We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pickwick Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pickwick Hall to your Saves list
Pickwick Hall
7, Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JE, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #400 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night with my boyfriend a few months ago but never thought to leave a review.

We were really happy with this place. Amazing location, around the corner from British Museum!

Great value and friendly staff! Clean too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    14
    4
    8
See reviews for
4
23
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Husband and I stayed here during a rather brutal heat wave in London which made our stay quite hot! I think we probably could have asked for a fan but we just suffered through it silently like the rest of London. A good, cost-efficient place to stay, especially considering the location. We toughed it out and avoided paying a fortune for transit by walking everywhere, so the central location was helpful. Shared bathrooms were a little sketchy but usable -- wish there was some sort of fan in the bathroom as the air/humidity was horribly heavy, especially in that heat! Kitchen was a little bit icky -- though I'm a bit of a freak when it comes to kitchen cleanliness… old grease on the stove hood, etc, used matches everywhere, cupboard of pans a bit of a mess, but all still usable if you're careful. Helpful and kind staff. Breakfast was nicer than at other hostels I've been to -- okay selection of breads, jam, marmalade; four types of cereal, lots of milk and butter, access to tea, coffee, and hot chocolate; they're also kind enough to lend you their herbs/spices/cooking seasoning. Dining area can get really busy and full in the morning though, and the excessively loud conversation between people across the room from each other ruins the calm and peaceful atmosphere of breakfasting… but I shan't get too picky. It wasn't as bad as the people sitting at my table who all chewed with their mouths open… but that's not Pickwick's fault! :) I'd stay here again, though maybe in an en suite bedroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Excellent Prices, location, services and very confortables beds. From there you can walk everywhere. Nice breakfast and staff.All of the rooms are very nice. I love this place. I stayed there in every visit the city.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I had only booked one night at this hostel, but I left wishing I could stay a little longer.
The people who run Pickwick Hall were very helpful, efficient and friendly. The room was plain and certainly well worn, but it was clean, comfortable and (except for one or two noisy fellow guests) peaceful.
The building is charming and exceptionally well placed for sightseeing and transport links. Very good area, quiet for central London and safe.
The breakfast was simple (tea, coffee, cereal. toast, jam, butter), but more than adequate and effectively unlimited. You are allowed to bring food items in to supplement the breakfast and store them in the kitchen's fridge. I was also told guests can use the kitchen to cook their own meals/dinners.
This is a very good hostel, especially taking into account the great area and low cost.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The location is great and the neighborhood is safe. The owner is a nice gentleman and the atmosphere there is more or less like at home. Please note that this might not be a place for party-goer as the hostel itself is quite family-traveller-oriented.

The shower room is old and in general the hostel is rather old.

Just a surprise that the female dorm I stayed is equipped with single beds, yes, singles beds, not the bunk beds that a backpacker usually expected for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Having previously studied abroad in Bloomsbury 5 years ago, I was so excited to be back in my old neighborhood. The location is great. 5 minutes from the British Museum, 5 from the University, squares all around you, and easy tube access. Room was a private double, and was adequate, garden view (aka basement). Adequately clean, tiny bathrooms. Toilet had some serious flushing issues at times, often nothing would go down despite a strong flush. Breakfast was continental style, again, adequate. Overall friendly place in a good location. 3/5 stars overall, but if you know what to expect in the old small London hostels, then it's a 4/5

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for a week in March - rented a 3 bed room and couldn't have been any happier! Pickwick is an older building but when you read the history of the building it makes you feel part of London and it's story.

Our room was on the top floor with a great view of Bedford Place which has a beautiful park at each end of the street. The room was big enough for all three of us to have room to move around, sit and enjoy ourselves and we got ready for our days out.

The staff couldn't have been nicer and very helpful with our questions, casual conversations and showing around the kitchen. We were there for 7 nights so we ate in about 3 nights making full dinners and it was just like home. Each morning there is cereal, toast and what not for a light breakfast.

The location is perfect! Two tube stations with in a 5 minute walk, close to shopping on both sides and right next door to the British Museum.

In addition, you have free wifi!! My kids really appreciated that so they could stay in touch with their friends back in the USA.

The price was perfect for us too - I recommend this place to all and will definitely stay there when I return. The only way I would not stay there is if they have no room available!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on top floor, there is no lift but it is well worth it because you won't hear a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pickwick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickwick Hall

Address: 7, Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pickwick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick Hall London, England
Pickwick Hall Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickwick Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.