We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really poor!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The W14 Kensington

Save Saved
You added The W14 Kensington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The W14 Kensington
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   16 - 22 Gunterstone Road | West Kensington, London W14 9BX, England (Formerly Ace Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF BEST PRICE
Ranked #288 of 606 Specialty lodging in London
Sibenik, Croatia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Really poor!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My first impression of Hotel, was O.K. For that price, acceptable. BUT, When I came in my room it was really poor. Crooked and short bed (I am only 1.82 m high), bathroom without hot water...
My friend get room WITHOUT TOILETE!!
Too much rooms and people and breakfast place is small!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    82
    69
    57
    81
See reviews for
39
55
51
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anacapri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a nightmare. Nasty and not cheap as you would expect from such a place: you pay as much as you would do in a real hotel in Earl's Court, but you stay in a poorly managed hostel. Don't choose it, it's a mistake!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was in London for 3 nights to visit my sister and I must say I almost always go to this hostel. It's clean and in a good position. I started coming here before when it was called Ace hotel. The only thing to improve is breakfast (they used to have croissants and scones a part from cereal, coffee, juice and toast) and for the rest is a perfect hostel to stay in when you visit London.

I probably stayed at this hostel 13 to 15 times...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, null, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Do not stay in this hotel if you are expecting a shower - otherwise it is clean and ok.
NO HOT WATER.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
They offer a "Continental" breakfast. Cheap diluted orange juice, poor coffee machine, choice of cereals and cheap white bread toast - I was the only English person staying here and I was embarrassed at the thought that all the foreign visitors would be thinking that that this was the standard of our hospitality.
Noisy and draughty due to ill fitting windows and broken extractors
Not even good value for the money - Avoid - there are much better places nearby

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow, Malopolskie, Poland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I visited the Ace Hotel (now W14) in January 2011, during my first trip to London. My room was rather clean, not too fancy, but if I wanted a fancy room, I'd have booked a hotel. The location itself is perfect, few steps from the tube with lots of grocery stores nearby. The staff back then could be more helpful.
The biggest fault is that very tiny stairway, so it is a great effort to bring luggage to 1st or 2nd floor, but it is quite typical for this kind of buildings, isn't it?
Funny story, someone from the staff entered my room without knocking few minutes after I got there and saw me naked... But I found it rather entertaining ;)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

after reading the reviews on this website, I thought that the "hotel" would be ok, however as soon as we got to the room I could tell that it was going to be a horrible night. There were used tissues in the beds, one of the bed frames was on the brink of snapping. In other people rooms old socks from previous guests were left on the floor, along with the remain of fried chicken again from previous guests. If you have a choice then I would seriously reccomend that you go elsewhere from this place. The only benefit of this is the low cost, this is however reflected in the hotel itself.

Room Tip: don't come here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

i had a room mate who was snorring really loud and they gave me a different room immediatly at 1am midnight ..great breakfast and fresh towels available all the time for free.worth the money

the place is located well close to the barons court station .a good clean bar is there and a nice garden as well

a nice snooker table ,good fast wifi is there.
they even have the option to leave your luggage in lockers after you check out (at your own risk)\

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The W14 Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The W14 Kensington

Address: 16 - 22 Gunterstone Road | West Kensington, London W14 9BX, England (Formerly Ace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 606 Specialty lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The W14 Kensington 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The W14 Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The w14 Hotel London
The W14 Kensington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The W14 Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.