We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - just a little bit outside all the main London attractions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Save Saved
You added Plaza on the River - Club and Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaza on the River - Club and Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #83 of 1,073 hotels in London
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - just a little bit outside all the main London attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel at the start of a six week trip around Europe - it certainly set the bar high!

The room was fantastic, nice and large with a kitchenette, a lounge and a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom was also excellent with a large shower with good water pressure. To be honest, we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel because we were out seeing London, but when we were there we really enjoyed the place.

It was about a 5-10 minute walk to Vauxhall Tube stop, and probably about a 10-15 minute walk to the London Eye and the Westminster Abbey.

The most impressive thing about this hotel for us was as we were leaving. We had checked out in the morning and left our bags in the lobby to collect later. When we cam back from our day out in London, my wife's ankle was quite sore. When we collect our bags, I asked where the nearest pharmacy was so I could buy an ankle brace, but instead the concierge made it his mission to find a bandage for me. He walked around to several different places in the lobby until he found a bandage and then brought it back to us. Now, this bandage probably wasn't worth a fortune, but it shows a desire to go above and beyond the standard call of duty of a concierge - particularly as we had checked out and were leaving. Excellent service.

Thank you to all the staff of this wonderful hotel, if/when we return to London we will be staying here again. Well done.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    602
    127
    25
    16
    12
See reviews for
228
248
46
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had an excellent three night stay in an 11th floor, 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the Thames. We really loved the polished contemporary floor plan and the privacy of the spacious en-suite bedrooms. Having ample space and privacy was a real treat compared with the cramp quarters we had experienced at our previous hotel. We enjoyed dinner one night at Chino Latino and appreciated the attentiveness of the gracious restaurant and bar staff. Great river views, our lux accommodations, and a courteous hotel staff added to our Five-Star Experience at The Plaza On The River!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was by far the best hotel experience we have ever had in London. Prior to our arrival we were upgraded to the 12th floor with a stunning view of the Thames. Our two bedroom suite was spacious complete with every amenity (including a washer and dryer). We were blown away by the courteous staff who went out of their way to accomodate us. From the turn down service staff to the room service staff, everyone treated us like true royalty. This is a quiet hotel so if you're looking for rest and relaxation, look no further than Plaza on the River.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Wendydomin,

I am truly delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Teams are really do enjoy delivering inspirational service to give you a truly memorable stay. I will pass on your comments to the team.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon at Plaza on the River.

Warm regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with perfect facilities, in an ideal location and with very helpful staff. Stayed for 2 nights between christmas and new year 2012 and is probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear timWE,

Many thanks for leaving such positive feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read how much your enjoyed the whole experience.

It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the rest of the team and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I went to this hotel with my four children and I had my best hotel experience ever!!!
Standard is perfect, staff was perfect, cleaning was perfect. My children found the room so nice that they just wanted to stay in the room. 3 TV´s is nice and a iphone docking station.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear ClasNormann,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence. Please feel free to contact us directly to book yet another apartment for you.

Kindest regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

i booked this hotel for two nights as as a birthday present for my husband, to say he was very impressed with this place would be an understatement!! we had a beautiful one bedroom suite with views looking over the river thames, big ben and the houses of parliment, all the staff we had contact with were very proffesional and friendly, especally Annetta on reception who, when she found out it was my husbands birthday, as we discovered when we got to our suite, had got housekeeping to put chocolates & strawberries with a birthday card from the hotel staff on the dining table for him and when we got to the beroom, there were balloons and chocolates on the bed with another card from houstay sekeeping-a lovely touch! we had a very pleasant stay here and i would highly recommend it to everybody-we shall deffo be back-thank you to everyone at the Plaza, you made my husband's week-end (along with the Rib ride, but that's another review you have to read!!) we shall see you soon!

Room Tip: one bedroom suite front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza on the River - Club and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in London
#66 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River - Club and Residence 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, LondonMarketing.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Plaza on the River - Club and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.