We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a dump.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The W14 Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The W14 Kensington to your Saves list
The W14 Kensington
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   16 - 22 Gunterstone Road | West Kensington, London W14 9BX, England (Formerly Ace Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF BEST PRICE
Ranked #125 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's a dump.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed a night here in a pinch. Probably the only plus side is the price but it's worth the few extra quid for a decent hostel. The place looks like a homeless shelter, the wifi was a complete dick around and the showers had no hot water (the ones that actually worked). The bed was also the least comfortable and loudest hostel bed I've stayed on. Considering the three things you want from a hostel are wifi, beds, and a hot shower, I wouldn't be recommending this to anyone. Trust the reviews and look elsewhere.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    161
    86
    53
    84
See reviews for
80
97
63
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The saying "You get what you pay for" has never been more true than with this pathetic excuse for a "hotel". First of all, it's a hostel not a hotel, and secondly, it's absolutely filthy. To be fair it was undergoing renovation at the time I stayed so perhaps when it doesn't resemble a building site it'll be nicer but I would strongly advise avoiding it until the reconstruction has been finished.

Me and my sister stayed here for one night when we were going to a gig in Shepherd's Bush and just wanted a cheap place to crash. The bedding (bunk beds) was clean(ish) but the room itself was very dirty; mouldy ceiling, stained and torn carpet, filthy skirting boards, dodgy furniture and a safe which didn't lock. The cupboards in the communal kitchen were hanging off and looked very unsafe. The communal bathroom was absolutely disgusting. Due to the vast number of people using it the floor was covered in dirty water by 9am, the bin was overflowing with sanitary waste, the shower attachment didn't connect to the wall, and there were dirty used towels everywhere.

On the upside, the staff were polite and it was only a 5 minute walk from the nearest tube station. For £22pp a night in central London I guess this is the standard but next time I'm definitely going to pay a bit more for something half decent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have stayed with W-14 on a few occasions. The people who run the hotel/hostel are very good folks. The hotel is being renovated at the time of this review and it is a little like staying in a construction zone. However, work doesn't begin until we are finished with breakfast and ends before we get home from shopping, so it isn't too bad. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to rest your head, this is an ideal spot near both West Kensington and Baron's Court Tubes. Also the 9 bus will take you to Trafalgar easily. Some good restaurants in the area, including a nice breakfast place on the corner, unless you are happy to have cereal provided by the hotel.

Room Tip: 312 is currently one of the only ensuite rooms, but the renovation is making more of them ensuites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Really handy hostel, this was like a hotel from the outside well run and clean and tidy. I will Def use this when I return to London on our next wee trip away. Great how handy this is if you we're going to the Hammersmith for a concert, this is what we used it for. It's not in the city centre but really close to Barons court metro approx 200 metres. Breakfast is just toast but if your early to the table you can eat your fill lol. Don't sleep in either or they charge you £10 and hour after ten.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here one night as we were attending a concert in the very nearby Hammersmith Apollo ! This location was great for the concert, and was more like a hotel than a hostel. Breakfast was served in morning with selection of breads, cereals, tea and coffee. Friendly atmosphere and rooms were tidy. I would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

When booking this hotel the photos that were shown were of single beds. We got a room with 2 sets of bunk bed and a single bed in the corner every time the three of us came back to the room there was a new person. There was no type of air circulation. The whole floor shares one shower and a toilet which are udderably disgusting. Like I said the holiday inn express is right down the street go there!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go here PERIOD!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The W14 Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The W14 Kensington

Address: 16 - 22 Gunterstone Road | West Kensington, London W14 9BX, England (Formerly Ace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The W14 Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The W14 Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The w14 Hotel London
The W14 Kensington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The W14 Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.