We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W14: what a shambles.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The W14 Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The W14 Kensington to your Saves list
The W14 Kensington
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   16 - 22 Gunterstone Road | West Kensington, London W14 9BX, England (Formerly Ace Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF BEST PRICE
Ranked #127 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“W14: what a shambles.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Came down to watch a wicked the musical (which was fantastic) however the place we stayed was definitely not.
There were two single beds merged together for a "double" bed and the pillows had such filthy foul stains on them I slept without a pillow. I was scared. I checked the linen and even checked the mattress! (paranoia!). The bed was horrific - as previous people have commented the floor would be much better.

The bathroom was adequate and the shower functioned correctly- least I was able to wash with hot water.

The room was directly below the main reception, my god do these people make such a noise! It was 4am before I fell asleep on the first night due to school kids running up and down the stairs and the person at the reception upstairs stopped shuffling about and it sounded like the person was reshuffling the entire room! So much noise!

The staff were quite rude and weren't very helpful.

The worst thing was the luggage. It is not secure.
We left our luggage there for 2 mins and thought that was enough of a gamble.
The main door is unlocked so any old riff raff can come off the streets walk in - pick up your luggage and walk off the property. It's just nt safe.

Moral of the story, spend an extra £30-40 and pay for quality and peace of mind.

Do not leave baggage here for storage. Hell, do not stay here full stop.

I shall not.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    161
    86
    53
    84
See reviews for
80
97
63
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was our first time in London and because it was during the Olympics we struggled to find accomodation. I wish we would have taken up a friends offer to stay with them because we would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor than in this place. The staff were incredibly rude and since we paid 150GBP per night (Olympics rates) you would have thought they could manage a smile or hello.

While we were watching the Olympics one staff member rudely shunted a guest off his seat only to take it away and move it into the computer room which they then closed off to sell as make shift Olympic accomodation! He didn't politely ask or apologise. They also turned the TV off in the bar when people were watching the Olympic coverage. We're talking 10 guests watching!

The shower was filthy and broken. I wish I had snapped a pic, but we were so jet lagged and I just wanted to get out of there.

I've read the 'good reviews' and they don't securely store your luggage so I'm thinking Tamar and Evan must be mistaken. DO NOT STAY HERE - YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spotlessly clean, respectable hotel suitable for families. Very helpful and friendly staff. Cafe offers fresh, tasty food at budget prices. Our only criticism was breakfast - all starch, no protein, fruit or yogurt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The W14 Hotel was an excellent stay and within budget! Plenty of rooms with varying sizes and some have their own bathroom. The common bathrooms are what you expect and the common areas and and outdoor areas are excellent. I stored my luggage there while I was away in other parts of Europe and came back no problem. There are also lockers, which I also used. The one downside is that the common room has a large TV mounted high on the wall right next to a light, which gave me a little headache after watching too long. Other than that, this place is well worth the money. Also, most importantly...no bed bugs:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The administration service is unfriendly, the bathroom and the bedroom are not clean, and the space of the room is very small. The good location close to Tube station and the low price are the only positive things about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We paid over 230 pounds for a bunk bed in a claustrophobic room without bathroom or shower. The curtains were ripped apart, the sheets were not clean, and there was no wardrobe, no hangers, no bedside table. The location was very good indeed, but everything else was really terrible, more like a cheap hostel than a proper hotel, and most of all for the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The level of this hotel is correct for his price.Near to the city center, the nearest subway station is in 150 metres.The rooms are small, but cleans.The breakfast is limitated, there are toast and corn flakes only (and juice and coffe/milk/tea, of course).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The W14 Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The W14 Kensington

Address: 16 - 22 Gunterstone Road | West Kensington, London W14 9BX, England (Formerly Ace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The W14 Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The W14 Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The w14 Hotel London
The W14 Kensington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The W14 Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.