals as mentioned. As per our standard procedures, all pre-authorisations are taken only after being fully explained to the guest upon check-in and I trust this was made clear to you. It is common practise in the hotel industry to take this action prior to giving access to their rooms. .

I was shocked to read that you were addressed by your first name as all staff is fully aware our policies and knows the standard greeting of our guests. I reiterated your comments to the team and I am sorry that this was not done.

Having discussed your comments about the standard of the room I have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping and Engineering Teams and the issues have been addressed internally.

Once again thank you for your comments, it is only when people such as yourself take the time and trouble to provide us with feedback that we are able to monitor and improve our performance and the service that we offer.

Yours Sincerely,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel at the start of a six week trip around Europe - it certainly set the bar high!

The room was fantastic, nice and large with a kitchenette, a lounge and a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom was also excellent with a large shower with good water pressure. To be honest, we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel because we were out seeing London, but when we were there we really enjoyed the place.

It was about a 5-10 minute walk to Vauxhall Tube stop, and probably about a 10-15 minute walk to the London Eye and the Westminster Abbey.

The most impressive thing about this hotel for us was as we were leaving. We had checked out in the morning and left our bags in the lobby to collect later. When we cam back from our day out in London, my wife's ankle was quite sore. When we collect our bags, I asked where the nearest pharmacy was so I could buy an ankle brace, but instead the concierge made it his mission to find a bandage for me. He walked around to several different places in the lobby until he found a bandage and then brought it back to us. Now, this bandage probably wasn't worth a fortune, but it shows a desire to go above and beyond the standard call of duty of a concierge - particularly as we had checked out and were leaving. Excellent service.

Thank you to all the staff of this wonderful hotel, if/when we return to London we will be staying here again. Well done.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had an excellent three night stay in an 11th floor, 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the Thames. We really loved the polished contemporary floor plan and the privacy of the spacious en-suite bedrooms. Having ample space and privacy was a real treat compared with the cramp quarters we had experienced at our previous hotel. We enjoyed dinner one night at Chino Latino and appreciated the attentiveness of the gracious restaurant and bar staff. Great river views, our lux accommodations, and a courteous hotel staff added to our Five-Star Experience at The Plaza On The River!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was by far the best hotel experience we have ever had in London. Prior to our arrival we were upgraded to the 12th floor with a stunning view of the Thames. Our two bedroom suite was spacious complete with every amenity (including a washer and dryer). We were blown away by the courteous staff who went out of their way to accomodate us. From the turn down service staff to the room service staff, everyone treated us like true royalty. This is a quiet hotel so if you're looking for rest and relaxation, look no further than Plaza on the River.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Wendydomin,

I am truly delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Teams are really do enjoy delivering inspirational service to give you a truly memorable stay. I will pass on your comments to the team.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon at Plaza on the River.

Warm regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza Riverbank London
#381 of 1,055 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,968 reviews
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Town Hall Hotel
#99 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#55 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,835 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River - Club and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in London
#110 Luxury Hotel in London
#115 Family Hotel in London
#185 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River - Club and Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Plaza on the River - Club and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.