We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to our minimoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Save Saved
You added Plaza on the River - Club and Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Plaza on the River - Club and Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #81 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our minimoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at Plaza on the River for the first leg of our minimoon, before getting the Eurostar to Paris. We arrived quite frazzled after a delayed train journey the excellent service and facilities soon perked us up!

We were lucky to be upgraded to a river view one bedroom apartment overlooking Vauxhall and down to Battersea Power Station which was incredibly spacious and stylish. It was handy to be able to have breakfast (bucks fizz and pastries!) in the apartment whilst we planned the day's itinerary - plates, glasses, fridge, dishwasher etc. all provided. I am a light sleeper and was worried about the proximity to a busy road but being high up and with excellent soundproofing we were not disturbed.

Service was excellent - we had room service dinner the first night which was very good, check in and concierges were helpful, friendly and welcoming.

Nearest tube was Vauxhall. We've stayed at Crowne Plazas County Hall and Westminster previously, and these are slightly better located. However, we didn't mind the extra 5/10 mins walk past the London Eye for such a fabulous hotel.

We're planning to stay again when we head to London before flying out of Heathrow for our Maximoon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    129
    24
    17
    12
See reviews for
248
252
48
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

First of all, this is not a hotel, it is a serviced residence. Therefore it doesn't have a spa or a pool or anything else one would expect from a 5 star hotel in London. It's also really tacky with nasty cheep furniture and far too many rough people on cheep "mystery hotel" deals. The staff can't speak English very well and come across as very rude and condescending. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Situated close to Vauxhall station for the train to Twickenham, handy for friends and close enough to the West End to make the whole thing work.

A very helpful receptionist realised we were at the wrong check in and took us to the one for the apartments, whilst the view wasn't , the room was more than adequate for our stay.

We ate out with friends so can't comment on the restaurant but we enjoyed the stay and the staff were attentive.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed here mid-week before an early meeting the next day. It's a hotel I've used previously and enough time has elapsed to be able to write another review on here.

The good news is that it is still brilliant and completely deserving of its very high ranking for all London hotels.

Sitting in the armchair in the cavernous lounge of the suite, looking out through the floor to ceiling window, across the Thames to the Houses of Parliament, I've been trying to work out just why this property gets it so bang on in terms of delivery a unique and exceptional guest experience.

Firstly, the suites are huge. A 1 bedroom suite is - according to the website - 65m2 and a 2-bedroom suite is 85m2 which for any hotel, let alone one in the centre of London, are simply massive. However, it is the way that the space is laid out; the interior design is beautifully implemented, with high quality fixtures & furnishings that are laid out in a way that makes you feel that you are always at the centre of the room. With the hardwood floors, just walking around feels almost regal.

Secondly, the staff. Plaza on the River is integrated with Park Plaza Riverbank and I imagine shares a lot of front and back end guest services but the staff in the POTR side have that little extra something. I think it is an awareness of the profile of their guests and how to deliver customer service that is professional & personal without being intrusive or sycophantic. All the staff greet you in passing with a genuine hello and those on the front desk are very diligent and attentive. They are clearly very aware of their position as a premier London hotel destination and that having got into the top percentile of all London accommodation, in order to stay there you have to deliver excellent customer service on a consistent basis.

On this stay, there were a couple of very small observations I would highlight; the complimentary water has changed. It used to be Voss (still served in the restaurant) but the 2 bottles in the room are now - from memory - Hildon. The bottles are a smaller size and it doesn't taste as good (crickey, I'm beginning to start to sound like Michael Winner). Also there didn't appear to be the usual in-room welcome gift that is afforded to Concierge level guests. This can be something as simple as a little box of chocolates or a dessert treat from the chef's considerable repertoire. As well, the pens on the notepads have changed from POTR branded ones to unbranded and inferior quality thinner ones.

These are small points and perhaps unlikely to be noticed by most people. I reference them to show that guests do notice these things and I hope that they aren't a putative attempt at cost saving.

The location and view could sell a stay here on their own and I've never grown tired of sitting out on the balcony having an early morning Nespresso and reading the paper. However, I think the real selling point is that the overall guest proposition makes you feel relaxed & refreshed like no other hotel.

It is a true home from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights in a one bedroom apt with view of the Thames. Very clean and spacious. Well appointed bathroom with good shower and separate tub. Well equipped kitchen with Nesspro coffee maker, dishwasher and even a washing machine. The plates and glassware were good quality and in excellent condition. Every morning there were free newspapers, pastries and orange juice near the elevator. At check-in we were given a voucher for 2 free beer/wine, and also a 25% off coupon for dinner in the hotel restaurant. Nightly turn down service with chocolates. Housecoats provided. Very comfortable place. Flat screen tvs in living room and bedroom. Welcoming and friendly staff. The cleaning staff did a very good job every day. 15 minute walk to the Parliament bldgs, 10-15 minutes to Vauxhaul station, 15 minutes to Imperial War Museum. About 30 minutes walk to Tate Modern, right across river from Tate Britain.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

After staying 4 nights at the Plaza on the River, I don't think I can ever go back to staying in a standard hotel bedroom again! These suites - actually extremely spacious apartments - are just wonderful. The view is amazing - we looked across the Thames to Parliament and Big Ben, and everything is spotlessly clean, with top of the range kitchen appliances, and good quality furniture and bedding, as well as all the usual flat-screen tvs etc.

The staff are friendly and helpful, with nothing being too much trouble. I know a lot of people say that a hotel is only a bed for the night, but it does make a huge difference when you can prepare a light meal, breakfast, etc, and are more than happy to spend a few hours relaxing in a lovely suite, with such a view. I was recovering from surgery, and so didn't want to be out and about all the time, and staying here was really a total tonic! My thanks to the lovely Barbara for our upgrade.

Room Tip: Get a river view towards Big Ben.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here for a function and was upgraded to a suite, which was much appreciated. The suite came complete with kitchen - washer/dryer, microwave, cooker, fridge and crockery. Such an apartment would be welcome to those who travel with young children. The breakfast was well worth an additional £10 - fresh fruit, meats and bread and the most delicious smoothies. I had a lovely view of the river, but my only reservation is that for light sleepers the hotel is very near to a railway. The hotel is located a short walk from Vauxhall tube station.

Room Tip: For bookings on the day, the prices start to decrease after about 11 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza on the River - Club and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in London
#67 Luxury Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River - Club and Residence 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, LondonMarketing.com and Otel so you can book your Plaza on the River - Club and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;