We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Save Saved
You added Plaza on the River - Club and Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaza on the River - Club and Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #84 of 1,073 hotels in London
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fantastic river view ,separate 1 bedroom apartment . Haven't slept so soundly for months. Superb ,cool , silky sheets , excellent bathroom facilities, space and tranquility. Great Chino Latino restaurant, atmospheric and delicious. Breakfast plentiful , but difficulty getting any toast on second morning despite asking 3 times ! Staff on the whole charming and helpful, one or two could do with a "tweek" Would thoroughly recommend this venue for a restful retreat to anyone who wanted to relax after a day in London .

Room Tip: River view are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear ianpistoff,

On behalf of the Plaza on the River Team Guest Relations Team I would like to wish you a Happy Birthday.
I was delighted to read your comments regarding the hotel and the staff. We always pride ourselves to provide high level of customer service and I am pleased to see that we have made your family's experience a memorable one.
I have taken the opportunity to share your feedback regarding breakfast to our Food & Beverage Manager who has assured me this one of incident will not happen again in the future

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    602
    128
    25
    16
    12
See reviews for
229
248
46
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in the apartments for our honeymoon at the start of January and were delighted with the quality of the room. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and the standard was fantastic. Well laid out with everything you could ask for and more. Very easy to get all around London as only a short walk to the tube station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Ash3012,

Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards your recent stay at Plaza on the River Club and Residence.
We are proud to be your London hotel on such a special occasion.
To hear such positive feedback is a great start to our day and we are looking forward to your next visit, maybe for your first anniversary?

Feel free to contact myself directly if I can be of any assistance.

Kindest Regards
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had experienced many issues with the hotel before we got there in regards to them not carrying out checking of their advertising on other partner sites,

Although our view was lovely, if we had not got a river view i would have been very disappointed and rather just kept the curtains shut.

The rooms were far from the 5 star standard, the bath some of it was starting to come apart, the cream carpets had black marks all over it, no bin liners in the bins, the washing machine didn't work. Using the televisions was hard work since the actual remotes didn't work,

As for customer service it was extremely disappointing for the amount that was paid for our room, and to then get there and pay an extra 50 pound per night, surely just to pay for what is used would be more appropriate. No Sir or Madam was use or even Miss and Mr was just first names.....5 Star I think not. From the beginning this is lacking, managers stating they will ring back I'd been waiting over a month for 2 different managers call backs.

The way one part of our party were dealt with on check out was rather rude.

Overall we felt this hotel was all about this money....money this and money that, not about the individuals at all. For over 200 pound a night, what was we paying for, personally just the room which really wasn't worth that especially since you could tell someone had been there before us, not the customer service and definitely nothing inside since everything in the room was extra.

Personally after my and my parties experience, we feel you deserve to be stripped of your stars so this alerts people you are not as magnificent as you expect a 5 star to be and not to make the same mistake we did. Hopefully you will improve.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear YorkSteph2013,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your experience at Plaza on the River – Club and Residence, London. Please be assured that I have personally investigated all of your comments with the relevant Heads of Departments, and relayed your feedback to them.

With regard to the pre-authorisation matter, your card was pre-authorised upon check-in on to cover any incidentals as mentioned. As per our standard procedures, all pre-authorisations are taken only after being fully explained to the guest upon check-in and I trust this was made clear to you. It is common practise in the hotel industry to take this action prior to giving access to their rooms. .

I was shocked to read that you were addressed by your first name as all staff is fully aware our policies and knows the standard greeting of our guests. I reiterated your comments to the team and I am sorry that this was not done.

Having discussed your comments about the standard of the room I have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping and Engineering Teams and the issues have been addressed internally.

Once again thank you for your comments, it is only when people such as yourself take the time and trouble to provide us with feedback that we are able to monitor and improve our performance and the service that we offer.

Yours Sincerely,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel at the start of a six week trip around Europe - it certainly set the bar high!

The room was fantastic, nice and large with a kitchenette, a lounge and a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom was also excellent with a large shower with good water pressure. To be honest, we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel because we were out seeing London, but when we were there we really enjoyed the place.

It was about a 5-10 minute walk to Vauxhall Tube stop, and probably about a 10-15 minute walk to the London Eye and the Westminster Abbey.

The most impressive thing about this hotel for us was as we were leaving. We had checked out in the morning and left our bags in the lobby to collect later. When we cam back from our day out in London, my wife's ankle was quite sore. When we collect our bags, I asked where the nearest pharmacy was so I could buy an ankle brace, but instead the concierge made it his mission to find a bandage for me. He walked around to several different places in the lobby until he found a bandage and then brought it back to us. Now, this bandage probably wasn't worth a fortune, but it shows a desire to go above and beyond the standard call of duty of a concierge - particularly as we had checked out and were leaving. Excellent service.

Thank you to all the staff of this wonderful hotel, if/when we return to London we will be staying here again. Well done.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had an excellent three night stay in an 11th floor, 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the Thames. We really loved the polished contemporary floor plan and the privacy of the spacious en-suite bedrooms. Having ample space and privacy was a real treat compared with the cramp quarters we had experienced at our previous hotel. We enjoyed dinner one night at Chino Latino and appreciated the attentiveness of the gracious restaurant and bar staff. Great river views, our lux accommodations, and a courteous hotel staff added to our Five-Star Experience at The Plaza On The River!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was by far the best hotel experience we have ever had in London. Prior to our arrival we were upgraded to the 12th floor with a stunning view of the Thames. Our two bedroom suite was spacious complete with every amenity (including a washer and dryer). We were blown away by the courteous staff who went out of their way to accomodate us. From the turn down service staff to the room service staff, everyone treated us like true royalty. This is a quiet hotel so if you're looking for rest and relaxation, look no further than Plaza on the River.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Wendydomin,

I am truly delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Teams are really do enjoy delivering inspirational service to give you a truly memorable stay. I will pass on your comments to the team.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon at Plaza on the River.

Warm regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with perfect facilities, in an ideal location and with very helpful staff. Stayed for 2 nights between christmas and new year 2012 and is probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear timWE,

Many thanks for leaving such positive feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read how much your enjoyed the whole experience.

It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the rest of the team and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza on the River - Club and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in London
#67 Luxury Hotel in London
#88 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River - Club and Residence 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Plaza on the River - Club and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.